Customer Reviews for

Don't Look Down

Average Rating 3.5
( 97 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 98 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2006

    Such a disappointment!

    Difficult to keep reading, waiting and waiting for character development, plot and some romance. Seems to be a he-wrote-it, she-tried-to-fix-it novel. I liked the swamp ghost better than either of the main characters!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2006

    What a dud!!!

    I am a very big fan of Jennifer Crusie, however this book was sooo disappointing. I don't feel like she wrote any of this book. foul language throughout, the bland limp characters, the story did not make any sense. Ugh I have never ever read any of her books & not wanted to reread it a hundred times over. This one left me totally annoyed. Jennifer Crusie stands on her own, she doesn't need to ever collaborate with this Bob Mayer ever again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2006

    Wait for the paperback

    This is my least favorite of Jennifer Crusie's books. The plot is beyond implausible, as are the characters.Everything seems forced.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2006

    Better as a movie

    Oh, did I want to love this book! Bought it Day One, planned to make my husband read it. But the writing needs more polish, the character count needs cutting, the plot needs tightening. Yes, there are some fun scenes, some snappy dialogue, some goofy characters--could be an entertaining movie. But I think I'll make hubby read 'Welcome to Temptation' instead...and hope that Crusie/Mayer Book 2 is a smoother read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2014

    Didn't enjoy

    Disappointing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Like this one!

    I liked this book - I loved the Wonder Woman references and the mixture of emotions from Mayer & Crusie - they both stayed true to their genders and it worked beautifully!

    "Moot" was brilliant!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Boring!!

    Boring!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    Good read.

    Love Crusie & Mayer together, but was expecting comedy (like Agnes & the Hitman). Still enjoyed it, though, and have been recommending it my book friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2011

    a book for a rainy day.. laying on the couch under a wrap.. time.

    It held my attention and was funny in parts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    super good

    I don't get it, why some people think it wasn't good, I mean I like it very well. I mean the book have every thing I like, for example; humor, humor and more humor, I mean this book doesn't seem that different from her solo books. But this is just my opinion since I just read for fun and this book is a super fun book that I will just keep on re-reading it when ever the mood hit

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2011

    Alligators and mobsters and contraband, oh my!

    I love strong, independent female leads, and Lucy is all that and so much more. She and J.T. make a great pair, although it took me a while to warm up to J.T. The manner of his introduction to the story made it difficult at times to believe his level of skills later. My favorite parts of the book are the dry subtleties like J.T. introducing himself to Pepper as J.T. Wilder, and the too-serious Pepper in turn introducing herself as P.L. Armstrong. Pepper and J.T. have really great conversations! Few authors can manage even marginally believable conversations between adults and kids, let alone the great ones in this book. I look forward to more collaborations between Crusie and Mayer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    slow read

    If you get through the beginning, this book is okay. Agnes and the Hitman is their best collaboration. The timing and banter are amazing. Pepper is okay character she precocious and whiney

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Good Rainy Day Read

    I enjoy the collaboration between Jennifer Crusie and Bob Mayer. The book is a fast read; the plot and characters enjoyable, but lacking depth. I preferred their previous book, Anges and the Hitman

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not the worst, or the best

    Of the 300+ books I've read in the last year, this would have to sit around the middle. It's hard to get into but eventually becomes somewhat interesting, and the main characters decide "it's forever" in an unrealistic very quick way, but it does have some twist and some action. The five year old is the best character. I would use the library for this one, or get it used. Not worth the full price.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    An exciting and funny read

    This delightfully offbeat romantic-adventure is well worth your time. Jennifer Cruise and Bob Mayer are a great team. I loved the characers and the wild plot and it is just plain funny - in a slightly twisted sort of way. Brew a cup of tea, grab the cookies and curl up for a fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    Interesting Book!

    This had alotta twists and turns. It was a bit confusing, all the way to the end, but, still, a good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Please don't stop reading Crusie

    Lucy Armstrong, a director of animal commercials, is called into a movie set by her ex-husband and sister to finish shooting a hollywood film after most of the crew quits. Things immediately begin to look fishy as more and more accidents happen. Through in a desperately lonely little girl (Amrstromg's niece) that wants Auntie Lucy to fix everything, and a Green Beret love interest, and that is the whole story.

    While I am in love with Crusie's work, I have been hooked since I stumbled upon 'Crazy For You', I did not really enjoy this read mostly because besides the love interest it was a huge ball of confusion. It is also something that I have never found from a Crusie novel, it was predictable.

    So, if you have read this book and did not like it, give Jennifer Crusie another try, she is really a great author for people that love romances but dislike the uniformity of them (you know girl meets prince or rich businessman, prince is commitment-phobic, girl becomes mistress and gets pregnant, prince marries girl, prince has epiphany that girl is all he ever wanted. )While romances of all shapes a types will eventually read something like this (if they are longer than ten pages) its the stuff around it that counts, the characters and how unique and relatable they are. Jennifer Crusie without fail produces neurotic characters for her readers to fall in love with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2007

    It's a Crusie/Mayer, not a Crusie

    My headline says it all because I think that's what confuses people. They want this book to be just like Jennifer Crusie's other books. But she wrote it in partnership with Bob Mayer and, trust me, it ain't typical of his books either (his body count tends to be much higher). It's niether a Crusie nor a Mayer but a blending of the two styles. Put aside preconceived expectations and read as if picking up a brand new author. You'll discover some very engaging characters (I so want to see more of Rene) and a fun, well-paced story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2007

    Great Read!

    Great book! Enjoy every word!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 98 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5