Customer Reviews for

Don't Look Twice (Ty Hauck Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 88 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(41)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Interesting book, I love the setting of the story!

Interesting book, I love the setting of the story!

posted by BettyWalker11 on February 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

I am buying this book today and I appreciate the reviews of the

I am buying this book today and I appreciate the reviews of the book as they help me to determine my purchases. That being said I have to agree with other people in that please do not do a book report when writing a review or if you are going to tell the whole plot ple...
I am buying this book today and I appreciate the reviews of the book as they help me to determine my purchases. That being said I have to agree with other people in that please do not do a book report when writing a review or if you are going to tell the whole plot please preface your review with SPOILER ALERT. After reading some of the reviews i don't buy books as the whole story has been ruined. We buy mysteries because they are mysteries, please don't ruin the anticipation or fun of trying to solve the mystery by revealing it all in your review. Oh and the single star does not reflect my review, but it was the only way I could get into the site to express my request. i love everyone out there who puts in quick concise why they did or did not like a book to those i express my thanks.

posted by pokypeg on February 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    I am buying this book today and I appreciate the reviews of the

    I am buying this book today and I appreciate the reviews of the book as they help me to determine my purchases. That being said I have to agree with other people in that please do not do a book report when writing a review or if you are going to tell the whole plot please preface your review with SPOILER ALERT. After reading some of the reviews i don't buy books as the whole story has been ruined. We buy mysteries because they are mysteries, please don't ruin the anticipation or fun of trying to solve the mystery by revealing it all in your review. Oh and the single star does not reflect my review, but it was the only way I could get into the site to express my request. i love everyone out there who puts in quick concise why they did or did not like a book to those i express my thanks.

    10 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting book, I love the setting of the story!

    Interesting book, I love the setting of the story!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Looked

    The simplicity with which this story begins is the first clever strategy that Andrew Gross employs to bring the reader in to this complex tale of corruption. My first reaction was to think that I was in for a lightheaded romp through some cute capers, but it's not that at all. Nothing is what it seems in this twisting tale. If you enjoy drama, or have a suspicious mind, especially when it comes to politicians, this book is for you.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Good read.

    I enjoyed Don't Look Twice by Andrew Gross, the second in the Ty Hauck series. It kept my attention, had a good plot, and was action-packed. I recommend this book.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Suspense Filled

    The book is a page-turner, just when you think you have if figured out, there is another twist. Got this book on bargain table and it was well worth it; read it in a matter of days. It is well-written and does not bogue you down in the minute details.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting Overall

    The book keeps you guessing on some things but you can easily guess others before they occur. I could not put Dark Tide down whereas I have stalled on this one. But Andrew Gross does keeps you guessing and there are times you get blindsided. I love the characters he presents and carrys over to the next book. I anixously await his next book.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Andrew Gross hits another home run with Don't Look Twice

    Andre Gross is a genius in this genre, he may be a co-author with James Patterson, but he is an amazing talent in his own right.
    Don't Look Twice is our second novel starring Detective Ty Hauck, who is every one's answer to who a cop should be, intelligent, honest, brave and fearless.
    The characters are so well developed that even as many twists and turns the plot takes you know where you are at all times. I've seen no one write as well as Andrew Gross, his descriptions let you visualize the whole novel and his dialogue is incredible.
    This read had me sitting on the edge of my seat biting my nails from front cover to back.
    It's a first rate crime/detective/mystery novel that's sure to be a best seller!!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommend

    I love Andrew Gross all of his books are great and hard to put down

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    a terrific thriller.

    It has been a year since the Grand Central Terminal bombing (see THE DARK TIDE) and Police Lieutenant Ty Hauck, head of the Violent Crimes Unit of Greenwich, Connecticut, is finally piecing together his life. He and his daughter Jess stop at a local convenience store when a drive-by shooting occurs. The man behind Hauck on the line is killed; the cops are unsure whether Hauck or federal prosecutor David Sanger was the target as they believe David was an innocent bystander.<BR/><BR/>Another possibility is the store owner was the intended target because his sone was one of the teens in a swimming pool when a girl drowned there. The killers screamed out her name as they fled. They find the car, which was stolen. Meanwhile at Pequot Woods Resort and Casino, pit boss Keith Kramer is killed; it turns out he and the victim at the store knew each other. The Federal Prosecutor had separate bank and credit accounts that he concealed from his wife. Every time Hauck feels he makes progress to uncover the powerful people behind the killings, another homicide occurs. The mysterious ¿they¿ blow up his house killing a police officer who was inside at the time. Despite warnings from his boss, the FBI, and the enemy, Hauck keeps investigating.<BR/><BR/>Andrew Gross provides a strong police procedural thriller starring a hero, who understands the advice of his peers is DON¿T LOOK TWICE; but he ignores them and looks for the killers more than twice. The protagonist is a moral person who believes strongly not to back down and let others risk their lives making the inquiries that he feels he should do as part of his job. There is plenty of action as Hauck leaps into one incident after another. Though he may seem too much of a superhero as a single father action figure cop, the support cast brings realism to the mix of a terrific thriller.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2009

    GREAT BOOK

    Andrew Gross must have written the books he co-authored with James Patterson because Mr. Patterson has gone downhill since he has become famous. His books are getting to be trash.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Great author

    I have read other books by this author and I highly recommend him.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A must read.

    I have read every one of Gross's books and he just keeps getting better. When he wrote with James Patterson, those books were extremely good, but now Patterson has gone the way of the dumpster. I read this book in one weekend and recommend it highly.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    To the author

    You are better than the sex and profanity in your book. Elimate that and it will be a winner all the way around .

    That is such a turn off to the moral person who would otherwise enjoy the intrigue.

    Our country has gone down the tubes morally. We can be a part of starting to bring it back, little by little by being aware that not everyone wants th
    at trash in our lives. Do your part. Make the next book clean andsee what happens.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    !

    Once again we have harriet klausner and her excessive cliff note plot spoiler. Others do it as well, it is irritating to have these rude, inconsiterate jerks ruining books for other readers. Bn needs to ban these posters, especially harriet klausner, and delete their posts.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Captivating Enough

    Book2, in the Lieutenant Ty Hauck series

    This is the author's follow up to "The Dark Tide", its storyline is captivating enough although heavy on old clichés and a touch formulaic in style. It nevertheless has some of the elements to make it a page turner and leave most satisfied and happy.

    This story opens with a bang and keeps a steady pace throughout. It starts one morning with Ty and his daughter waiting in line at the cash of an Exxon station when out of the blue a drive by shooter sprays the establishment with bullets missing them but killing a federal prosecutor in line behind them. Everyone thinks at first it is a revenge gang attack but Ty has other suspicions.

    Ty is not only a witness but he is the head detective in the area and is assigned the case. His initial suspicions are quickly confirmed, there is more to this murder investigation than first meets the eye. He realizes he is on a trail of cover-ups and corruption, a deadly maze linked to a dangerous gambling ring with political connections which eventually lead to devastating results in his own family.

    This story follows much the same pattern as the previous novel. The first similarity pops up when Ty's investigation reveals the widow of the deceased prosecutor was oblivious to her husband's shenanigans. Another is when he is distracted by a young restaurateur who is being harassed by troublemakers. His urge to become a knight in shining armor and his elevated testosterone are bound to get him in trouble sooner or later.....

    I found this novel lacks in character development and originality. After reading the previous novel the structure is predictable and Ty has become a cookie cutter investigator. Nevertheless, I did find the tale interesting.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Must Read

    I have a new favorite novel and author after reading Don't Look Twice. Andrew Gross spins a compelling suspence thriller into a must read novella. Not only was this difficult to put down, it keeps you wondering whats going to happen next and is big on twists and turns both surprising the reader and wanting more. I cannot wait to read more about Detective Hauck in Gross's other novels and also plan on reading his works in conjunction with Patterson. Definately a must read for all thrill seekers.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    Andrew Gross book don't look twice

    I really like his style of writing. First read the James Patterson books where he was the co-author. Need to get the rest of this series as I really enjoyed the book

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2009

    Very Good

    Very good writer, very good book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    Very well written

    Good book. I enjoyed the plot and the writing style. I will definitely read more books by this author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    Keeps your interest

    Love the charachters. Hope the series keeps going. A little different with a single dad with 10 kids. You don't read that every day.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5