BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Don't Make a Black Woman Take Off Her Earrings: Madea's Uninhibited Commentaries on Love and Life

Average Rating 4.5
( 83 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A true joy to read. You will get caught up in 'Madea'

Being one of Mr. Perry's biggest fans, I was anticipating the release of this book. I must say I was not dissapointed. Once again Madea has made us take a hard and comedic look at ourselves. I have now passed it on to my two teen-aged daughters to read and I know they w...
Being one of Mr. Perry's biggest fans, I was anticipating the release of this book. I must say I was not dissapointed. Once again Madea has made us take a hard and comedic look at ourselves. I have now passed it on to my two teen-aged daughters to read and I know they will enjoy it as much as I did. Keep up the good work Tyler, and tell Madea 'You go Girl!'

posted by Anonymous on April 18, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

No good

Big thumbs down for this one

posted by Anonymous on January 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2006

    A true joy to read. You will get caught up in 'Madea'

    Being one of Mr. Perry's biggest fans, I was anticipating the release of this book. I must say I was not dissapointed. Once again Madea has made us take a hard and comedic look at ourselves. I have now passed it on to my two teen-aged daughters to read and I know they will enjoy it as much as I did. Keep up the good work Tyler, and tell Madea 'You go Girl!'

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2011

    Get Ready!

    Now if your a fan of Tyler Perry and his work of art with creating epic and amazing movies, then you will be a fan of this story which of course includes the one and only Madea. VERY FUNNY. This is one of thise storys were the persob doesn't beat around the "bush",its simply straight foward but Agreable at the same time. =D

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    This book is a MUST read. I saw myself 3 generations before me and my children and future grandchildren in this book. If you have ever seen any Madea movie movie or play you can hear her voice and see her talking to you as you read this serious, funny, and true commentary. I have finished it and have started passing it out for ALL the ladies in my family to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2010

    Great Book !

    This is an excellent book. Tyler Perry really put some effort into this AWESOME book. i would recommend this book to everyone that is interested in broken relationships. GREAT BOOK !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Love this

    I'm reading this book for the second time. This is one of my absolute favorite reads... I've given it to 2 other people for gifts and they have loved them as well... Anyone who loves Tyler Perry's Madea, this is a MUST READ

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2006

    If you loved the plays & the movies, check out the book

    I have seen the plays, I have seen the movies, and I am looking forward to reading the book. Madea is such a fun loving character, at times she reminds me of my own grandmother. Just the facts of life she gives you. She is full of life and adventure, so you can't go wrong reading this book. It will more than likely have you crying one minute, and laughing the next, just like the plays, and movies.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2006

    what a book

    This book is great. It will make you laugh, cry and remember your childhood.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2006

    You Have to See 'Madea' To Understand 'Madea'

    I have pre-ordered this book which I have been anticipating since Tyler Perry announced that he was writing it. As a collecter of five of Tyler Perry's Plays on DVD: 'I Can Do Bad By Myself', 'Diary Of A Mad Black Woman', 'Madea's Family Reunion', 'Madea's Class Reunion', and 'Meet The Brown's' as well as 'Diary Of A Mad Black Woman' (the movie), you have to understand where this character is coming from. It used to be a time when the elderly women in our neighborhoods were highly respected. If one of them saw you doing wrong, they would speak to you about it and you'd better listen! She had no problem telling your parents that she had to speak to you. Growing up, we learned to respect our elders. It's like Tyler Perry has stated, and I'm paraphrasing it - We don't have many women around like 'Madea' anymore. Nowadays, grandmothers are their late 30's, in the clubs enjoying themselves. 'Madea's' character can be outrageous but this character has a heart. This is how Tyler Perry sees it, and how I know it to be. 'Madea's' approach is comedic and shocking at times, but when you really think about it, 'Madea' is just telling it just like it is. Back in the day, Black females were known to take off their earrings (and shoes too) before engaging in any altercation. That was just how it was. I'm sure that this book will make for entertaining as well as enlightening reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Lamya

    Mable Simmons zint playin fo you need to relize the truth.Ok You Betta Relize

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    Madea

    Sit yo a<_>ss down before I knock you In the head! <p> QUOTE FROM MADEA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    Love

    Such a good read itches a must for madia fans

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    TWFAN

    Amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    BYYYYYRAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAN

    &#9825 &#9812 &#9825 &#9812

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    Rad

    I love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Lol

    I love madea so much all of her movies and this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    Kcwassup

    Who tought u to spell fabolus.........i jus did ha......ha......ha.......ha bicth

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    TO BELOW

    Yo dumb ass cant spell hilarious right

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Elder's den

    The elder's den was made of woven willow bark, a sheet of lichen shielding the view from outside. A large patch of sunlight outside the den welcomed anicent cats to sit and watch their clan, perhaps tell a some eager apprentices a story. Inside, super comfy bracken nests padded with extra moss and feather surrounded the den. A small fresh kill pike kay at the enterance for the elders to eat, being restocked by apprentices everyday. In the corner, a small bark bowl filled with mouse bile lived with moss beside it, ready for apprentices to help the old cats find ticks (actually, more like do it for them!) in their matred fur. -Elder's Den-

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2012

    HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

    AWESOME!!! TYLER PERRY DOES A WOONDERFUL JOB!!! I LAUGHED OUT LOUD MORE TIMES THAN I CAN SAY!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    I HAVE SEEN ALOT

    I HAVE SEEN ALL OF HIS PLAYS AND MOVIES AND I LOVE MADEA MY MOM WANTS TO BE HER CAUSE SHE JUST DO NOT PLAY THA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3