Customer Reviews for

Don't Put Me In, Coach: My Incredible NCAA Journey from the End of the Bench to the End of the Bench

Average Rating 4
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

This book is hilarious! I found myself having to put the book do

This book is hilarious! I found myself having to put the book down because I was laughing so hard. Aside from that, it was a super quick read that gives comedic insight into the camaraderie of an elite college basketball team. For anyone who's ever been a member of a sp...
This book is hilarious! I found myself having to put the book down because I was laughing so hard. Aside from that, it was a super quick read that gives comedic insight into the camaraderie of an elite college basketball team. For anyone who's ever been a member of a sports team, this book is very relatable with regard to relationships with teammates, good and bad. As a female having loved this book, I would recommend this to any sports or comedy fan wanting a good laugh.

posted by BabyRuth2 on March 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Okay...

Mark Titus gained fame for being almost good enough. The book reflected that. Although even I will admit that the crude humor was funny at times, I think Titus is the ultimate underachiever. If you want to read a story about some now pro basketball players told from the...
Mark Titus gained fame for being almost good enough. The book reflected that. Although even I will admit that the crude humor was funny at times, I think Titus is the ultimate underachiever. If you want to read a story about some now pro basketball players told from the point of view of the guy who couldn't make the starting team ( there is no shame in that- but come on, get over it), and wants to cruise along in life without a whole lot of effort, you will like his story. The descriptions of this book said Titus wanted to be an orthopedic surgeon. I was disappointed there was nothing about his studies in the book at all. My guess is that he wanted to just cruise along for that ride too, and was a C student. No shame in that either, but put on your big boy pants and get on with your life.

posted by JoyCReads on May 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 7, 2012

    This book is hilarious! I found myself having to put the book do

    This book is hilarious! I found myself having to put the book down because I was laughing so hard. Aside from that, it was a super quick read that gives comedic insight into the camaraderie of an elite college basketball team. For anyone who's ever been a member of a sports team, this book is very relatable with regard to relationships with teammates, good and bad. As a female having loved this book, I would recommend this to any sports or comedy fan wanting a good laugh.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Great book

    Hilarious from start to finish, dont even have to understand or like basketball to enjoy this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Excellent!

    Great reading.... I couldn't put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2012

    I bought the book after reading a good review in Sports Illustra

    I bought the book after reading a good review in Sports Illustrated.
    I found it to be utterly childish and silly. What a lousy reflection on a big time college and it's sports program let alone the huy supposedly getting a education.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2012

    Okay...

    Mark Titus gained fame for being almost good enough. The book reflected that. Although even I will admit that the crude humor was funny at times, I think Titus is the ultimate underachiever. If you want to read a story about some now pro basketball players told from the point of view of the guy who couldn't make the starting team ( there is no shame in that- but come on, get over it), and wants to cruise along in life without a whole lot of effort, you will like his story. The descriptions of this book said Titus wanted to be an orthopedic surgeon. I was disappointed there was nothing about his studies in the book at all. My guess is that he wanted to just cruise along for that ride too, and was a C student. No shame in that either, but put on your big boy pants and get on with your life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    I bought the book because I am a huge college basketball fan, an

    I bought the book because I am a huge college basketball fan, and I HAD tremendous respect for Coach Matta and the Buckeye basketball program. I found the events, the pranks, and Titus's seemingly proud communicating of them to be distasteful, vulgar, and juvenile beyond imagination. I continued to read to the end because I wanted to write a review on the entire book, rather than the first few chapters. I can only suspect the target audience must be middle school boys, as the book-long bathroom and sexual humor, and mockery of the Buckeye basketball program got old in a hurry. The players, Coach Matta, and anyone else associated with the university basketball program should be legally challenging the information or hiding in embarrassment. I cannot imagine the events reported by Titus actually occurred with this frequency and level of stupidity. The respect I held for Coach Matta and his program has fallen into the same trash bin as the respect I previously had for Coach Tressel and his program. Something is amiss with The Ohio State University Athletic Program. Please, please let this kind of behavior by student athletes and the allowance of it by coaches and others in authority, not be happening at programs across the country. I will rate it one-star for punctuation..

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2012

    nice book

    nice book

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2014

    MLP NCAA March madness 2013 (note not actual thing on who won)

    "Number 1 seed Duke will take on 16 Providence in the first round." I knew my team was great and the name is Nitro by the way. (This is My little pony) My team was great and we had guts with a season of 30-4. Yet our four losses were against 7 Syracuse, 4 Washington St, 17 North Dakota St and 23 Pittsburgh. Those were tough games we ended up at the en of this year (until March Madness of course) 9th in the nation. We have challenges because NDSU is in oir confrence and they beat us. "A 2 seed NDSU will face the lehigh jack-rabbits." I think to myself let March madness begin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2012

    Great, quick read for any sports fan. Anyone who wrote negative

    Great, quick read for any sports fan. Anyone who wrote negative reviews because they didn't like him needs to lighten up and stop taking everything so seriously. As someone who has been directly involved in the world of college basketball I can tell you that this story is not so uncommon, so for people to act like he is disrespecting the game and so on, are clueless to the reality. Highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2012

    I thought this book was superb. I loved how he made his time at

    I thought this book was superb. I loved how he made his time at Ohio State fun without ever playing. He was a major presence on the team without being a great basketball player. His style of writing had me laughing outloud.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Funny

    If you are reading this comment, get a life

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Once the locker room humor began to get old, I don't feel this w

    Once the locker room humor began to get old, I don't feel this was money well spent. This young man rather made a mockery of the walk-on position he was given, which should have been an honor. Sorry, Mark, your story wasn't that great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    Hilarious and entertaining

    Well written and full of good stories

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2012

    Mark Titus is not the lovable underdo the title suggests. His hu

    Mark Titus is not the lovable underdo the title suggests. His humor, laugh out loud funny at times, is also mean spirited and not the least bit funny at other times.
    Language is pretty raunchy in many places. You will NOT root for him as you read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Great Read

    Really a great read for any basketball fan, especially for the fans of The Ohio State University. It provides a detailed behind the scenes look. The book also shows how creative and talented that Mark Titus is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Fantastic

    Hilarious, hoops fan or not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    This was the funniest sports book I have ever read! Being a for

    This was the funniest sports book I have ever read! Being a former high school basketball bench warmer, I could relate to Mark's antics. I only wish I would have ordered a pizza for delivery on Senior night. Definitely a must read for anyone who has played sports.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Mark Titus' DON'T PUT ME IN, COACH is a funny, irreverent look i

    Mark Titus' DON'T PUT ME IN, COACH is a funny, irreverent look into Division I NCAA basketball from someone who spent a LOT of time watching it...from the bench.

    Mark Titus was a high school basketball star who walked on to Ohio State's team after a rash of injuries thinned that team's roster during his freshman year. He soon realized that he was not going to get a whole lot of minutes, but that didn't stop him from having a whole lot of FUN. Told in first person, this book recounts his few moments of glory on the floor, and his considerably greater moments of glory pranking his team mates and developing a cult following for his blog. A truly unbelievable story, made even more so by the fact that it is almost entirely true, this is a fun book written with a brutal honesty from the standpoint of someone with a story to tell and nothing to lose.

    Definitely a PG-13, or maybe even an R type of book, there is plenty of frat-boy language and antics, and a bit more "toilet humor" than I appreciate, but even then the book is still pretty darn funny. And there are some emotional moments too as Titus describes his near miss at playing for Harvard, and what it was like the last night he wore his Ohio State jersey.

    Looking to read about the glories of Buckeye basketball? Not your book. Want to read about the purity of NCAA athletics. Look somewhere else. Looking for a laugh from someone who REALLY hates Michigan, this is probably a great book for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Hi

    I have a basketball game today agenst Home and the beat my brother yesterday i play on the Ninilchik Wolverines

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    THE BOOK IS AWSOME AT SCHOOL MY TEAM IS OHIO STATE BUCKEYES AT SCHOOL WE WIN EVER GAME

    BUT THE ONLY TEAM DIDNT BEAT WAS THE LSU TIGERS IT WAS A TIED GAME WE HAD TO BRAKE THE TIE BRAKER THE OHIO STATE WON THE GAME IT WAS FUN

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2