Customer Reviews for

Don't Say a Word

Average Rating 4
( 1236 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(592)

4 Star

(340)

3 Star

(168)

2 Star

(72)

1 Star

(64)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful Read

I loved this book. It has a story that warms your heart and keeps you entertained!

posted by theReader278 on June 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Not Thrilled!

I was very disappointed with this book! I read the reviews and was really looking forward to getting started. I had to force myself to continue reading, the writing itself was kind of lame...corny...I don't know how else to say it. Might appeal to a much younger audienc...
I was very disappointed with this book! I read the reviews and was really looking forward to getting started. I had to force myself to continue reading, the writing itself was kind of lame...corny...I don't know how else to say it. Might appeal to a much younger audience. I've been reading for over 1/2 of my life and I like a book with more substance (as far as the writing). The story was ok, but it kind of felt like I had borrowed a book from my daughter (if I had one) or a teen-age friend?! Not that I don't like love and suspense but if your wanting something to immerse yourself in...this is not it!

posted by Lady-E on June 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1245 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 63
  • Posted May 31, 2011

    Excellent

    Enjoyed reading this book; couldn't put it down. Perfect combination of mystery and romance.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2011

    Excellent romantic suspense

    Put aside some time to read this one. Once you start, you won't want to stop. Great story.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Do not pass this one up

    Wonderful read good mystery mixed with romance some very good plot twists

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    Must read!!!

    This book was great. I did not put it down until I was finished. Never a dull moment... twists and turns kept me on the edge of my seat!!! I look forward to read more by this author!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Keeps you guessing

    First half of book sort of drags on, then you feel as if too much happens too quickly in the second half. Still a great book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    Quick read!

    Keeps you interested the whole way through. I was adopted and could relate to some aspects of the story.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Great Story Intriguing Plot

    This book is a great read. The plot is interesting, and the characters are believable. Thoroughly enjoyed the story from beginning to end.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2012

    Highly Recommend for personal library or book club discussion.

    Barbara Freethy captured and held my attention from page one. Julia DeMarco had grown up in a large family who always showed her that she was loved. She was engaged to a man who loved her and wanted to be married soon. So, why did she feel that there was something more that she needed? It was when she found the historic photograph of a young girl, 3 or 4 years of age, standing behind the gate of an orphanage in Moscow, that a vague memory formed and she could not get it out of her mind. Ms. Freethy kept the suspence going throughout the story of Julia and her connection to the photograph. I immediately ordered more of Barbara Freethys books and have not been disappointed.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2012

    Exciting Read!

    Just finished reading "Don't Say A Word" and as usual with a Barbara Freethy book, it was a can't put down, blew me away experience... Character development, story line, suspense, it has it all... The romance between Julia and Alex is a beautiful thing to experience as it unfolds... The foreign intrigue is realistic and the lengths some people will go to for money and power is all too real... At times I was looking over my shoulder to be sure the "bad guy" wasn't lurking in my house... I had hoped for Alex's mother to be different in the end but I guess it is true that "leopards don't change their spots"... This was a very sad, very beautiful, very real story and one I will re-read some day... I also appreciate the way Ms Freethy handles her love scenes... Too many books I read get carried away with descriptions of the bedroom scenes... I have enough imagination to make of them what I wish... I don't need the crude words and crass descriptions of the various sex acts that many authors offer... This author treats love scenes with the respect, sometimes humor and honesty they deserve... Like a good "who done it"?? TRY THIS ONE! I didn't see it coming and I usually have a mystery solved in the first 150 pages.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    EXCELLENT! I give it an A+

    This book was absolutely amazing, i couldnt put it down. I was intruigued from the first word... okay maybe the first sentence. This book grabbed my attention until the end. Throughout every conflict, affair, and connection, my emotions were changing from happiness to jealousy, sadness and anger, and pure bliss. During this book i fell into footstep with julia, i fell in love with alex, and felt bad for michael and liz. My emotions were literally on an emotional rollercoaster. Not many authors can hook you like this one can, i have read two of her books already and i see myself reading alot more in the future. I would recomend this to any of those people who love a book with a whole bowlfull of mystery topped off with some searing romance

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    Enjoyed

    Every time you think you know what going to happen thiers a twist. Your all wrong. Enjoyed picking up to read to see what was next.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2011

    Great book!

    I read the whole thing in less than a week because I couldn't put it down. Lots of twists and turns that keep you on the edge of your seat. I have read a lot of books and I would put this in my top 5 for sure. Highly recommended read, you won't regret it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    read in a day!

    great book, loved the story and how unpredictable it was!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    Absolutely Fabulous!

    I loved this book! It held my interest from start to finish. There are Lots of twists and surprises. Last two pages a little gushy but I loved it. Well written, good dialog, fast paced, interesting plot, characters are likable too. What more can you ask for, you won't be sorry with this one.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    A great summer read!

    An entertaining departurer from my go-to genres ( forensic crime, psychological mysteries, espionage trillers)--Freethy strikes a skillful balance of romance and mystery. I look forward to reading her other works.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    I had never read Barbara Freethy before and now I am captivated by her writing. This was truly a book I couldn't put down and have recommended to all my friends.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    GREAT

    Couldn't put it down!!! Great book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    Its ok!

    It was ok. Didnt really like the ending!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Nice

    Its a nice book

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2011

    hold on to your socks

    loved it...great suspense, nice twists & turns..oh yes, can't wait to tell my sister to read this one!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1245 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 63