Customer Reviews for

Don't Say a Word

Average Rating 4
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Awesome thriller! When Homicide Detective Julia Cass transferre

Awesome thriller!

When Homicide Detective Julia Cass transferred to the Chattanooga Police Department to be near her big brother, FBI agent J.D. Cass, she didn’t realize that she would be grabbing her first case on the way home from the airport and that she would...
Awesome thriller!

When Homicide Detective Julia Cass transferred to the Chattanooga Police Department to be near her big brother, FBI agent J.D. Cass, she didn’t realize that she would be grabbing her first case on the way home from the airport and that she would be teamed up with her brother’s partner, Will Brannock. The guy looked more like a GQ model than an FBI agent, but once they get to the scene of the grizzly homicide, Will is all business.

The killer is definitely trying to send a message cutting out the tongues of his victims. He is exacting vengeance with these murders and Julia and Will need to figure out what the victims have in common if they will have any chance in catching the killer.

Another incredible murder mystery which will keep you on your toes. I don’t want to go into too much since the best part of murder mystery is to solve the crime along with the characters, so I don’t want to give anything away. From what I have read recently, I am definitely going to have to throw more thrillers into my TBR pile. :)

This is a well written, engrossing story with just a touch of attraction/romance between the main characters to keep things interesting. I usually have a problem when there are too many POVs in the story telling it usually drags the action down, but in this case it was mostly our two main characters and the killer, with only brief changes over to some of the other characters. Nothing that killed the momentum of the story.

I will say I only have it a 4 ½ stars since Beverly Barton’s writing is very descriptive, which although it is usually good story writing, but for a thriller I felt taking too much time for example, to describe the decorating of the room where the murder took place, wasn’t really necessary and took your attention away from the important things, like the dead person in the room and the fact gathering. That added to the fact that it was 392 pages. Again, not that the story was not enjoyable and engrossing, but for a thriller, a description of “the furnishing screamed money” would have sufficed rather than the detailing of the damask used on the bedspread.

posted by ldosch on August 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

This book was not written by Beverly barton. It does not have h

This book was not written by Beverly barton. It does not have her tone or style. After reading the first sentence, I stated the words did not seem like they were crafted by Ms. Barton. I trudged my way through the book and sure enough at the end was the thank you to ...
This book was not written by Beverly barton. It does not have her tone or style. After reading the first sentence, I stated the words did not seem like they were crafted by Ms. Barton. I trudged my way through the book and sure enough at the end was the thank you to Ms. Ladd for completing the manuscript. I am upset that this book was published. I would have preferred to reread the great works that Ms. Barton had put out while living, than to be left with the taste of this mediorce remembrance of a great storyteller.

posted by nerdyewe on December 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome thriller! When Homicide Detective Julia Cass transferre

    Awesome thriller!

    When Homicide Detective Julia Cass transferred to the Chattanooga Police Department to be near her big brother, FBI agent J.D. Cass, she didn’t realize that she would be grabbing her first case on the way home from the airport and that she would be teamed up with her brother’s partner, Will Brannock. The guy looked more like a GQ model than an FBI agent, but once they get to the scene of the grizzly homicide, Will is all business.

    The killer is definitely trying to send a message cutting out the tongues of his victims. He is exacting vengeance with these murders and Julia and Will need to figure out what the victims have in common if they will have any chance in catching the killer.

    Another incredible murder mystery which will keep you on your toes. I don’t want to go into too much since the best part of murder mystery is to solve the crime along with the characters, so I don’t want to give anything away. From what I have read recently, I am definitely going to have to throw more thrillers into my TBR pile. :)

    This is a well written, engrossing story with just a touch of attraction/romance between the main characters to keep things interesting. I usually have a problem when there are too many POVs in the story telling it usually drags the action down, but in this case it was mostly our two main characters and the killer, with only brief changes over to some of the other characters. Nothing that killed the momentum of the story.

    I will say I only have it a 4 ½ stars since Beverly Barton’s writing is very descriptive, which although it is usually good story writing, but for a thriller I felt taking too much time for example, to describe the decorating of the room where the murder took place, wasn’t really necessary and took your attention away from the important things, like the dead person in the room and the fact gathering. That added to the fact that it was 392 pages. Again, not that the story was not enjoyable and engrossing, but for a thriller, a description of “the furnishing screamed money” would have sufficed rather than the detailing of the damask used on the bedspread.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Great Book!

    Great Book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    Loved this book

    Great plot storyline & characters...id luv to see a new series w/ these 2 main characters. Ive read all of her books but these characters together are def in my top favorites!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Anonymous

    I was very saddened to hear of Beverly Barton's death. Her books have always been immediate buy, read and keepers and this was no exception. The plot kept me in suspense and the identity of the killer was a total surprise. The emotonal connections between the leads were very believable. A book not to be missed, but an author who will be greatly missed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    So happy i got one more

    After hearing of beverly barton's passing and finishing the griff and nic series, i was sad i wouldnt have anymore books to read from her. Then this book came out and i was ecstatic! I loved it as i do all her books, seeing as i live in the south, anc i just hope there are more manuscripts that other authors will help complete :)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Alice D. for Readers Favorite Will Brannock from th

    Reviewed by Alice D. for Readers Favorite

    Will Brannock from the Tennessee Bureau of Investigation picks up his friend J.D. Cass's sister Julia and her bloodhound Jasper at the airport. Julia has joined the Chattanooga police department as a detective. She finds Will to be attractive but she doesn't want to be attracted to him as she had her partner and love die in her arms three years ago. Nonetheless, she and Will find they are soon working together, tracking down a serial killer who kills his victims, one by one, cuts out their tongues, then hangs them, and leaves part of the victim's tongue and a stack of thirty dimes on a scale just under their dangling feet. First to die is Federal Judge Lucien Lockhart who is as corrupt and double-dealing as they come. Then next on the killer's list is shock-jock radio commentator Roc VanVeter. Meanwhile, the killer is still seething but smiles to himself as he sits in a nearby cave. He tapes the tip of each victim's tongue under their picture in a scrapbook he has put together.

    The late Beverly Barton was a master at writing first-rate thrillers that left readers on the edge of their seats as each page of her books was read and even reread. "Don't Say a Word" is no exception. The characters of Will Brannock, Julia Cass and her brother J.D. and all the many other persons in "Don't Say a Word" are totally believable and work well with each other. The character of the Tongue Slasher, the serial killer, makes complete sense as some never get over horrific losses and strike out as their revenge. The plots' twists and turns are totally believable and the story's ending ties up loose ends perfectly. Linda Ladd should be complimented for helping Beverly Barton's family complete this most excellent of thrillers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2012

    Dis-count Code: eofninf.us

    Dis-count Code: eofninf.us

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1