Customer Reviews for

Don't Say a Word

Average Rating 4
( 1247 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(595)

4 Star

(344)

3 Star

(169)

2 Star

(73)

1 Star

(66)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful Read

I loved this book. It has a story that warms your heart and keeps you entertained!

posted by theReader278 on June 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Not Thrilled!

I was very disappointed with this book! I read the reviews and was really looking forward to getting started. I had to force myself to continue reading, the writing itself was kind of lame...corny...I don't know how else to say it. Might appeal to a much younger audienc...
I was very disappointed with this book! I read the reviews and was really looking forward to getting started. I had to force myself to continue reading, the writing itself was kind of lame...corny...I don't know how else to say it. Might appeal to a much younger audience. I've been reading for over 1/2 of my life and I like a book with more substance (as far as the writing). The story was ok, but it kind of felt like I had borrowed a book from my daughter (if I had one) or a teen-age friend?! Not that I don't like love and suspense but if your wanting something to immerse yourself in...this is not it!

posted by Lady-E on June 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 169 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted June 7, 2011

    Not Thrilled!

    I was very disappointed with this book! I read the reviews and was really looking forward to getting started. I had to force myself to continue reading, the writing itself was kind of lame...corny...I don't know how else to say it. Might appeal to a much younger audience. I've been reading for over 1/2 of my life and I like a book with more substance (as far as the writing). The story was ok, but it kind of felt like I had borrowed a book from my daughter (if I had one) or a teen-age friend?! Not that I don't like love and suspense but if your wanting something to immerse yourself in...this is not it!

    16 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Keeps you guessing

    First half of book sort of drags on, then you feel as if too much happens too quickly in the second half. Still a great book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2011

    Its ok!

    It was ok. Didnt really like the ending!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Nice

    Its a nice book

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Good Read

    Enjoyed

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    3.5 stars

    Interesting plot...but easy to walk away from.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Good

    Easy Entertaing

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    Recommend

    Loved the story line. Did not guess who was responsible until just before the last.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    Great+quick+read+about+a+mystery+that+unravels+page+after+page++

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2011

    good read

    took me a little while to read. plot was good. . great story

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2011

    Sorry, I haven't read it yet.

    Haven't read it yet.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2005

    Don't Say A Word

    Years ago, as a little boy, Alex Manning took a snapshot of a little girl behind a gate in Russia. He never anticipated that she would arrive on his doorstep, having seen the photo and recognizing the necklace the child has as her own. At first, Julia can't believe she is the girl, but she knows she's always felt out of place, despite her love for her adoptive family. To solve the riddle of her past, the two join forces, but find that the secrets they uncover spanning a quarter of a century are not at all simple, and possibly not safe. Julia is not the only one about to learn things about the past she never dreamed existed. .................... Between the edges of a suspenseful frame, there is what Barbara Freethy does best, a heart warming tale of love and family. Julia's story affirms that love is what makes a family, not blood.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Caroline

    :: I kiss back. ::

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Good

    Sweet story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    Good story line but a little corny

    I enjoyed the length of this book and how the plot kept my attention. However the dialogue was extremely corny and unrealistic. Often times I felt as if the characters had no real depth and that they stated the obvious. This made their thoughts and conversations often repetative and redundant. Its a good "junk food" read if you can get past the dialogue and cornyness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 169 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9