Customer Reviews for

Don't Tempt Me

Average Rating 4
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Not actually new...

I was confused by this, it states it was published in 2013 but the storyline sounded familier. Turns out, I've already read it, it's on my Nook, and the cover has just changed. I think it would have let me buy it again without warning me since it is claiming to be publ...
I was confused by this, it states it was published in 2013 but the storyline sounded familier. Turns out, I've already read it, it's on my Nook, and the cover has just changed. I think it would have let me buy it again without warning me since it is claiming to be published this year. I recall enjoying the book but be careful it isn't a duplicate BEFORE you buy!

posted by DotRN on April 21, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Just a new cover.......

This is an old book with a new cover. Makes me mad when they do this and allow you to purchase again! Waste of money!

posted by 8082856 on March 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    Not actually new...

    I was confused by this, it states it was published in 2013 but the storyline sounded familier. Turns out, I've already read it, it's on my Nook, and the cover has just changed. I think it would have let me buy it again without warning me since it is claiming to be published this year. I recall enjoying the book but be careful it isn't a duplicate BEFORE you buy!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Just a new cover.......

    This is an old book with a new cover. Makes me mad when they do this and allow you to purchase again! Waste of money!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    This is a brilliant historical romantic suspense

    Forced to marry in 1757, Marquis Marguerite lovingly raises her twin daughters Lysette and Lynette Baillon. However, she becomes heartbroken when she finds out her older daughter Lysette died and was buried in Poland still she has her beloved Lynette.------------------ In 1780 Paris, Irish mercenary Simon Quinn recognizes Lysette as someone he sold out three years ago to Desjardin. However, although she looks the same she behaves radically different from the tough women he dealt with as she seems girly. Mistaking Lynette for Lysette, she learns that her sister has been an English assassin and is alive in France. She plans to find her sibling to bring her home, but Desjardin has plans for his stubborn pretty captive whom he must break. His chance of succeeding while crossing the Channel with a still confused Simon looks excellent.----------- This is a brilliant historical romantic suspense as Sylvia Day blends several subplots into a powerful thriller. The story line is fast-paced from the moment that Quinn sees Lynette and never slows down as she changes from girly girl to superhero trying to rescue her twin. The heated asides between her and Quinn feel right as this is one author who will make the readers¿ day and night with this strong tale of courage and love in France, a decade before the Revolution.-------- Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Skip it!

    While I loved her Crossfire Series, I am underwhelmed with this book. There were too many characters (many of which unnecessary) and the plot was too hard and confusing to follow.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    excellent however sometimes a little hard to follow the plot. ho

    excellent however sometimes a little hard to follow the plot. however, exceptionally written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    I am a fan of Ms. Days books, but this one "Don't tempt me&

    I am a fan of Ms. Days books, but this one "Don't tempt me" left me a bit bored, and unfeeling. I thought it was too drawn out
    And quite frankly, bored. To me, this book started getting interesting close to the end. I was disappointed to say the least.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    good book

    keeps you engaged and is a good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    DON'T TEMPT ME by Sylvia Day is an exciting Georgian Erotic Hist

    DON'T TEMPT ME by Sylvia Day is an exciting Georgian Erotic Historical Romance set in 1757 Paris, France. #4 in the "Georgian"series, but can be read as a stand alone. See,"Ask for It"," Passion for the Game",and "A Passion for Him".Re-issue from 2008. "Don't Tempt Me" is the story of Simon Quinn,a spy and mercenary and Lynette Baillon,who has lost her twin sister. Filled with danger,secrets,deceit,lies,vengeance,passion,and love. Lynette's twin sister,Lysette has been dead for two years,or so her family believes. Lysette Rousseau ,is a hired assassin,who lost her memory two years ago.Ms. Day has carefully woven subplots of Lysette and Edward James, as well as the story of Simon and Lynette, and the twins mother, Marguerite,her ex-lover, the Marquess of Saint-Martin,and her husband De Grenier. Brilliant plot with engaging characters. Fast paced. A true page turner. I enjoyed not only the characters as the truth unfolds,but the plot of taming an assassin and a mercenary. Powerful story of how love can save even the most wicked,as is not what it seems and the betrayal of one you trust. While, this title is listed as Erotic,the sensual part was not over the top. If you enjoy historical,the Georgian era,romance,and the power of love you don't want to mess "Don't Tempt Me". A must read! I have enjoyed this series and can't wait to read the next installment. Ms. Day pulls her readers into the story and holds them there. Recieved for an honest review from the publisher.
    RATING: 4.5
    HEAT RATING: MILD
    REVIEWED BY: AprilR, (Review courtesy of My Book Addiction and More)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    Ew

    Your nasty

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    !

    I fell inlove with this book! Wish the author made a series though!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2013

    love simon quinn!!

    love simon quinn!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2008

    Historical excellence from Sylvia Day

    DON¿T TEMPT ME is the story of Simon and Lynette, two young lovers whose passion knows no bounds. They both realize that because of differences in their backgrounds and social status they cannot plan for a future together, but even more important at present is simply staying alive.***** Simon Quinn is not a man to be ignored. Lynette Rousseau can attest to this as the two exchange heated glances across a crowded ballroom floor. Lynette knows Simon¿s reputation of being a relentlessly seductive rake, but there is some confusion between the two when, during their first conversation, Simon calls Lynette by the name of her identical twin sister, Lysette. As the relationship between the two escalates from that of mere acquaintances to lovers, not only does their passion increase to an incendiary level, but Lynette¿s curiosity about her twin makes her determined to learn her whereabouts. What Lynette doesn¿t realize is that the search to learn her sister¿s secrets has put her in grave danger as well. Simon understands the danger and while his intention is to keep Lynette safe while discovering the strange truths behind her sister¿s situation, he knows that the evil putting Lynette and her family in peril won¿t risk discovery before eliminating the beautiful young sisters.***** The heat between Simon and Lynette smolders on the pages. Their attraction, seemingly doomed from the beginning, is made of the strongest, sweetest emotions mixed with the steamiest passions. The history of and relationships between secondary characters are brilliantly told at the beginning, shedding light on the back story and giving readers the bonus of an additional story.***** I remember the first review I did for then-new author Sylvia Day several years ago I compared her style to that of veteran historical author Nicole Jordan. No comparisons are necessary these days. Ms. Day has come into her own as a masterful storyteller whose historicals are repeatedly guaranteed to become reader favorites. I highly recommend DON¿T TEMPT ME for all historical fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2008

    A reviewer

    Sylvia Day¿s DON¿T TEMPT ME is her next stunning historical for Kensington Brava 'April 2008' and a most anticipated Book #4 in her Georgian series. In 1780 Paris France, Lynette Baillon is attending her first Parisian ball after being raised in Poland and finally convincing her mother to let her visit the glorious city where her parents were brought up. Lynette¿s mother, Marguerite Piccard, has always dreaded returning to her hometown after having a scandalous affair years ago with the married Marquis Philippe de Saint-Martin that ended tragically. She left in disgrace, entering a marriage of convenience with the Vicomte de Grenier. At the ball, mercenary Irishman, Simon Quinn flirts shamelessly with Lynette and acts like they are well acquainted. Lynette realizes that Simon has mistaken her for her twin sister, Lysette, who died in a carriage accident two years before. Simon wonders why he is suddenly attracted to the French assassin he knows as Lysette. Lysette is being controlled by master manipulator, Desjardins and her latest assignment is to seduce Benjamin Franklin¿s personal secretary, Edward James to gather information about him. However, getting Edward to notice her is not easy. Darker forces are at work here and everyone is in danger! Only in the extremely talented writing hands of Sylvia Day, does she manage to untangle this web of lies and deception into three great love stories. DON¿T TEMPT ME is the ultimate temptation for hot historical romance fans everywhere!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2