Customer Reviews for

Don't Toss My Memories in the Trash: A Step-by-Step Guide to Helping Seniors Downsize, Organize, and Move

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 1, 2009

    A sensible approach to making a life-altering change like moving

    This book is a wonderful guide for anyone faced with having to move, particularly when one is faced with downsizing and being forced to make decisions about parting with belongings that have emotional implications. This guide helps decipher, in a logical yet caring way, how to make those decisions, staying organized and on track in the process. Vickie also worte an accompanying workbook that is an absolute "must" to own because it doesn't leave out any detail that needs to be addressed BEFORE actually moving. I would recommend this to anyone who is in the process or planning to move, and even to those who simply know they need to declutter their current surroundings. Well done!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2008

    A great guide for a challenging process!

    This book is clearly written by an experienced Professional Organizer who knows that it takes quite a bit of `coaching' through the process of moving, whether its seniors, families or individuals. Vickie Dellaquila has written clear steps of what to do throughout the moving process. There are also great resources in the appendices. This book will ensure an easier transition for everyone involved!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2007

    Dealing with Senior Issues with Sensitivity

    Vickie Dellaquila's book exemplifies her organizational expertise, and her skills as a senior move manager are wonderfully demonstrated in her comprehensive moving guide for seniors who are facing one of their biggest challenges in life. What I particularly like, however, is that throughout 'Don't Toss My Memories in the Trash', Ms. Dellaquila never loses sight of the trauma that accompanies parting with the possessions of a lifetime. She recognizes that an item is not just an item to an older person, but is something to which a memory is attached. She compassionately understands the emotions being felt by someone about to enter a new phase of life, and she gently and sensitively assists with making the transition. At one time in my career, I was the marketing and sales director for a large senior residential facility. Essentially, I was the first person in the organization to meet with a prospective resident and their family members, and then served as their primary contact throughout the entire process leading up to residency. I wish that Vickie's book had been available then because I would have included it in every informational package. It's that good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2007

    A must for seniors & their children!

    Daddy was recently diagnosed with Alzheimer's disease and Mother could no longer care for him alone. It was time for them to move onto the next stage in their life and move in with us. Selling their house and life-long collection of memories was more traumatic for my sister and me than for Mother. What were we to do? Vickie Dellaquila has the answers in her book 'Don't Toss My Memories in the Trash'. This is a wonderful book to assist you with cleaning out the clutter but hanging onto the memories. For example: Keep a teacup and saucer and sell the rest of the china set or use one crystal goblet for a pencil holder. 'Don't Toss My Memories in the Trash' is written in an easy to read format with check lists, references, and resources. If not for yourself, buy this book for someone who is moving or downsizing. It will make an excellent gift.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2007

    Don't toss this book away!

    I'm 61 years old. I live in a big house and have accumulated way more than I ever should have. Someday I'm going to have to downsize and deal with all the 'stuff'--or someone will have to do it for me. That's when a book like this become a lifesaver. You couldn't ask for a more practical help. Whether it's me who has to make the move, or my mom, it's a huge undertaking to even think about (let alone to actually carry out and finish!). A lot of emotion is involved when someone has to leave behind years of keepsakes and memories. What can we take with us? What will we try to sell (and how)? What could we give away? What will we have to throw away? Here's a book with answers--to make it all a little bit easier. How do I decide it's time to move, or how do I convince my parents it is? Check out Part One. How do I sort through it all? Check out Part Two. What practical things should I be aware of when I move out (and when I move in somewhere else)? Check out Part Three. The book ends with over 25 pages of practical checklists: things that will have to be dealt with, all organized and ready. The author has very clearly and concisely revealed the wisdom she's accumulated after years as a professional organizer and senior move manager. It's an easy read, a toolbox of experience. Every family should get this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2007

    How to downsize when possessions are no longer useful.

    This book addresses a specific void in the decluttering realm- that of providing practical downsizing advice and solutions for seniors (or anyone, for that matter) moving into smaller quarters. This book gives an excellent overview of what to expect as a member of the sandwich generation, those responsible for their parents¿ quality of life in their later years. It will also be an eye-opener for those who, as they live longer and longer, have to plan for this latter stage of their lives. The first part of the book focuses on reaching an agreement that someone, most likely an elder parent, has to move, and this is usually after a lifetime of accumulating possessions. Dellaquila emphasizes, whenever possible, involving those who are moving. Participation in decision-making is the most important part, emotionally and psychologically. The stage is set for control dramas and unpleasant confrontations between generations even in the best of circumstances. The middle of the book details many of the nuts and bolts of moving, such as how to decrease possessions, categorizing what to keep and ways to part with things that once generated memories of life in the past. This section addresses such topics as what to keep and how to dispose of different items (which arguably are unique to each family). The last part of the book is a set of resources and checklists for moving, valuable to anyone relocating their household.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1