BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Don't Try This at Home

Average Rating 4
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    So so

    Kind of the same story the entire book. Thought it would cover .ore of his life and his time in the bands

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Great book

    Loved this book! Hopefully he will write more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2005

    Too short!

    Great book I wish it was not just a year in Naravos life. I wish it had gone back bit further. if he hasn't already he should write a bio (not just a year). other than that I was a great book.I felt once I was getting into the book it was almost over, and I had to begin to look for a new book already!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2005

    Not what its made out to be

    I was very excited to read this book. I thought it was an autobiography of Dave's life. Instead it was a year in the life of Dave's life. I believe the yyar was 1999. The book makes no senses in chapters. Its just a mixture of drug induced conversations, random encounters, etc. Would not recommend reading the book. The only chapters I found interesting is when they talk about Dave & Carmen and that is 4 years later. I would not waste my time reading this. If you want to read a good book about life as a rock star, check out Scar Tissue by Anthony Kiedis (Red Hot Chilli Peppers)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2004

    So awesome there are no words ...

    i bought this book at a signing with dave navarro and i just have to say that its just so good i dont even have words to tell you. and dave navarro is awesome so go buy and read this book ...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2001

    Cosmic Insanity Causes Doses Of Reality

    Ok - I¿ve been a HUGE Jane's Addiction fan as long as I can remember. When a friend of mine told me he got an advance of 'Don't Try This At Home', I had already stole it from his house. This book starts out with a line that will keep your eyes glued to the page just to get to the next word!! I swear, after the Jane's Relapse tour, Dave really spread [no pun intended] himself to the edge of existence. To be a rock star in the Hills of Hollywood may seem like a bit of a fantasy but in the actual reality of it all - read this book! Pressures, pleasures and quick endeavors ¿ life can get the best of you if you let it. The book ties itself to the classic photo booth [like the kind you¿d find at Coney Island] or as Dave calls it, ¿a triumph in cynicism, mistrust and abandonment fear.¿ The photo booth was bought to document one of Dave's hypotheses #1: The only people who stay in you life are the ones you pay¿ but the cleaning lady, the pizza delivery man and the drug dealer are forever. The review headlines will lie - this book is riddled with sex (hookers & whores), drugs (legal & illegal), and rock stars (actors & actresses included) ¿ shown in the way that people who typically see these dreams of becoming a rock star or movie god - are shown the actual pressures involved. I¿m telling you ¿ this book is a roller coaster ride of a dysfunctional reality mixed with chemicals, cocktails and adrenaline. If you¿re a fan ¿ buy this book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1