Customer Reviews for

Don't Turn Around (Don't Turn Around Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 84 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

What an amazing book! Thrilling from start to finish with curve

What an amazing book! Thrilling from start to finish with curve balls every other chapter.
Noa is an awesome character that kicks butt and actually has a brain and uses it. Don't Turn Around had me absorbed in each and every page. I was transfixed with the plot and was...
What an amazing book! Thrilling from start to finish with curve balls every other chapter.
Noa is an awesome character that kicks butt and actually has a brain and uses it. Don't Turn Around had me absorbed in each and every page. I was transfixed with the plot and was transported to the world of computer hackers.
Don't Turn Around is one of the best book I've read this year and one of my favorite books of all time. I could easily re-read this book a couple more times and not get bored.

posted by TaylorKnight on December 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

To below

Hi.

posted by Anonymous on January 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted December 5, 2012

    What an amazing book! Thrilling from start to finish with curve

    What an amazing book! Thrilling from start to finish with curve balls every other chapter.
    Noa is an awesome character that kicks butt and actually has a brain and uses it. Don't Turn Around had me absorbed in each and every page. I was transfixed with the plot and was transported to the world of computer hackers.
    Don't Turn Around is one of the best book I've read this year and one of my favorite books of all time. I could easily re-read this book a couple more times and not get bored.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Couldn't put it down! Can't wait for a sequel!

    I liked that the story kept moving at a fast pace. The suspense was maintained throughout, which made it difficult to put down. It is 241 pages in entirety. I read it in 2 nights. The characters were generally easy to like (or dislike). It had very little foul launguage. May be a little grusome for the younger ones. I loved the story, and some of the characters. I'm totally game for reading a sequel...

    If you like face-paced stories, suspense/thriller types stories with relateable (albiet young) characters, you will probly enjoy it...just read it already!!!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    This book is awesome and well written. It holds your attention b

    This book is awesome and well written. It holds your attention by suspense and leads up to a wonderful climax. I would definitely recommend this for readers who like thrill, action, etc. Great book.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2012

    Great YA suspense novel

    I had not heard of this author but I found the book on Edelweiss and something about the cover just caught my attention. Then I read what it was about and it sounded like it might be a cool YA suspense novel. I haven't read a lot of YA suspense lately, so I gave it a try and I really enjoyed it. The only thing I have to say negative about it is, why can't there just be some books out there that do not require a sequel. What is wrong with stand alone books? I didn't know at first that it was going to part of a series but the closer I got to the end I had this filling it wasn't really going to end. :(

    Noa is a teen hacker and she has some mad computer skills, but she is also a survivor. Spending most of her time in one foster home or another she has decided being on her own is the best way to survive. She was getting along just fine with her life, making a living as a IT tech online, then one day she wakes up in a warehouse with a huge scar on her chest and a lot of questions. She escapes but there are still people after her, but she is a survivor. Noa is tough, sometimes a little to tough, it comes from being in the system. She doesn't know how to let her guard down, so she shields herself. She makes a great female character.

    Peter comes from a rich family and has everything he could need. His parents give him so much allowance he can easily take out five hundred dollars like it is nothing. He is also a hacker, and after snooping in some of his fathers things he finds something he shouldn't have. When he looks it up on the computer a bunch of big men in black come busting in and takes his laptop. He is told to stay out of things, but to a teenager that is just like telling him to go ahead and try it. He soon finds himself on the run with Noa, the company that he is trying to hack leads back to Noa. She is in the files, she is a link. Peter is a cool character, but not as tough as Noa.

    The more they dig into things the more things happen. They soon find out that you can't involve anyone and you can't trust the cops. So who do you round up when you must remain anonymous and want to take down a company, well hackers of course.

    Through out the whole book Noa is helped by A Friend, and we finally get to meet him at the end. It's to soon to tell if he will be likable or not but he has been keeping Noa safe. To me the creepy thing is, is that he always seems to be one step ahead of her, and always knows where she is. Creepy don't you think. I am sure we will learn more about him in the next book.

    Overall, I thought this book was fast paced, and the topic was really interesting. What they did to Noa, why they did it, and why they are still after Noa. I like that it didn't leave us with a huge cliffhanger, but prepared you for the next book. If you like YA and suspense novel then I would recommend this book for you.

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Chapter by Chapter's review of Don't Turn Around

    Just by judging the story off the description on the back of the book, I was very excited to begin reading Don’t Turn Around by Michelle Gagnon. It sounded like a fun, thrilling, and action filled read. Guess what? It totally was. I expected the novel to be good and I have to admit that I’m far from crestfallen at the fact that Don’t Turn Around is better than good. It’s great! Never have I read a story with such badass character who are also highly intelligent hackers. In most novels (and remember I said most) you get a badass who doesn’t have an equilibrium of brains and brawn—so not the case in Don’t Turn Around.

    Don’t Turn Around revolves around main characters Noa and Peter, both of them have very different lives but have one thing in common: Computers. Computers and being insanely skilled hackers. Noa wakes up in a warehouse with an IV in her hand and a series of stitches on her chest and after an intriguing opening sentence, you find yourself reading (however in my case, I could see the scene playing out like a movie,) about Noa as she escapes threatening guards who futilely attempt to keep her from leaving the warehouse. The novel quickly switches to our second main character Peter’s point on view; Peter’s house is broken into by a menacing man known as Mr. Mason who strikes fear into the hearts of many characters throughout the novel and for reasons unknown Mr. Mason steals Peter’s computer and nothing else.

    I personally liked the character Noa more than Peter, simply because Noa was a character I think female readers can take a lot of inspiration from. Noa comes from basically nothing, she’s a foster child who managed to use her hacker skills to have a life where no social workers would come to hunt her down. She has no family. She has no friends. She only has herself. But despite those factors, Noa doesn’t panic or whine about her situation… especially when she finds out the reason why there’s an incision on her chest. Noa makes up her plans as she goes along throughout the story (kinda like a female Indiana Jones) and when she’s hit with the unexpected she handles the situation rather smoothly.

    Peter on the other hand, is a character who is more street savvy, but personally I found him a bit needy and naïve. He’s the brains behind /ALLIANCE/ (which is a World of Warcraft reference, awesome-sauce right there) a vigilante internet group that is similar to the real world vigilante group Anonymous. Peter sets up a series of hacker attacks against the group who kidnapped/cut open Noa to gather their data. Like something out of a comic book, we learn that the bad guys have more nefarious plans than our characters have expected and watch them plot a way to bring the destruction of the company that has been using teenagers as human guinea pigs.

    I would recommend Don’t Turn Around to fans of sci-fi and action. Readers who have been having a hankering for fast paced thrillers will also fall in deeply in love with Don’t Turn Around. I know I did.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A fast-paced enthralling novel that you will keep you hooked til

    A fast-paced enthralling novel that you will keep you hooked till its very last page. It has been awhile since I've read such an exciting novel that I couldn't even sleep before finishing the whole thing! Gagnon totally succeeded in captivating me with a story full of twists and turns filled with mystery.

    The Plot: What surprised me most about Don't Turn Around was the lack of romance (don't worry, there is enough of platonic love) and yet it had the capacity of completely grabbing my attention and not letting it go one second. Gagnon's writing is a match made in heaven for a novel like this one and I would be certainly reading anything this author throws my way. Furthermore the suspense and action is just plain exciting!

    The Characters: All characters fit perfectly the genre of this book. Noa was an independent, strong main character who often remembered me of Lisbeth from "The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo". Peter was the typical rebel. He is rich but doesn't have a good relationship with his parents since his brother died and he wants to make a different to the world with his hacker group. I loved the difference between them and the combination of their characters. The side characters complemented the story well and I found myself even liking them!

    Don't Turn Around is a novel for those of you who are in search of an exciting novel with many action-filled scenes and suspense. If you are into such movies as The Bourne Identity or action movies and books in general, you shouldn't miss this one which is coming out tomorrow! Now is a great time to pre-order it, you won't have to wait so long for it to come out.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Don¿t Turn Around is a thrilling novel that is told from two POV

    Don’t Turn Around is a thrilling novel that is told from two POVs. We’ve got the 16-year-old girl who has been in the foster system all her life but recently ranaway and set up a fake foster family and got a high paying online job as a work at home man. Then we’ve got the other side of the story, Peter. A rich kid who is also good with computers to the point of creating an online hacking hub known as //ALLIANCE//. They end up getting entangled in a very deep and dangerous organization and that’s when the excitement begins.

    In all honesty throughout reading Don’t Turn Around I was holding on hope for something spectacular to happen. The novel had a ton of chases and Noa used her brainy and hacking skills to get away out of every slippery situation. She was headstrong and truly independent. I mean she hacked into the foster system, created a foster family out of thin air and added herself as a foster child to them, updated the system as if social workers came for regular check ups and enlisted herself to be home schooled. However I just kept on waiting for that thing that would render me speechless or mind blown. Unfortunately it never came. I liked the plot, and how there is a bit of a post-apocalyptic feel to it with the PEMA disease. But what didn’t keep me 100% invested in this novel is my emotional detachment to the characters and their eventual teaming up to fight against the forces of evil.

    The plot was fantastic, the characters were super smart, but I just needed more out of it. Since this novel was all about hacking, I hoped we would see more of it. We only get the word hacking thrown in every couple of pages but you don’t get to sit in with them, biting your nails, tying to break through firewalls and escape IP detection systems. If you’ve seen Nikita, then you know what I mean. However, even if I was left a bit disappointed due to my high expectations, Don’t Turn Around was still a pleasant read and I did enjoy it. I think young adult readers who want a novel with a bit more mystery and excitement they should check out Don’t Turn Around. Fans of Cold Fury by T. M. Goeglein would highly enjoy it.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    loved!

    I love this book and can't wait for the next

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Thriller

    Cool book

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    It Hurt To Put This Novel Down! (Skipped meals, stayed in one position for hours on end, etc. THAT hard to put down.)

    Ever heard of 4chan? Anonymous? Hacktivists? Hackers at all? Medical jargon? Ever wished you knew how to hack or operate? Or maybe you're looking for a book with an intelligent, tough, independent chick for a main character that isn't constantly rambling about love? Or perhaps you think you grew up worldly, or are a proud citizen of a bubble?

    *How about you just want an AMAZING book to read that will keep you guessing and reading, getting excited because even your friends who hate to read would love what's in front of you?* Then please read this. It is worth paying for fifty times over.

    See, I am a book snob at times; I truly am. However, reading the teaser chapter one a month ago had me counting down till this book came out. I was excited, and this book is the first one in my 24 years that has not only met the high expectations I had for it for this period of waiting, but SURPASSED IT COMPLETELY in so many ways that I cannot get this stupid grin off my face and rush in my chest. No book has gotten me this hyped before, or the need to review immediately and not just to by avid-reading bff, but to anybody and everybody like this!!!!

    All that I can say is READ IT. NOW. WHY ARE YOU STILL READING THIS??? GO READ THE BOOK NOW!!!!!!!!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    Excellent

    Good book. Great read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    .

    .

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    Poo

    I paid $10 and it only gave us the sample. But the sample seems AWESOME!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Read me

    I remember when this book was like 1.99 nows up to 10 some then wow

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Loved this

    Just finished this book during a bout of the flu. Luved the medical mystery luved the intrigue. A must read 4all

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Couldn, Couldn't put it down

    This book is simply amazing. Suspenseful from beginning to end. Get it, it's worth every penny!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    A

    The soulmate of Lisbeth salander is wally in (Dark Eyes).

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    I read it

    I still don't know what i liked about it - it was frustrating at times!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    loved!!!

    :) This book rocks!! Would recommend 10 yrs +

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    YESSSSSS READ THIS

    Couldn't put it down AT ALL. Suspensful, exciting, and definitely has a great flow that makes you feel like you're running around with them like a a camera man.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 84 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5