Customer Reviews for

Don't Turn Around (Don't Turn Around Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 90 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

What an amazing book! Thrilling from start to finish with curve

What an amazing book! Thrilling from start to finish with curve balls every other chapter.
Noa is an awesome character that kicks butt and actually has a brain and uses it. Don't Turn Around had me absorbed in each and every page. I was transfixed with the plot and was...
What an amazing book! Thrilling from start to finish with curve balls every other chapter.
Noa is an awesome character that kicks butt and actually has a brain and uses it. Don't Turn Around had me absorbed in each and every page. I was transfixed with the plot and was transported to the world of computer hackers.
Don't Turn Around is one of the best book I've read this year and one of my favorite books of all time. I could easily re-read this book a couple more times and not get bored.

posted by TaylorKnight on December 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

To below

Hi.

posted by Anonymous on January 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    This book is awesome and well written. It holds your attention b

    This book is awesome and well written. It holds your attention by suspense and leads up to a wonderful climax. I would definitely recommend this for readers who like thrill, action, etc. Great book.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2012

    Great YA suspense novel

    I had not heard of this author but I found the book on Edelweiss and something about the cover just caught my attention. Then I read what it was about and it sounded like it might be a cool YA suspense novel. I haven't read a lot of YA suspense lately, so I gave it a try and I really enjoyed it. The only thing I have to say negative about it is, why can't there just be some books out there that do not require a sequel. What is wrong with stand alone books? I didn't know at first that it was going to part of a series but the closer I got to the end I had this filling it wasn't really going to end. :(

    Noa is a teen hacker and she has some mad computer skills, but she is also a survivor. Spending most of her time in one foster home or another she has decided being on her own is the best way to survive. She was getting along just fine with her life, making a living as a IT tech online, then one day she wakes up in a warehouse with a huge scar on her chest and a lot of questions. She escapes but there are still people after her, but she is a survivor. Noa is tough, sometimes a little to tough, it comes from being in the system. She doesn't know how to let her guard down, so she shields herself. She makes a great female character.

    Peter comes from a rich family and has everything he could need. His parents give him so much allowance he can easily take out five hundred dollars like it is nothing. He is also a hacker, and after snooping in some of his fathers things he finds something he shouldn't have. When he looks it up on the computer a bunch of big men in black come busting in and takes his laptop. He is told to stay out of things, but to a teenager that is just like telling him to go ahead and try it. He soon finds himself on the run with Noa, the company that he is trying to hack leads back to Noa. She is in the files, she is a link. Peter is a cool character, but not as tough as Noa.

    The more they dig into things the more things happen. They soon find out that you can't involve anyone and you can't trust the cops. So who do you round up when you must remain anonymous and want to take down a company, well hackers of course.

    Through out the whole book Noa is helped by A Friend, and we finally get to meet him at the end. It's to soon to tell if he will be likable or not but he has been keeping Noa safe. To me the creepy thing is, is that he always seems to be one step ahead of her, and always knows where she is. Creepy don't you think. I am sure we will learn more about him in the next book.

    Overall, I thought this book was fast paced, and the topic was really interesting. What they did to Noa, why they did it, and why they are still after Noa. I like that it didn't leave us with a huge cliffhanger, but prepared you for the next book. If you like YA and suspense novel then I would recommend this book for you.

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Don┬┐t Turn Around is a thrilling novel that is told from two POV

    Don’t Turn Around is a thrilling novel that is told from two POVs. We’ve got the 16-year-old girl who has been in the foster system all her life but recently ranaway and set up a fake foster family and got a high paying online job as a work at home man. Then we’ve got the other side of the story, Peter. A rich kid who is also good with computers to the point of creating an online hacking hub known as //ALLIANCE//. They end up getting entangled in a very deep and dangerous organization and that’s when the excitement begins.

    In all honesty throughout reading Don’t Turn Around I was holding on hope for something spectacular to happen. The novel had a ton of chases and Noa used her brainy and hacking skills to get away out of every slippery situation. She was headstrong and truly independent. I mean she hacked into the foster system, created a foster family out of thin air and added herself as a foster child to them, updated the system as if social workers came for regular check ups and enlisted herself to be home schooled. However I just kept on waiting for that thing that would render me speechless or mind blown. Unfortunately it never came. I liked the plot, and how there is a bit of a post-apocalyptic feel to it with the PEMA disease. But what didn’t keep me 100% invested in this novel is my emotional detachment to the characters and their eventual teaming up to fight against the forces of evil.

    The plot was fantastic, the characters were super smart, but I just needed more out of it. Since this novel was all about hacking, I hoped we would see more of it. We only get the word hacking thrown in every couple of pages but you don’t get to sit in with them, biting your nails, tying to break through firewalls and escape IP detection systems. If you’ve seen Nikita, then you know what I mean. However, even if I was left a bit disappointed due to my high expectations, Don’t Turn Around was still a pleasant read and I did enjoy it. I think young adult readers who want a novel with a bit more mystery and excitement they should check out Don’t Turn Around. Fans of Cold Fury by T. M. Goeglein would highly enjoy it.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    loved!

    I love this book and can't wait for the next

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    .

    .

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    I read it

    I still don't know what i liked about it - it was frustrating at times!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    Pretty good!

    It was a pretty good read. Interesting from the beginning and hard to put down. I think I will be picking up #2 in the series soon. Oh, it may hsve been written for older teens but tech-savvy adults will get it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Aug 2013

    Really, I 'm not sure what to think. It was a great read. However the end was not the end for me. There was so much more I wanted. I thought there must be a sequal or something. Anything really. **********

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Good read

    I liked this story quite a lot. It is a fast paced and full of action story. The lead character is likeable and smart which drew me into the book. Good read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2013

    Cops with a haunting past

    A good read, had me turning pages. Just to spoil the end, the heroes win. Barely.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1