Customer Reviews for

Don't Turn Around (Don't Turn Around Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 88 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

What an amazing book! Thrilling from start to finish with curve

What an amazing book! Thrilling from start to finish with curve balls every other chapter.
Noa is an awesome character that kicks butt and actually has a brain and uses it. Don't Turn Around had me absorbed in each and every page. I was transfixed with the plot and was...
What an amazing book! Thrilling from start to finish with curve balls every other chapter.
Noa is an awesome character that kicks butt and actually has a brain and uses it. Don't Turn Around had me absorbed in each and every page. I was transfixed with the plot and was transported to the world of computer hackers.
Don't Turn Around is one of the best book I've read this year and one of my favorite books of all time. I could easily re-read this book a couple more times and not get bored.

posted by TaylorKnight on December 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

To below

Hi.

posted by Anonymous on January 5, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 5, 2012

    What an amazing book! Thrilling from start to finish with curve

    What an amazing book! Thrilling from start to finish with curve balls every other chapter.
    Noa is an awesome character that kicks butt and actually has a brain and uses it. Don't Turn Around had me absorbed in each and every page. I was transfixed with the plot and was transported to the world of computer hackers.
    Don't Turn Around is one of the best book I've read this year and one of my favorite books of all time. I could easily re-read this book a couple more times and not get bored.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Couldn't put it down! Can't wait for a sequel!

    I liked that the story kept moving at a fast pace. The suspense was maintained throughout, which made it difficult to put down. It is 241 pages in entirety. I read it in 2 nights. The characters were generally easy to like (or dislike). It had very little foul launguage. May be a little grusome for the younger ones. I loved the story, and some of the characters. I'm totally game for reading a sequel...

    If you like face-paced stories, suspense/thriller types stories with relateable (albiet young) characters, you will probly enjoy it...just read it already!!!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Chapter by Chapter's review of Don't Turn Around

    Just by judging the story off the description on the back of the book, I was very excited to begin reading Don’t Turn Around by Michelle Gagnon. It sounded like a fun, thrilling, and action filled read. Guess what? It totally was. I expected the novel to be good and I have to admit that I’m far from crestfallen at the fact that Don’t Turn Around is better than good. It’s great! Never have I read a story with such badass character who are also highly intelligent hackers. In most novels (and remember I said most) you get a badass who doesn’t have an equilibrium of brains and brawn—so not the case in Don’t Turn Around.

    Don’t Turn Around revolves around main characters Noa and Peter, both of them have very different lives but have one thing in common: Computers. Computers and being insanely skilled hackers. Noa wakes up in a warehouse with an IV in her hand and a series of stitches on her chest and after an intriguing opening sentence, you find yourself reading (however in my case, I could see the scene playing out like a movie,) about Noa as she escapes threatening guards who futilely attempt to keep her from leaving the warehouse. The novel quickly switches to our second main character Peter’s point on view; Peter’s house is broken into by a menacing man known as Mr. Mason who strikes fear into the hearts of many characters throughout the novel and for reasons unknown Mr. Mason steals Peter’s computer and nothing else.

    I personally liked the character Noa more than Peter, simply because Noa was a character I think female readers can take a lot of inspiration from. Noa comes from basically nothing, she’s a foster child who managed to use her hacker skills to have a life where no social workers would come to hunt her down. She has no family. She has no friends. She only has herself. But despite those factors, Noa doesn’t panic or whine about her situation… especially when she finds out the reason why there’s an incision on her chest. Noa makes up her plans as she goes along throughout the story (kinda like a female Indiana Jones) and when she’s hit with the unexpected she handles the situation rather smoothly.

    Peter on the other hand, is a character who is more street savvy, but personally I found him a bit needy and naïve. He’s the brains behind /ALLIANCE/ (which is a World of Warcraft reference, awesome-sauce right there) a vigilante internet group that is similar to the real world vigilante group Anonymous. Peter sets up a series of hacker attacks against the group who kidnapped/cut open Noa to gather their data. Like something out of a comic book, we learn that the bad guys have more nefarious plans than our characters have expected and watch them plot a way to bring the destruction of the company that has been using teenagers as human guinea pigs.

    I would recommend Don’t Turn Around to fans of sci-fi and action. Readers who have been having a hankering for fast paced thrillers will also fall in deeply in love with Don’t Turn Around. I know I did.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A fast-paced enthralling novel that you will keep you hooked til

    A fast-paced enthralling novel that you will keep you hooked till its very last page. It has been awhile since I've read such an exciting novel that I couldn't even sleep before finishing the whole thing! Gagnon totally succeeded in captivating me with a story full of twists and turns filled with mystery.

    The Plot: What surprised me most about Don't Turn Around was the lack of romance (don't worry, there is enough of platonic love) and yet it had the capacity of completely grabbing my attention and not letting it go one second. Gagnon's writing is a match made in heaven for a novel like this one and I would be certainly reading anything this author throws my way. Furthermore the suspense and action is just plain exciting!

    The Characters: All characters fit perfectly the genre of this book. Noa was an independent, strong main character who often remembered me of Lisbeth from "The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo". Peter was the typical rebel. He is rich but doesn't have a good relationship with his parents since his brother died and he wants to make a different to the world with his hacker group. I loved the difference between them and the combination of their characters. The side characters complemented the story well and I found myself even liking them!

    Don't Turn Around is a novel for those of you who are in search of an exciting novel with many action-filled scenes and suspense. If you are into such movies as The Bourne Identity or action movies and books in general, you shouldn't miss this one which is coming out tomorrow! Now is a great time to pre-order it, you won't have to wait so long for it to come out.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Thriller

    Cool book

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    It Hurt To Put This Novel Down! (Skipped meals, stayed in one position for hours on end, etc. THAT hard to put down.)

    Ever heard of 4chan? Anonymous? Hacktivists? Hackers at all? Medical jargon? Ever wished you knew how to hack or operate? Or maybe you're looking for a book with an intelligent, tough, independent chick for a main character that isn't constantly rambling about love? Or perhaps you think you grew up worldly, or are a proud citizen of a bubble?

    *How about you just want an AMAZING book to read that will keep you guessing and reading, getting excited because even your friends who hate to read would love what's in front of you?* Then please read this. It is worth paying for fifty times over.

    See, I am a book snob at times; I truly am. However, reading the teaser chapter one a month ago had me counting down till this book came out. I was excited, and this book is the first one in my 24 years that has not only met the high expectations I had for it for this period of waiting, but SURPASSED IT COMPLETELY in so many ways that I cannot get this stupid grin off my face and rush in my chest. No book has gotten me this hyped before, or the need to review immediately and not just to by avid-reading bff, but to anybody and everybody like this!!!!

    All that I can say is READ IT. NOW. WHY ARE YOU STILL READING THIS??? GO READ THE BOOK NOW!!!!!!!!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    Excellent

    Good book. Great read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    Poo

    I paid $10 and it only gave us the sample. But the sample seems AWESOME!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Loved this

    Just finished this book during a bout of the flu. Luved the medical mystery luved the intrigue. A must read 4all

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Couldn, Couldn't put it down

    This book is simply amazing. Suspenseful from beginning to end. Get it, it's worth every penny!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    A

    The soulmate of Lisbeth salander is wally in (Dark Eyes).

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    loved!!!

    :) This book rocks!! Would recommend 10 yrs +

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    YESSSSSS READ THIS

    Couldn't put it down AT ALL. Suspensful, exciting, and definitely has a great flow that makes you feel like you're running around with them like a a camera man.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Don't Turn Around was featured in one of the First Five Chapters

    Don't Turn Around was featured in one of the First Five Chapters 6-book freebie pack. I stopped reading from the 6-pack on chapter 2 and purchased the book! It's a roller coaster, fasten your seat belt, keep your hands inside the ride at all times, sharp turns ahead, unforeseen gravity defying loops, prepare to read it in one sitting, kind of story.  Ms.Gagnon has created a strong and yet vulnerable heroine in Noa - at times I was moved to cheer for Noa, to want to console her, even to remembering the innocence and blush of first attraction. Noa's male counterpart is just as terrific.  He's a dedicated "hactivist".  This is such a sublimely intertwined plot that I dare not say much more other than - READ THIS! :) It's a truly wonderful thrill ride that will resonate with me for quite a while.  As a bonus, I had watched a documentary 2 days prior which made Don't Turn Around vividly real and completely feasible . I highly recommend this as a companion - watch it first if you want the book to make you bite your nails, hold your breath, and read while chanting in your head, "C'mon c'mon c'mon RUNgo go go go go STOP!!!!!!!" (My husband accused me of torturing our dogs who were apparently were running around behind me unbeknownst to me!) The documentary is called "We Are Legion".  I'm not sure if that will get erased but since B&N sells the DVD I think it's okay. Info on it is here wearelegionthedocumentary (dot com). With or without the WAL documentary, Don't Turn Around is an excellent stand alone book that I'm crossing my fingers becomes a series. Very highly recommend. 

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Don't Turn Around, by Michelle Gagnon, is a fabulous page-turner

    Don't Turn Around, by Michelle Gagnon, is a fabulous page-turner of a thriller. Right from page one, the reader is drawn into the lives of Noa, a 16-year old foster kid/runaway who wakes up on a strange experimental doctors table missing three weeks of her life and Peter, a rich high school hacker who just broke into the wrong database. Within a few pages, both teens are on the run and trying to stay one step ahead of the men trying to recapture Noa and do more medical experiments on her.




    I LOVED this book. It was fast-paced, smart, intriguing, and new. I never would have guessed this was a YA novel by the story. Gagnon does not believe in dumbing-down her highly-acclaimed writing for teens. The characters are well-developed and sympathetic, even the bad guys. I was so interested in what was happening to these characters I didn't want the book to end. 




    I hope Michelle is busy writing book two.




    Victoria Allman
    author of: SEAsoned: A Chef's Journey with Her Captain

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Fantastic

    This book was fantastic.....action packed edge of your seat....many loose ends at the end but i liked that makes me want a sequel

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    Awesome!

    I could not put it down! Read this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    A Real Page Turner

    Loved it. Not so far fetched as it might appear because of recent revelations about all the spying the United States is doing on its own citizens.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Completely enthralled the entire time. I could not put it down.

    Completely enthralled the entire time. I could not put it down. Love all of the characters and the story is so complex and exciting! 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    To Aug 2013

    Its the first book of a series. That means there are many more books. At least three more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3