Customer Reviews for

Don't Waste Your Life

Average Rating 4
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

great book

This book has really convicted me on some wonderful areas in my life that need some improvement...it also serves as a great Biblical pep-talk as Piper explains just what it means to live for Christ... 5 stars

posted by 1179548 on June 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Dusty theology

This is my first Piper-read book. I am new to Reformed theology. I am 56.5 years old. I have wasted most of my life. I struggle with understanding Piperisms. He is a very dry writer to me. I understand Calvinism better than I do Piper. In all honesty, I am convic...
This is my first Piper-read book. I am new to Reformed theology. I am 56.5 years old. I have wasted most of my life. I struggle with understanding Piperisms. He is a very dry writer to me. I understand Calvinism better than I do Piper. In all honesty, I am convicted by some what he writes. I do appreciate some of his wisdom. It is not a high priority in reading. I have read most of it. In putting my life back in a Godly manner, other books have more revelance.

posted by HBC on April 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    Dusty theology

    This is my first Piper-read book. I am new to Reformed theology. I am 56.5 years old. I have wasted most of my life. I struggle with understanding Piperisms. He is a very dry writer to me. I understand Calvinism better than I do Piper. In all honesty, I am convicted by some what he writes. I do appreciate some of his wisdom. It is not a high priority in reading. I have read most of it. In putting my life back in a Godly manner, other books have more revelance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2009

    great book

    This book has really convicted me on some wonderful areas in my life that need some improvement...it also serves as a great Biblical pep-talk as Piper explains just what it means to live for Christ... 5 stars

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2007

    Saved

    Most of the reviews I have read are from collge age students, but I read it about seven years out of college and find it that much more impacting on my life! I have a deeper understanding as to why our society has shaped our thinking for the worst. This book unlocks those chains and give you direction and know how in living a Christian lifestyle with excitement and optimism. I also felt like it gave more insight as to how God loves us.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2005

    Life Changing, Mentally and Spiritually Stimulating

    If you are a bored Christian, feeling like you've heard it all, you need to read this book. It has the capacity to turn you on your head, urging you to rethink the 'God loves me' and 'WIFM' mentality that is taught at most churches today. If you are bored and feeling lost, unfed, this book will tell you why. You've been looking for the wrong thing. You've been focusing your energies in the wrong direction. God does have a plan for you and your life - but it isn't what you think it is.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    God

    He is awesome no he is so Aaaaaaaaawwwwwwwwwwweeeeeeeeeeesssssssoooooooooooooooooommmmmmmeeeeee better then my favorite stuff i want to see god waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhh!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    My heart was just opened by God.

    I felt it! I really dod! It kinda tickled. Its still happening.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2006

    Read it if you want to change your life.

    This book is an excellent guide for the ways to see how God wants you to live. It makes you see that putting Him first is the one and only way to not waste your life. It isn't for the person who is just looking for the next fad way to make yourself feel better. If you really apply this book to your life, it will forever change you. Take it from me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2006

    I learned a lot

    Even though I felt this book was a bit drawn out and I didn't agree with everything Piper says, I think it's a good book that can help a believer strive to do things that will glorify God and please Him in all they do. It can make you look at your life from a different perspective, and you'll be a better person for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2005

    Wonderful Book

    This is a wonderful book and I really enjoyed reading it. As a college student, I found it a great reminder for me to get going with life, and to take 'risks'-not to be so me-focused, but to be willing to sacrifice for Christ.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2003

    Essential reading

    John Piper hits the nail on the head! A must read for every christian actively seeking God.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2003

    The best you can be

    The title pretty much says it all. This is a book about being the best you can be.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2