Customer Reviews for

Don't You Dare Read This, Mrs. Dunphrey

Average Rating 4.5
( 122 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(72)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Anonymous

I am currently reading Don't You Dare Read This, Mrs. Dunphrey, and first assumed the worst: Haddix would try too hard to appeal to young, naive audiences, and in turn compromise showing the bitter sweetness of teen life, sugar-coating the most important part to a reali...
I am currently reading Don't You Dare Read This, Mrs. Dunphrey, and first assumed the worst: Haddix would try too hard to appeal to young, naive audiences, and in turn compromise showing the bitter sweetness of teen life, sugar-coating the most important part to a realistic fiction novel-- the feeling of real. I, along with those who suspected the same, were instead in for a pleasant surprise. Not only is this medley of entries composed by high-schooler Tish a quick read by means of Haddix's sway and style, but the book's premise and formatting isn't too easy for bookaholics or too difficult for non-regular readers. Tish morphs into something of a heroine in her own gloomy and pessimistic way, simply because she writes shamelessly through the scarred eyes shared by many teens today. Haddix's writing is in top form, winning hearts and captivating the empathy of any reader who endures family troubles or feels as though personal issues can be nothing more than secrets. Audiences will laugh and cry until the final word is read. One of Margaret Peterson Haddix's finest is one click of a button away.

posted by 11531981 on March 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

:)

This book was touching. It made me feel thankful for what I have. A must read!!!!!!

posted by 11470749 on January 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 122 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    Awesome

    I loveeeeeeeeeeeeeeee this book it is amazing before i got my nook i rarley read but it took me like three hours to read this and i was awesome yaaaaaaaaaaasaaaaa

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    Ab123

    Great book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    True

    I thought it was very relevant and it does show how us teens feel. It wasnt something that everyone of us goes through, but we all have things that we feel ashamed and untrusting of others about. I recomend this book(:

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    Pretty Good

    I read this book from the library, because i had nothing else to read! To be honest it was a giod book but the language that Haddix was trying to get at like a ghetto teen, was a little over bearing because im not really used to that way of speaking. But, that was really the only problem. Good read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Loved this book!

    Im ten and when i read this book i cryed, i felt the way she felt and couldnt belive what i was reading. This girl was stoung you should serisoly read this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Summarize

    Cud u talk about wat the books about?

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2009

    Mrs. Dunphrey

    i enjoyed this novel a lot. It was exciting, yet emotional at the same time. About a girl overcoming her struggles of raising herself and her brother at such a young age, all alone with no help. Even though its short, it was a great read. I would suggust it to everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2014

    omg best book ever

    I read it on the airplane & tots loved it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    Soooooooooo EXITED

    I am just buying this book. I read 24/7. I could not go a day wihout readig. I do not intend to go another day without readin this book. Ahhhhhhhh i cant wait!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! OMG i forgot to say this, but first le'me take a selfie. Hahahahahahahahaha!!!!! JK bro jk.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    Extra Extra!

    Have we got some news for you!...ok first off there is two books one is at 'dawn' res two the other is at 'faith river' res one. Then we have Eternitypack at 'infinity wolf' res one they would love for you to join! Until next time<br>
    Info out!(me and reporter are a team now so im info!)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    Question

    How many pages are in this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    ???

    Tl

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Great Book

    I read this in a day, it was really good! The storyline was so heartwrenching being a teen myself but i would recommend this!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2012

    look likes a cool book

    look likes a cool book

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Bobbio

    Is this book scary

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Ha

    U were just at my school on friday

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    Love this book!

    First time I read it I cried my eyes out. Since I was in HS I have read it 3 times more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Ehhh!

    I watch a movie called Fat Boy Chronicles and they have the same assignment what with the DO NOT READ thing. I feel like they copied the movie exactly!!!!!!!! ERRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2012

    must read!!!!!

    excellent way of writting, adults should read this also. great insight to the characters in this book. more people suffer from this condition then people realize. it is very real and sad b/c it is the only way to survive for most. Yes this book is a work of fiction but it could be easily a work of non fiction. Very faced paced book, you want to know what is next and that is a good book, where you do not want to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    ?

    Amazing book told thro journal format heart breaking so suspennceful READ THIS BOOK!





    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 122 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7