Customer Reviews for

Don't You Dare Read This, Mrs. Dunphrey

Average Rating 4.5
( 121 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(71)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Anonymous

I am currently reading Don't You Dare Read This, Mrs. Dunphrey, and first assumed the worst: Haddix would try too hard to appeal to young, naive audiences, and in turn compromise showing the bitter sweetness of teen life, sugar-coating the most important part to a reali...
I am currently reading Don't You Dare Read This, Mrs. Dunphrey, and first assumed the worst: Haddix would try too hard to appeal to young, naive audiences, and in turn compromise showing the bitter sweetness of teen life, sugar-coating the most important part to a realistic fiction novel-- the feeling of real. I, along with those who suspected the same, were instead in for a pleasant surprise. Not only is this medley of entries composed by high-schooler Tish a quick read by means of Haddix's sway and style, but the book's premise and formatting isn't too easy for bookaholics or too difficult for non-regular readers. Tish morphs into something of a heroine in her own gloomy and pessimistic way, simply because she writes shamelessly through the scarred eyes shared by many teens today. Haddix's writing is in top form, winning hearts and captivating the empathy of any reader who endures family troubles or feels as though personal issues can be nothing more than secrets. Audiences will laugh and cry until the final word is read. One of Margaret Peterson Haddix's finest is one click of a button away.

posted by 11531981 on March 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

:)

This book was touching. It made me feel thankful for what I have. A must read!!!!!!

posted by 11470749 on January 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Anonymous

    I am currently reading Don't You Dare Read This, Mrs. Dunphrey, and first assumed the worst: Haddix would try too hard to appeal to young, naive audiences, and in turn compromise showing the bitter sweetness of teen life, sugar-coating the most important part to a realistic fiction novel-- the feeling of real. I, along with those who suspected the same, were instead in for a pleasant surprise. Not only is this medley of entries composed by high-schooler Tish a quick read by means of Haddix's sway and style, but the book's premise and formatting isn't too easy for bookaholics or too difficult for non-regular readers. Tish morphs into something of a heroine in her own gloomy and pessimistic way, simply because she writes shamelessly through the scarred eyes shared by many teens today. Haddix's writing is in top form, winning hearts and captivating the empathy of any reader who endures family troubles or feels as though personal issues can be nothing more than secrets. Audiences will laugh and cry until the final word is read. One of Margaret Peterson Haddix's finest is one click of a button away.

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    So good!

    Most authors write in paragraphs, but this was told through letters and it was somethoing different. I really injoyed it.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Journal writing--what a waste! Tish is one of the girls who lik

    Journal writing--what a waste! Tish is one of the girls who likes to site in the back row and not put alot into her schoolwork but it seems that Mrs. Dunphrey wants her to put thoughts on paper. The only good thing about the assignment is that the teacher says it's ok to write "Don't read this" at the beginning of each entry that is private. Tish initially writes about unimportant things but gradually pours out the secrets of her home life, including her parents' yo-yo relationship and the subsequent abandonment of Tish and her younger brother, Matt. As Tish tries to attend school, care for Matt, and keep a job to have money for food, she realizes that opening her journal to Mrs. Dunphrey might be the only way to survive.

    An excellent glimpse into the life of a teen struggling to overcome huge obstacles. As an educator, I have seen the cathartic effects that journalling can have for students. This story has been a winner since publication in 1996 and the updated cover photograph will continue to pull in readers. Thanks to Puget Sound Council for the review copy.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Ah-mazzingg

    This is my favorite book of all time!!! Its different because its written like a journal but its not all girly. its interesting and it opens your eyes to things that could be happening around you and you may nit know. Best book ever everybody should read it!!!!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2010

    Don't You Dare Read This, Mrs. Dunphrey!

    In the book Don't You Dare Read This, Mrs. Dunphrey the main character, Tish, writes in a journal for a class assignment. At the beginning she doesn't like to write in it, but so she realizes it expresses her and it feels good to tell someone whats happening in her life. Tish has a pretty rough life. For starters, shes practically raising her brother. Her mom is still obsessed with her dad who has been gone for two years, and barley pays attention to her kids. But when Tish's dad is finally in town again, her mom does whatever it takes for him to stay. I would recommend this book if you like short and easy books. It pulls you in from the very start and you won't be able to put it down. I'd also recommend this to teenagers who think their life is the worst, because after they read this they might change the way they look at things. Don't You Dare Read This, Mrs. Dunphrey is a book everyone should read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    Out standing book

    So sad but something like that happened to me! But who cares! The book was awsome. And it keeps u hooked on untill u reach the end of the book. I think it deserves a 5 star!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Impacting!

    Wow, I love Margret Peterson Haddix! All of her books are so unique and gripping. " Don't You Dare Read This, Mrs. Dunphrey" is a journal of a high school girl who's father is rough. Her mom is financially unstable and she feels the need to make sure her little brothers does well, and is cared for properly. In this book she shares her journey from start to finally deciding to break away and do what is best for her and her brother.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Anonymous

    I love this book! It's no action packed romance novel like the hunger games, but it's a suspencful story that gets you rooting for the unlikely heroine, tish bonner, 'one of the girls with big hair who sits in the back row' as she describes herself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Awesomeness

    This book is awesome. I love it. Margaret Peterson Haddix is amazing. I dont know how she does it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Read it over and over again

    I love this book. I have read it so many times over and over again. A must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Must read this book

    So i read this awhile back. My teacher had given me the book. I had read it and loved then totally forgot about it. Found it teo years later at my school libary. Read it again amd again loved it. This book is a must read and i had to mae all my friemds read it amd they two loved it!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Wow

    Im speechless

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Anonymous

    Great book,but so sad i luvvvvv the plot

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    Amazing

    This book was so amazing. It really feels like you are in the book! Great read! :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    Awesome

    I loveeeeeeeeeeeeeeee this book it is amazing before i got my nook i rarley read but it took me like three hours to read this and i was awesome yaaaaaaaaaaasaaaaa

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    Ab123

    Great book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Loved this book!

    Im ten and when i read this book i cryed, i felt the way she felt and couldnt belive what i was reading. This girl was stoung you should serisoly read this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    Soooooooooo EXITED

    I am just buying this book. I read 24/7. I could not go a day wihout readig. I do not intend to go another day without readin this book. Ahhhhhhhh i cant wait!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! OMG i forgot to say this, but first le'me take a selfie. Hahahahahahahahaha!!!!! JK bro jk.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    Extra Extra!

    Have we got some news for you!...ok first off there is two books one is at 'dawn' res two the other is at 'faith river' res one. Then we have Eternitypack at 'infinity wolf' res one they would love for you to join! Until next time<br>
    Info out!(me and reporter are a team now so im info!)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    Question

    How many pages are in this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4