Customer Reviews for

Doomsday Book

Average Rating 4.5
( 148 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(95)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 148 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2008

    Good book but...

    *Spoiler* <BR/><BR/>It's an awesome book, well writen and everything but... WHAT THE F***!?!?!? She meets a nice group of people and interacts with them throughout most of the book, and then they slowly, horribly, one after another, DIE! Even the adorable little five year old who you just cant help but love. Considering the premis of the book and when and where it takes place I wouldn't normaly have a problem with this, but the overview said, and I quote "Kivrin -- barely of age herself -- finds she has become an unlikely angel of hope during one of history's darkest hours." "Angel of hope"?? What hope!? They all die!! That is extremely misleading. With a phrase like that on the back I thought she might help them ward off the plague or nurse the few who caught it back to health or something. I thought she might make a differance and actually HELP someone. Instead she tries in vain to help while watching them all die. I wouldnt have read the book if I had known it didnt have a happy or bittersweet or even somewhat sad ending, but a HORRIFICLY SAD ending. If you can overlook that then overall the rest is very good. Recommended.

    6 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2012

    Great Book

    It takes a while to get into this book, but it is a real look into the middle ages, not a fairy tale. I had more of a problem with the present, or futuristic part of the book. While the characters were charming, it seemed more like the seventies instead of 2054. The fact that there was time travel was the only thing that made it seem futuristic. When you finally start to realize what is happening, you can't put it down.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it even though it was depressing

    In this book, set in the not-too-distant future, historians from Oxford University have a time machine which they use to study history firsthand (a number of Willis' other books are set in this same world). A young historian named Kivrin goes back to the Middle Ages and things begin to go wrong. A mysterious plague rages through Oxford while she is trapped in medieval England during a plague.

    The parts of the story taking place in Oxford have some humorous elements thanks to a few ridiculous (but believable) characters and Willis' witty narrative style, but the parts of the story set in Medieval England are pretty unremittingly dark...I loved it even though it was depressing!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Loved It

    I had to read this for a college lit class and it quickly became my favorite book. 15 years and many books later, it is still my all-time favorite book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Great story

    The way Connie Willis blends the story of the "present" and "past" in this book is not only brilliant, it keeps you on edge while also playing with your emotions. Definitely recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Good but slow beginning

    Overall I liked the story, but it took a while for it to gain momentum.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2003

    Wonderful book

    I read Doomsday on the recommendation of my 16-year daughter, who insists that it is the best book she has ever read. I wouldn't go that far, but it is exceptionally good! I think it's classified as Sci-Fi but don't let that scare you off -- it's not the typical Sci-Fi kind of thing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2015

    A Book You Can Not Put Down

    Being a lover of history and a nurse this hits every button for me. I was fascinated from the begining, and my interest never lagged. This gives a vivid picture of life in the middle ages. The surroundings are so different from our highly organized lifes, but people's pettiness and kindnesses are much the same. The mother-in-law is classic. The burocracy found in the future time is equally classic. I deeply enjoyed this book so much that I bought it for my nook, despite having it available for my nook from my local library. That's love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2015

    more from this reviewer

              Historians using time travel as a means of research is

              Historians using time travel as a means of research is a fascinating idea.  In Doomsday Book historians become adventurous heroes and survivors.  History becomes real as Kivrin struggles to survive so far away from home.  I loved this book so much that for two days I talked about nothing else.  I talked about Doomsday Book at work and at home nonstop.  And then, when I finished it, I stopped talking about it because I was sad it was over.  I now also own Blackout and All Clear.  Even if you aren’t a fan of time travel you will love Doomsday Book.  The writing of Connie Willis is wonderfully complex and the story will draw you in and refuse to let you go.  Go read it now.  You won’t regret it.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    I enjoyed the characters BUT...

    The story wasn't all that interesting to me. I kept expecting something big to happen and it never did. I knew what was going to happen long before it did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    READ THIS BOOK ! NOW

    DEserves ten stars! Don't waste time reading reviews when you could be engrossed in this stupendous well crafted well written wonderful story! Sit down,get comfy and get lost in this book, best read I 've had in ages-

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Different type of story

    Interesting story but slow moving with too much extemporaneous information.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    Amazing

    I absolutely loved this story. Couldnt put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Almost lost Good

    Would have given 4 stars but i almost gave up on it in the middle- got a bit tedious but improv

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    The Best I Ever Read.

    Will read this book again and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2013

    One of my absolute favorite books. I have read all of Connie Wil

    One of my absolute favorite books. I have read all of Connie Willis's books, and I do love her sense of humor combined with her detailed sense of place and time. I believe she is the best author to write of time travel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    Willis is a genius

    I have yet to read anything less than a five star novel out of connie willis. Her eriting never goes in the direction I expect and I love that about her.

    This is a home run in every respect. I cannot recommend it highly enough. Read it read it read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book is as much historical fiction as science fiction. The

    This book is as much historical fiction as science fiction. The science
    is made believable and the characters are utterly human and believable.
    It would be easy to believe we were reading the journal of a forebear or
    historical figure. Connie Willis accurately foresaw the not too distant
    capabilities of technology in Kivrin’s corder” (her interpreter and
    recording device). Willis’ attention to linguistics reminds us of what
    most authors of historical fiction ignore – that were we really able to
    encounter people of the distant past we would be unable to understand
    the language even if it is supposedly our own. We are threatened by
    pandemics today (e.g., swine flu, bird flu, flesh eating bacteria, etc.)
    as Connie Willis presents us with a pandemic in London as a time
    traveler, Kivrin, encounters the ravages of the black death in
    fourteenth century England. The characters in the story are similar to
    those we encounter in our real lives. Gilchrist, the temporary Head of
    the History Faculty, may be typical of the arrogant ass that we work for
    that knows just enough to be dangerous. Professor Dunworthy and Dr.
    Mary Ahrens could be our grandparents. The magnitude of the mortality
    rate and whether the black death killed a fourth or a third or half of
    Europe in the fourteenth century is argued today. Connie Willis
    introduces us to a non romantic and non academic portrait of starving
    peasants living in hovels and facing the terror of what they believed to
    be the end of the world amid loved ones and friends disfigured with
    monstrous black buboes and vomiting away their lives blood. The plot
    takes a bit longer to set up than some might like, but once it comes
    together we are drawn into it and not released until the dramatic and
    poignant finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I first read Connie Willis' short story collection 'Firewatch' in the 1980's. I remembered it vividly and when a friend told me she was reading a Connie Willis book a couple of months ago I immediately asked which one. I should not have been surprised (but I was busy in the 80's) that Connie Willis went on to write many more books. Dooms Day Book returns to the Firewatch world and does a wonderful job of telling a compelling story about the 1400 Century as well as the world of the time traveling historians. I was riveted and have purchased the others in the 'series'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Anon

    I loved this book! I have never read a book by this author and I'm glad to have discovered her. I generally dislike books that alternate between one storyline and another, but both storylines in this book kept me engaged. I couldnt put it down and read into the night!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 148 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8