Customer Reviews for

Doomsday Book

Average Rating 4.5
( 147 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(94)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2008

    Good book but...

    *Spoiler* <BR/><BR/>It's an awesome book, well writen and everything but... WHAT THE F***!?!?!? She meets a nice group of people and interacts with them throughout most of the book, and then they slowly, horribly, one after another, DIE! Even the adorable little five year old who you just cant help but love. Considering the premis of the book and when and where it takes place I wouldn't normaly have a problem with this, but the overview said, and I quote "Kivrin -- barely of age herself -- finds she has become an unlikely angel of hope during one of history's darkest hours." "Angel of hope"?? What hope!? They all die!! That is extremely misleading. With a phrase like that on the back I thought she might help them ward off the plague or nurse the few who caught it back to health or something. I thought she might make a differance and actually HELP someone. Instead she tries in vain to help while watching them all die. I wouldnt have read the book if I had known it didnt have a happy or bittersweet or even somewhat sad ending, but a HORRIFICLY SAD ending. If you can overlook that then overall the rest is very good. Recommended.

    6 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2012

    Great Book

    It takes a while to get into this book, but it is a real look into the middle ages, not a fairy tale. I had more of a problem with the present, or futuristic part of the book. While the characters were charming, it seemed more like the seventies instead of 2054. The fact that there was time travel was the only thing that made it seem futuristic. When you finally start to realize what is happening, you can't put it down.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it even though it was depressing

    In this book, set in the not-too-distant future, historians from Oxford University have a time machine which they use to study history firsthand (a number of Willis' other books are set in this same world). A young historian named Kivrin goes back to the Middle Ages and things begin to go wrong. A mysterious plague rages through Oxford while she is trapped in medieval England during a plague.

    The parts of the story taking place in Oxford have some humorous elements thanks to a few ridiculous (but believable) characters and Willis' witty narrative style, but the parts of the story set in Medieval England are pretty unremittingly dark...I loved it even though it was depressing!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Good but slow beginning

    Overall I liked the story, but it took a while for it to gain momentum.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Slow start but worth the read

    Took a good while getting started - plenty of repetitive chapters without the plot seeming to move but do hold on! You will be glad you did, as Kivrin's tale is not easily forgotten.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2011

    Detailed and factual

    This novel was surprisngly very well writen and kept me wanting to read on! Every fact on the 1300s was detailed with a vivid explanation. This book was extremeley enjoyable and I would definitely recommend it to avid readers who enjoy Historical novels. HAPPY READING(:!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    Highly Reommended.

    Well told story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Touching and Lasting Science/Historical Fiction

    Although it took a good two thirds to decide, I've come to the conclusion that I really enjoyed this book.

    "Doomsday Book" follows two parallel stories separated by about 500 years. 50 years in the future, history Professor James Dunworthy finds himself caught amidst an epidemic, trapped in a quarantine and unable to confirm the safety of his most beloved student, Kivrin. Kivrin has been sent into England's medieval past, to 1320, in search of understanding a pre-plague England. It's clear that something went wrong with Kivrin's jump into the past, but it's less than clear what it was or how serious it might be. While Dunworthy balances life in quarantine, Kivrin finds herself in 14th century England lost and very ill.

    Willis carves out parallel paths between the present and past. Characters from both worlds mirror each other and reflect what's different in each era and what remains very much the same. Both paths have religious intolerants, blindly blaming sickness under a pretense of godly rationale. Both tell stories of hope and courage in face of intolerable odds. Both stories tell stories of how religion effects people - both believers and non alike. All of this is strung together by disease running rampant across the modern and historic England.

    The story is thick and rich. Each world is built very steadily and is framed in the minutiae of life's daily details. Through these details, a very character-driven story emerges and this is what ultimately led to my enjoyment of the book. Kivrin's relationship with two young girls who live in the home in which she recovers is the most potent. A bond develops quickly, and Willis writes with a tone and palette and that feels very genuine, both in time period and in the voice of youths. Dunworthy develops a relationship with a friend's great-nephew, Colin. This relationship is paralleled by Kivrin's to the girls, and sewn together by the touching relationship between teacher and student.

    The middle 150 pages or so includes a lot of hand wringing and anxiety. Credit to Willis for writing it such that I couldn't help but feel the worry as well. Willis' purpose in pushing the reader through this development becomes apparent only in the final 150 pages when the story screams to its conclusion. There were times when I felt the story's mysteries were obvious, but in fact they weren't. Only towards the end did I truly understand why Willis spent as many words building relationships, characters and environments as she did.

    The book is as much historical fiction as it is science fiction. It's not a light read, but it's deep and satisfying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic! Highly recommended!

    Society for Creative Anachronism, eat your heart out! I thought the journey into the past was very satisfying and accurate, the near-future experiences were plausible and story-driven. I enjoyed this novel very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2007

    Fast Paced Sci-Fi

    I loved this book! This book is a fast read and keeps you wondering what happens next. The protagonists are likeable and the antagonists annoying as they were intended. If you like the mysteries of time travel and the medevil ages then this is a great book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2006

    FASCINATING!

    I thought this book was simply fascinating. Connie Willis writes about the Black Plague as if she was there. It was amazing and I really enjoyed it. I wish it explained more about what happened after they got back from 1348 to Oxford.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2