Customer Reviews for

The Doomsday Key (Sigma Force Series)

Average Rating 4.5
( 335 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(179)

4 Star

(95)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

DEFINITELY ANOTHER WINNER!

Praises again for James Rollins! Personally, I think he is one of the most underrated authors in fiction today. I have read every book he has written and will continue to do so. He continues to deliver complex plots with well developed characters. The only sad part ...
Praises again for James Rollins! Personally, I think he is one of the most underrated authors in fiction today. I have read every book he has written and will continue to do so. He continues to deliver complex plots with well developed characters. The only sad part is having to wait a year between books. I hope he never resorts to coauthoring works in order to increase productivity like some of the other big names in fiction.

posted by FlaBookworm on July 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Very Disappointing

I've read most of James Rollins novels so when I came across "The Doomsday Key" I was quite excited to read it. Now that I've finally finished (most of his books I couldn't put down, this one took forever) I have to say that this effort is definitely not up to his usual...
I've read most of James Rollins novels so when I came across "The Doomsday Key" I was quite excited to read it. Now that I've finally finished (most of his books I couldn't put down, this one took forever) I have to say that this effort is definitely not up to his usual standards. I don't understand how anyone can give 5 stars to this poorly thought out plot line. Some of the action borders on the ridiculous. I mean when Monk is about to be overrun by overwhelming odds, Mr. Rollins has many dozens of crazed polar bears rush out of the forest attacking the enemy troops and saving the day for the hero's. I mean really....'polar bears'??
The whole effort seems like something Mr. Rollins wrote in collage rather than his the well thought out, heart racing adventures he usually gives us. If he hadn't already made a name for himself, I doubt this work would even get published in its present form.

posted by RichardB on April 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 338 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17
  • Posted July 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    DEFINITELY ANOTHER WINNER!

    Praises again for James Rollins! Personally, I think he is one of the most underrated authors in fiction today. I have read every book he has written and will continue to do so. He continues to deliver complex plots with well developed characters. The only sad part is having to wait a year between books. I hope he never resorts to coauthoring works in order to increase productivity like some of the other big names in fiction.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic! Very well done!

    Indiana Jones meets the Andromeda Strain in this back and forth fast action adventure romp to find both the way to eliminate mankind, and the cure. Twists and turns as expected with Rollins and a fair share of blood and guts as well. those you trust the most will be the ones who betray, as an added touch of spice. The scarry thing about all this, is that most of it is, or can be, fact. Things we may have not given notice to in our day to day lives may ultimately result in our total extinction. The future and past are approaching...
    A corporate cabal out of Oslo is is doing extensive research to fund a project that will not only make the company a lot of money, but also be a key to the world's progression into its next phase as well. What I find most interesting about this premise is that the problems being recited that the Oslo Corp. is trying to fix are very real and will need fixing-but perhaps they are going about it the wrong way...which is what the SIGMA FORCE is there to find out and stop! Tons of great science and information as well as action and plotting in this thriller. Da Vinci Code Fans (I know that is contrived) and those of historical fact based thriller will love this one. There are quite a few of these types of books out now, but James Rollins' name is bigger than most except for Dan Brown-there is a reason for this. I enjoyed this book a lot and loved the plot/premise as well.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another winner--why do I even doubt?

    Yes, I doubted, very briefly. I'm ashamed. It's not that The Doomsday Key doesn't start off in a readable and totally entertaining manner. It really does. Rollins has what he does down to a science by now. He quickly reintroduces the main players (a few of whom we haven't seen in a while: Rachel Verona and Seichan) and establishes their relationships with each other. In addition to the ladies above, all the main Sigma players make their appearance, but as usual not all of them are heavily featured on this adventure. Seichan fans rejoice, she has a major role and experiences tremendous character development in this novel.

    After the characters are reestablished, (again, as you'd expect) the action starts. A motorcycle chase here, a shootout there, a dash of international travel. Now, I love James Rollins with all my heart, but these opening salvos--while very well-written--felt a little... generic. My moment of doubt.

    Happily, it didn't last long. Once Rollins set the main plot in motion, all such thoughts vanished. Seriously, WHAT was I thinking? For me, things really kicked into high gear with the introduction of a new character, Professor Wallace Boyle, whose lecture on peat bogs thrilled me to my soul. I know, peat bogs, who'd a thunk it? But again, that's Rollins' gift. He must look at the world through curiosity-colored glasses; he can find the wonder in the most unlikely of places and subjects. And even more brilliantly, he manages to string together a laundry list of disparate fascinating topics into the plot of a tight, tense thriller. And he does it again and again.

    I know I'm being very, very vague about the plot. It would be a shame to give too much away. The central plot revolves around a plague from the past and a plague of the future: hunger. As characters in the novel expound, there will soon be a tipping point where there are far too many people on this planet to feed. Who gets to choose who lives or who dies? If you had the power and resources to make the hard choices, what would you do "to save the world?" And would you be a hero or a villain?

    It is the exploring of the above questions that entails ancient artifacts, hidden rooms, booby traps, prophecies come true, missing bumble bees, miracle-performing saints, love triangles, the final resting place of Merlin the wizard, polar bears, teddy bears, and the world's healthiest apple. And I didn't even give you a hint of the real shocker!

    A lot of thrillers make the goal, save the world, whatever, and end abruptly. Not so here. There was a nice... cooling down period after the action ended. It's a chance to check in with all the major characters, and a chance for Rollins to leave us with another of his signature cliff-hangers. This one isn't as brutal as some he's written, but those invested in the series will be left with a question to keep them wondering for the coming year.

    A final note: Is it wrong that the author's afterwards have become my very favorite part of these novels? This may be the longest one yet (And for God's sake, DON'T read it before you finish the book!), and I am staggered by how much true stuff was worked into the novel. I mean, pretty much every too-amazing-to-be-true fact was, in fact, true. James Rollins, you rock my world!

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Haven't Read This One.....Yet!

    Truth be told, I haven't read this one yet but I know already that is and will be one heck of an awesome read for any season and any day. I'm only two days away from owning my own copy of this one.
    The whole Sigma Force series is just beyond awesome.
    For those who haven't even picked up or even heard of James Rollins yet, you are missing out on the best thriller writer in America.
    I''ve read Brad Thor and Vince Flynn but they just don't have that special kind of touch that James Rollins has. Rollins has that cinematic touch that makes iconic and legendary Hollywood heroes Indiana Jones and James Bond sparkle with that golden age superiority and Rollins' Sigma Force hero, Gray Pierce, is those two wrapped into one.
    Put away the dvd player and the movies, go to the bookstore and grab all the James Rollins books you can bundle up with.
    He's worth the time and money.....get you a bookmark too because that will be your pause button.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Another great Sigma suspense thriller.

    I'm not sure why I waited so long to read this book. Normally when a new Rollins is released I'm at the store the same day. Perhaps it was because I was afraid the goodness couldn't last forever, but I should have had better faith in Mr. Rollins. The Doomsday Key was fabulous. It contains all the necessary ingredients for a successful smörgåsbord of action-adventure-thriller-suspense entertainment. There are certain criteria you need for an endeavor like this: the good guys, the bad guys, comedic relief (oh, Kowalski), conspiracy rooted in historical truth (popes and prophecies), gunfights and explosions, caves, caves that cave in, a deadly disease, a finger in a leather bag with ancient symbols burned on the outside, a good dosing of betrayal, some stone circles and smelly peat bogs, oh and a few cliffhangers thrown in for good measure. It's all here!

    This time around, Sigma is back to work with a shadowy double agent operative named Seichan who also works with the Guild (see: bad guys). We still don't know if Seichan is true to us (and by us I mean Sigma, of course) or if she's just out for her own benefit. Either way, if Commander Gray Pierce doesn't work with her, the whole world could be taken over by a nasty spore; a fungus that grows mushrooms inside of you.

    Yeah, gross.

    Doomsday is the sixth Sigma novel, and it could be my favorite. Sometimes after the first few books in a series an author teeters out, the books become formulaic and predictable, but Doomsday is none of these. This one is more mature than its predecessors; I even got teary at one point toward the end. Not to mention there was so much information related to true historical facts that my head was spinning, and I came out the other side smarter for it. Google Saint Malachy and his prophecies, or the legend of the Black Madonna, or colony collapse disorder, and you'll see what I mean; but you won't understand how they all go together until you read this book. It really makes you think. if the facts and details used to make a plot are real, what if Rollins' theories as put down in fiction are actually true? And that, that right there, is why I love his books. I suggest you run your person out to the closest book store and start with Sandstorm (Sigma prequel) and work your way up from there.

    5 stars. His next book is not Sigma, but I love his individual adventures too, so I can't wait for the Altar of Eden on December 29.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun summer read with fascinating facts!

    I have come to love James Rollins reads for great action adventure tied into fascinating historical and archeological themes. His books have taken over a place that used to be reserved for Cussler's Dirk Pitt adventures. Doomsday Key started out kind of weak for me, the action is there but it all felt a bit too formulaic. I could almost read Rollins mind as he was writing "Ok, I need a car chase here and then a shoot out followed by...." Thankfully this feeling did not last as I got deeper into the story and the surrounding mystery. This time out the ancient Druids and the mystery of Stonehenge play a part in the plot, and in typical Rollins fashion more true unusual facts and pieces of ancient mysteries are woven into his fictional mystery. I agree with another reviewer, one of my favorite parts of a Rollins Book is reading the after-words and learning what the truth really is! This is another solid adventure read From Rollins and his fans should be more than satisfied.

    If you're a fan of action adventure steeped in ancient mystery do try "A Tourist In The Yucatan!" A gritty thriller wrapped in the mystery of the ancient Maya!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    In my opinion,

    James Rollins 1-5 was better.

    I perfer true stories.

    2 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    DPotvin Good but slow at times

    This was a good book. It was a bit slow in the begining i like to read book series in order and ehen i purchased it, based on bn publication date, i thought it was the firrst. Turns out it is the second. Dont go by bn publication dates, use the authors website. It was fustrating because it referred to a past story line. That bding said, the plot picked up fast after about 60 pages and i could not put it down.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    Doomsday Key

    This is an awesome book, kept me on the edge of my seat!

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great group of characters!Sigma!

    I can't get enough of Sigma....Can't wiat for the next one!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Another great read......

    ...by a great author. Mr Rollins has served up another fantastic novel. His writing style captures you and makes you feel as though you are part of the action. His blend of action, science, history and strong characters make his books very difficult to put down. I lose a lot of sleep once I start reading his books and this one in particular kept me awake for hours! I can only hope that Mr. Rollins will continue writing his Sigma series for a very long time. Thank you for allowing me to escape into your world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2009

    OK - It's the typical Rollins formula, but it is still a fun read

    I admit it. I like my serious literature, but for a good popcorn eating summertime read, James Rollins is fun. In this story he mixes peat bog perserved corpses, the disappearance of bees, the dark madona, celtic mythology, genetically modified crops, Merlin, the Domesday Book, and numerous other historical, mythological, and scientific subject matter to create a fast paced action adventure story. Rollins' Sigma Force action characters are back with lots of explosions, chase scenes, and shoot outs to keep the world safe from catastrophe until the next book. Rollins is one of the best writers of this genre and he does a good job of creatively blending a host of subject matter to build an entertaining story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Another awesome Sigma series adventure

    James Rollins writes the most fantastic and imaginative stories. The basis for his works are most thoroughly studied and just enough outside the mainstream to keep you coming back for more. I don't even read what the dust jacket says anymore. I just simply buy his books knowing that I'll be entertained from beginning to end. The Doomsday Key has great historical references, extremely interesting religious figures, and characters that are at the top of their game. Never pass up a chance to buy his books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    riveting and fast paced

    The style and pacing of Rollin's writing provides a book that captures the readers imaginition and draws them in. It is not hard to get lost in this book and before you know it half done, causing the reader to want to slow down and make it last longer. Having read the previous 5 sigma force books this one continues to carry on the high entertainment value of the previous books. A great book for traveling and or the beach.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The latest Sigma Force thriller is action-packed

    The deadly attack of an agriculture site in Africa makes no sense to Sigma Force director Painter Crowe. He and others high up want to know why even more than who. Part of the reason most of the political establishment is involved is because one of the dead at the experiential station was a son of a senator.-----------

    He sends his top unit to Africa. Commander Grayson Pierce along with Monk Kokkalis and Joe Kowalsk are expected to uncover the truth as the attack was way beyond even that of a terrorist cell as the whole area was flattened even after everyone inside was dead. The team quickly learns about something called the Doomsday Key removed from Egypt ages ago and brought to England. This substance allegedly contains a potent unheard of medicine, but in the wrong hands for instance their rivals the Guild could mean the beginning of the end for mankind.----------

    The latest Sigma Force thriller (see THE JUDAS STRAIN, MAP OF BONES and THE LAST ORACLE) is action-packed as Pierce and his teammates run all over Europe trying to prevent further catastrophes while their potent rivals want to use THE DOOMSDAY KEY for their gain. The story line starts off at the speed of light and never decelerates as James Rollins hooks his audience with a wonderful thriller that is based on the concept of how the past impacts the present including the science of today that in turn becomes part of the past impacting the today's of the future. Complex yet filled with fun, the Sigma Force saga is at its best with this winner.-----------

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2014

    STARTS TOO SLOWLY

    Maybe I just wasn't in the mood for it, but this book didn't grab my attention from the start so I gave up on it. Too many other great books out there that hold my attention all the way from start to finish. Sorry Mr. Rollins.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2014

    Outstanding

    Excellent page turner. Blended history, science, travel locations, and intrigue with political overtones. I read another book from this author. Well worth reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2014

    Yysgyyu

    Iyhjyugj

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2014

    Just OK.

    OK read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Great read. Enjoyed the combination of science, history, intrtna

    Great read. Enjoyed the combination of science, history, intrtnational locations, and Sigma Force action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 338 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17