Customer Reviews for

The Doomsday Vault: A Novel of the Clockwork Empire

Average Rating 4
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Steampunk and Airships and Zombies, oh my!

This book encompasses todays most popular sci-fi subjects into one fantastic adventure. It's part H.G. Wells, part Jane Austen and part Max Brooks. A great, but devourable read I recommend this to anyone who has a soft spot for science or historical fiction.

posted by Aeven_Dahlia on November 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Book was misprinted

Got to page 360 in the climactic moments and the rest of the book was some other book starting on page 331, so I have no idea how the book ended. Bad Quality control in the print shop. Check it before you buy it.

posted by Mogrianne on December 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    Steampunk and Airships and Zombies, oh my!

    This book encompasses todays most popular sci-fi subjects into one fantastic adventure. It's part H.G. Wells, part Jane Austen and part Max Brooks. A great, but devourable read I recommend this to anyone who has a soft spot for science or historical fiction.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    Steampunk fun

    This is a fun read, but not for the faint of heart. The cover might lead some to believe this book belongs on a romance shelf, but it does not. This is thoroughly scifi in the vein of Jules Verne, with a developing romance as the background for the protagonist's relationship. There is violence... My only complaint is that he leaves one of the main characters with a serious problem that won't be dealt with until the next book comes out in May 2012. Yes, I WILL be getting it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2011

    This is the Steampunk I've been looking for!

    The Doomsday Vault is a rollicking good adventure that takes place in Harper's very own Steampunk universe, the first novel of The Clockwork Empire trilogy. I've felt for some time that Steampunk has enormous untapped potential, and this is the first novel I've come across that I feel truly makes this emerging genre shine. This adventure story has it all--airship battles, Victorian political intrigue, secret police, conspiracy, clockwork automatons of all sorts, mad scientists, amazing Steampunk retro-futuristic gadgets, a surprisingly good romance, and, lest I forget, zombies! While I personally felt the first chapter was the lowest point of the whole book, the novel really takes off at chapter two and just keeps getting better. Both of the main characters are very likable and well-realized, and you really get into their personal motivations and want them to succeed. There are some fantastic twists towards the end of the book that really set up well for the sequel, The Impossible Cube, that's coming out in May 2012. I've not written an online book review before, but I don't see this great novel getting the attention I feel it deserves and I want to spread the good word so other folks can have the chance to enjoy it as much as I did. Highly recommended!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2011

    If you like steampunk, check this out

    Bought this the week it came out, and thoroughly enjoyed it. Interesting characters, good pacing, and definitely set up for a sequel. This was my first venture into steampunk, and I must admit, I'm coming back for more. Highly recommended!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2011

    Book was misprinted

    Got to page 360 in the climactic moments and the rest of the book was some other book starting on page 331, so I have no idea how the book ended. Bad Quality control in the print shop. Check it before you buy it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    Blue lightning

    Hoof in da face! /).0)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    Silver Star to Beats

    Can I be in your new fan fic?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    The Vault part:8

    I slipped into the bank easily the door being unlocked by the villians. i quietly moved to a dark corner of the bank where i could see blue and his hacking pony at work blue was currently attempting to contact his other teams who were not reapond *i wonder why*i thought sarcastically. When blue realized something was going on he started ordering his hacker to go faster. I watched the two quarrel about how fast the vault was being opened and laughed in my head *haha look at them they dont even notice me*. Blue shoved the hacking pony out of the way and started working alot faster than his hacker. I decided nows the time to act i tiphoofed my way behind the hacking pony and grabbed and muffled him then drug him to the other side of the bank and knocked him out, blue didnt notice his disapearance until he asked for a wrench he then fearfully finished breaking iny
    To the vault and began hastily diamonds into a duffle bag. I decide to call police and local authorities .when the s.w.a.t. team arived the bust the door one of the swat team members walked up to blue who ended up with a hoof in his face*THE END HOPE YOU LIKED IT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    Renezmae

    K

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    Ginger

    "Walks in" hey guys..........uh.......i feel horrible.....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    Skyler

    *Panther form. She looks at her next meal. The new girl. Dawson her name is?*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    Gabriel

    "You Wouldnt Want The Seven To Be Upon You As Well As The Plagues Would You?" He Asked Swiftly Parrying Her Blow With His Sceptor. He Avoids The Knives Barely And Blast The Signal For The Plague of Boils. He Lets Two Handsfuls f Soot Gall Below Then Fly In The Wind. "Return The Sythe Or The Storm Is Next." Zooms Away.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    Stella

    No one is on during the day....we need to advertise (i cant get on at night)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    Misaki

    ...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    Skirata

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Kai to laurent zai

    Snickers r u serious

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2