Customer Reviews for

Doomwyte (Redwall Series #20)

Average Rating 4.5
( 83 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2008

    GO REDWALL!

    I love this series! This looks like it's going to be the best one!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the Best Thus Far

    Doomwyte, though an excellently written book, had its ups and downs for me. My first thought while reading this was that it must be one of the best Redwall books I've read simply because this one didn't have a boring beginning, like most of the other ones have. It introduced all the characters and what was happening quickly and got to the real drama and excitement of the story without much delay, which I can say for very few of the other Redwall books. I loved the way that everything tied in together, like they do for all of Brian Jacques's books, and how just as soon as one character was rescued from captivity another one got caught- it kept the story going and made the book almost impossible to put down. I liked the diversity of the characters, from unlearned but still clever Umfry to grouchy Brother Torilis to sweet little Perrit. However, I was disappointed when there was very little hand to hand combat overall, and worse none at the Abbey. I always looked forward to that in the books, and this one was lacking in battle scenes. Even in the first battle scene, the focus was hardly on the fighting. I was also disappointed at the lack of interaction between the villian and his 'minions', shall we say. In other books the focus was on the villian just as much as the good guys, which I loved to have the insight of what was happening on the dark side, but there was very little of that in Doomwyte. However, despite its few low points, this was still an excellent book and I strongly encourage people to pick up a book from this series and read it. In all honesty, it doesn't really matter where you start- chronological order is very different than publishing order in this series! But really, though the series has its ups and downs, the ups are more frequent and stronger, and they are overall an excellent series that I would recommend to anyone.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    This is the best of the series!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! =) =) =) =) =) =) =) =) =0 =0 =0 =0 =0 =0 =0 =0 =0 =0 =0 =0 =0 =0 =0 =0 =0 =0 =0 =0 =0 =0 =0 =0

    It is the best it will make you go =0 =0 =0 =0 =0 =0 =0! There is no other series like this!!!!!!!! As will I will like to add this is the best of this series!! =) =) =) You will love it because I did it is very interesting and Brian Jacques rocks hopefully he keeps writing the series. So you will love it and Fair well good bye. ;)

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2008

    An Upcoming Excitement

    It really isn't fair to rate a book before it's been released, but if this book is anything like it's 19 predecessors, it's going to be a tremendously entertaining read for EVERYONE.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    To the person 3 below me

    Go to the third page, it tells you the book from first to last. I would like to add that this is a great series and I cant wait to read this book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Highly recommended.

    Brian Jacques does it again. Another wonderful fantasy book featuring the past and present characters of Redwall Abbey and Mossflower Woods.
    Good characters and bad characters, and all the good feasts. I really enjoy the Abbey hare in this one. A very unique character. Good reading, for cold days and staying indoors. Plus, good always triumphs, not easily, but it does. I have every book in the Redwall series and I have read them over and over. I think that anyone who enjoys a nice, entertaining and often very funny story would enjoys this book. Brian Jacques has a different and unique way of looking at things and is not only funny, but often true. We laugh most often at ourselves.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Fascinating :)

    I love how BJ comes up with all these clever riddles to stump us, and the amount of detail he puts in his descriptions. Also, SPRINGO RULES!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    .w.

    Which one in the redwall series is the 3rd book? I know redwall is the first and then mattimeo.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2011

    DOOMYTE

    This book is good for a reader with a need for adventure,battle with vicious vermin,and tasty vittles!Enjoy!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Another entry in the Redwall series.

    Not one of the most exciting books in the Redwall series, but like almost all of the series, well-written and interesting. It is a story from the earlier days of Redwall Abbey, and explains some of the landmarks that are in later stories. I have not yet met a Redwall book I didn't like and end up buying.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    Best of Mr. Jacques

    Have read all of the Redwall series and Doomwyte is an excellent example and a very involving story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    Fantastic!

    As with all of the books in this series it was very good and continued with the story line. As soon as I got home I started reading this book and completed it within a couple of days. Can't wait for the next one!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2009

    Brian Jacques never fails to draw you in.

    I liked this book a lot. It was very interesting. A lot of plot twists.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Doomwyte, by Brian Jacques

    Doomwyte, by Brian Jacques is the 20th book in his phenomenal Redwall Saga. It is about the mysterious disappearing of travelers lost in the woods after following mystic floating lights. These are the servants of the Doomwyte idol, whose eyes were stolen from the wytes many seasons ago. At Redwall Abbey, young Bisky the mouse and his friends discover a riddle that supposedly leads to the Doomwyte jewels. Korvus Skurr, tyrant to the wytes, is determined to take over Redwall and recover his missing eyes. Will Bisky and company find the eyes and defeat Korvus Skurr? I recommend this book and others from the Redwall saga for all readers who enjoy adventure, suspense, and an overall origional book from bestselling author Brian Jacques

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    Best Redwall Book so far!

    Doomwyte is the best book so far in the Redwall Series.<BR/>It is thrilling and will keep you on the edge of your seat while reading it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Plucked Some Characters, still very good.

    After 20 books, you've got to reuse some ideas, such as 'The Nameless Mousebabe' that first appeared in 'The Bellmaker' (Well, it's not the same one now, duh.), and a Guosim leader being killed by a rat vermin of some type and having his son take charge (Seen in Eulalia!, the book right before this one)<BR/>But it is still good, along with the fact the Gonfleins acted like savages--stealing is one thing, but Gonff wouldn't have been grubby!--and how the 'budding romance' is wonderfully not overdone. <BR/>You couldn't even feel too intrested in Korvus Skurr, being more intrested in Baliss.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    Epicness

    :0...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2014

    Omg!

    Continue!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    Eulaliaaaaaaaaaaaa

    Chargeeeeeeeee

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2013

    A good break

    I love this book, it offers a different change of pace from the usuall vermin want abbey for something or other, battle with the redwallers, have the long patrol and/or the guosim save the day, with maybe a badger thrown into the lot. Not to say I did not enjoy the other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5