Customer Reviews for

The Door to December

Average Rating 4.5
( 95 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(57)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Koontz is a Master at Suspense and the Macabre

I read this book sereral years ago. I found this book to be one of his better ones. I started reading Dean Koontz books about 20 years ago with the book" Watchers" but the best one was "Lightning" Mr. Koontz deifinately has a flair for the weird. I highly recomend Koont...
I read this book sereral years ago. I found this book to be one of his better ones. I started reading Dean Koontz books about 20 years ago with the book" Watchers" but the best one was "Lightning" Mr. Koontz deifinately has a flair for the weird. I highly recomend Koontz.

posted by DLBG on July 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

read a lot of better Koontz books...

Overall the beginning and ending were good, but the middle part just dragged on. I couldn't get through the parts where Mondale and Haldane are constantly being sarcastic to one another. It really ruined the book for me and I even had to skip through a few pages because...
Overall the beginning and ending were good, but the middle part just dragged on. I couldn't get through the parts where Mondale and Haldane are constantly being sarcastic to one another. It really ruined the book for me and I even had to skip through a few pages because I had enough of their bickering. Haldane didn't have a likeable personality and Laura was so boring. I forced myself to finish the book, but was pleasently surprised at the ending. I really wanted to read more on Melanie's rehabilitation though.

posted by Anonymous on November 14, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted July 25, 2011

    Koontz is a Master at Suspense and the Macabre

    I read this book sereral years ago. I found this book to be one of his better ones. I started reading Dean Koontz books about 20 years ago with the book" Watchers" but the best one was "Lightning" Mr. Koontz deifinately has a flair for the weird. I highly recomend Koontz.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Exilaratng!

    Ive been looking for a new interesting book for quite sometime and Ive read a lot so it takes something pretty intese to get me interested. This book drew me in right away, I was hooked by the first chapter and finished it in a couple days. I hated putting it down. I sort of figured out what "it" was halfway through but it was still a thoroughly enjoyable book. The characters were strong and relatable and the plot kept the pages turning. My ony complate was that *spoiler alert!* I wish Koontz would've ended the book with a happily ever after kiss between the two main characters. All in all 4.5 stars (harry potter is the only book i give 5 stars too ;)) I highly recommend it!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2007

    premier voice performance

    Obie award winner George Guidall is a premier voice performer. Although active on Broadway, in films and on television, he still has found time to narrate some 800 unabridged novels. He's versatile - tackling comedy, drama, and dark thrillers, such as The Door to December. Suspense novels tend to produce a maximum number of goose bumps when a child is involved, and that is certainly the case with this fiendish tale from Dean Koontz. Melanie is just three-years-old when she's abducted by her father and taken to a laboratory where she is forced to participate in ghastly experimentation. Her mother, a psychiatrist, is distraught but does not see her daughter again until six years later when now nine-year-old Melanie is found on the streets of L.A. It's obvious that something diabolical has happened to the girl. Yet whatever dire damage done to her is not enough as soon those involved in the experimentation are killed and it seems that the final one to lose her life will be Melanie. Who is committing the murders and why? This is Dean Koontz at his best abetted by the talented George Guidall - don't miss it! - Gail Cooke

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2005

    read a lot of better Koontz books...

    Overall the beginning and ending were good, but the middle part just dragged on. I couldn't get through the parts where Mondale and Haldane are constantly being sarcastic to one another. It really ruined the book for me and I even had to skip through a few pages because I had enough of their bickering. Haldane didn't have a likeable personality and Laura was so boring. I forced myself to finish the book, but was pleasently surprised at the ending. I really wanted to read more on Melanie's rehabilitation though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2005

    I was going to give it 3 stars, but gave it an extra because of a great endding.

    This isn't one of Dean Koontz's best, but still ok. There aren't very many scary parts in it. There are a few and they are good. The Door to December isn't one of those books that you just want to read for the whole day, it's more like the kind of book that you would take to school or work if you had any spare time. It had a great ending though, so that's why I gave it the extra star. It could of been better too. But oh well. If you are a first time read of Dean Koontz's books, don't read this one first. Ya'll would be happier reading Watchers as your first Dean Koontz book. Not this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    Love the book gonna read another

    Dean Koontz is the best. He is the Michaelangelo of the writing world!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    A real page turner

    Held my interest start to finish

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2013

    Not his best!

    I am a huge Dean Koontz fan, but this was not one of his best efforts. It was still a fun read, but unlike other Koontz books, I figured out the ending halfway through the book. A first for one of his books for me. He's still a great writer and his books are page turners no matter what, but there are better choices among his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    Never disappointed

    Great, as always!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    What would be good ages to read this book?

    What would be good ages to read this book?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Every page was filled with horror and suspense. Kept me up all n

    Every page was filled with horror and suspense. Kept me up all night.. Thanks Mr. Koontz..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Fine

    Ya its ook

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Wow

    You blow my mind again

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    Scourge OMFG

    I love it!!!! Try writing seven pages!!! Anyways i love it when thy ge turned into cats thats pretty cool. Read my story at hall way

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    Awesome!

    LOVE Dean Koontz, and couldn't put this one down! It gripped me from the first page!! Highly reccomend! Think this one should be made into a movie.......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    MUST READ!!!

    This is exactly the kind of book that always has me coming back for more! From the time you begin reading, you are constantly wondering whats next and never stop. Highly recommend this book to anybody looking for a fast-paced book with that Dean Koontz feel that so many people love. One of his best books, period.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    Very good

    Love Koontz

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    INCREDIBLE

    Wow!!! All i can say.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Four Stars

    I finished this on 12/25. I started it at the beginning for December thinking it was a Christmas book. It had nothing to do with the holidays. It was a very good book, but I don't want to give anything away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5