BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Dope Sick

Average Rating 4.5
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 22, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by LadyJay for TeensReadToo.com

    Lil J is running away from his problems. His alcoholic mother can't seem to get straight, he can't find a decent job, and now the cops are breathing down his neck. A drug deal has gone sour, and Lil J finds himself holed up in an abandoned crack house, wounded and afraid. <BR/><BR/>He meets Kelly, a young man who asks a lot of questions and wields a television remote control. The entire situation doesn't make sense to Lil J, and things really start getting crazy when Kelly begins to play segments of Lil J's life on the TV screen. <BR/><BR/>"If you could do it all over again, and change something, what would it be?," Kelly asks Lil J. <BR/><BR/>Lil J sifts through his memories, attempting to pinpoint the moment in his life that changed him forever. Many secrets are unearthed and Lil J comes to the realization that it wasn't just one thing; it was all the little things that added up and multiplied into this mess he calls his life. <BR/><BR/>Lil J is searching for redemption, but can he find it in time - and does he even deserve it? <BR/><BR/>Walter Dean Myers is a masterful storyteller who takes ideas about urban life and morphs them into something that is truly original and unexpected. His ability to use surrealism in a very real, life-altering situation shows that you can make a point without shoving it in your face. <BR/><BR/>DOPE SICK is an excellent piece of writing that will keep you questioning until the end.......and after.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    I love this book

    This has became my new favorite book, i love walter dean myers

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    recommended

    Starting ¿Dope Sick¿ by Walter Dean Myers I did not think I was going to finish the book. I am not a big fan of reading. I was in my Modern Fiction class and we had to read a book of our choice. My friend recommended it to me.
    The book starts off in Harlem about a teen name Lil J. The book talks about his struggle and the things he has going on in his life. The book did a good job getting the readers attention. Lil J is caught up making bad decisions involving a dope deal. The read is not to fast or to difficult pretty easy to understand what¿s going on. The book was well written. It was a mixture of science fiction and realistic fiction. Lil j has to make a lot of big decision throughout the book. The book shows you can make one bad choice or do one bad thing and ruin your whole life.
    Overall I feel the book was very, it could have had a better ending. It seems like the book just ended with no closure. I would give the book a four out of five rating just because the ending could have been better. I do not regret reading the book I am actually kind of glad I read it. I would recommend it to other readers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    Check this out!!

    Life is hard and even though you are against all odds, sometimes, giving up always makes things worse. Lil J saw everyone around him, those who lived near him, and looked like him, end up being nothing. His mom's depression and painful illness led his grades downwards but through it all he still had hope. But failing school soon let that hope leave him and he ran away from his problems by using drugs, because that was what everyone expected of him. Giving up always makes things worse. Even when life is so unbearable that you don't have a choice. Eventually, Lil J got in with the wrong crowd and was blamed for a crime he didn't commit. His friend, Kelly, was a halucination, who showed him courage and traded places with Lil J. Kelly was murdered by the cops in a bluntly unrealistic ending. Lil J got a second chance and made things right, but in real life you don't always get a second chance. This book helped me realize what an unbearably painful life some underprivileged kids have to face daily. It's so unreal and made me thankful for all I have. Colleen Y.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2010

    One of my favorite books!

    Dope Sick by Walter Dean Myers tells the story of a boy, Lil J., who gets into some trouble after a deal goes completely wrong. Things start taking a twist when Lil J. starts stealing pain pills from his mom too keep him relaxed but he notices that they are running short on cash but his friend, Rico, has an idea on how to get some. It is supposed to be an easy deal but turns out the buyer is an undercover cop. With a gunshot wound to Lil J's arm, Rico in jail, and a police officer clinging to life, Lil J. is starting to get dope sick. Lil J. would give anything to change what had just happened, and when he runs into an abandoned house, his wish might actually come true.

    This book was easy to read and kept me guessing every chapter I read. The characters were very interesting and a little unusual at the same time. You never know what idea Lil J. will come up with to try and fix the huge mistake he just made. The book has twists and turns which I like because it makes the book more interesting and fun to read. I would recommend this book for young teens who are looking for a book that will keep you on the edge.



    Chandler Mae Bischoff

    I am a student at Hewitt Trussville High School in Alabama.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    One of my favorites!!!!

    I love Walter Dean Myers so much!!!He is the only author that gets into real depth with a situation,very much in the hood.Even though the tilte is misunderstood by the people that i used to hang out with,i thought that the book was overall VERY worth reading.I almost cried at the end when the police killed the boy(forgot his name)at the end of the book because lil J was scared to go out there.The police thought that the boy had a weapon in his hand when it was really a remote to a TV.I felt that the dude did a huge favor for lil J and he should be very grateful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Good book but......

    The guy name kenny is really creepy it dont make no sence to be that creepy no wonder he doesnt have friends he just sit in front of the tv and showing people there future and ther past but all and all a really good book.!!!!!!!!
    This was post by kiarah lemon love u all !!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    Dope Sick Addict!

    Such a great book! I couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    Devotion143

    I don't know much about this author, but I do know that it sounds out to be a good book, but I must say that it isn't all that!.......then I will post again

    Devotion143

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    Hiddenkit

    ( me too gtg c ya tmorw )

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Thistlefang

    "Ooooh stop pouting!" He said padding in sitting next to darkness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    BlackSoul

    Dont get how thats funny but whatever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    &true

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    Darkness

    True. (Goto page four res four)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Darkness's Den

    Here

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Jake

    Ay ay!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Meghan

    Lol hey hey hey!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Chatroom here?

    Is there?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    Real good

    Should be a movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Kirby

    (>•_•)> *********** <(_•)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3