Customer Reviews for

Doppelgangster (Esther Diamond Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    WISH ALL BOOKS WERE THIS GOOD

    BEST PART OF THE BOOK:
    Esther has forgotten her date w/Lopez & announces he's going to training for two weeks. Banter ensues:
    "So you were planning to wine and dine me tonight, get me into bed, and then abandon me for two weeks?"
    "That was the plan," he admitted.
    "I'm pretty sure that makes you a cad" I told him.
    He grinned. "I'm coming back. I just wante...d to mark my territory before I go."
    "Mark your territory?"
    "A woman who could forget I was coming over tonight might forget me completely in two weeks...unless I make a strong enough impression."

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Cute series.

    unfortunately, the first book in the series is out of print. But the second one reads well without reading the first one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great follow up book

    I read her first book and loved it. The characters were believable - like who wants to be involved with fighting evil and trying to earn a living at the same time?

    This second book was just as good. A person needs to work to pay bills and live. And you take what you can get!

    This was well worth the money, an enjoyable read, no holier than thou pretensions. This is a welcome change from the cliched plot where the whole world revolves around the characters. This is where the characters does the necessary but aren't really thrilled about it. Wonderful, wonderful and a great way to escape one's own problems. Thank you Laura for realistic reactions to unreal situations!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The sequel to Disappearing Nightly is an amusing urban fantasy

    New York actress Esther Diamond waits for her next gig, but brings in needed cash while resting between roles as a singing waitress at Bella Stella because the patrons when they are not killed are mobsters who everyone knows are the best tippers. As she shares Ben and Jerry with NYPD Irish-Cuban police detective Connor Lopez, the deceased gangsters suddenly return to life.

    Connor leads the investigations into the dead firing guns with real ammo. At the same Eastern Standard Time, Esther and her unwise in the way of street magic but a guru with magic-Magic, Max the Magician and his crime fighting companion Nelli the saliva canine queen at her side, also makes inquiries on a slightly different plane than the cops as a gang war from beyond threaten the streets of Manhattan.

    The sequel to Disappearing Nightly is an amusing urban fantasy starring a wonderful heroine surrounded by a horde of eccentrics, one straight cop, and one interfering matchmaking mom. The jocular story line is filled with a fast-paced frenzy from the first magical mugging until the last as Esther proves once again to be a reader's best friend with her misadventures in Manhattan mystical mayhem.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2010

    Paranormal Mystery

    In Dopplegangster, Esther Diamond and friends are at it again. Her Off -Broadway show has closed and she is back working as a singing waitress at a restaurant where members of the mob hang out. Detective Lopez, her want to be boy friend, is afraid something bad will happen to her there and wants her to find another job. He is proven right when Charlie Chiccante is murdered right after telling Ester that he has just seen his doppio. A doppio is a perfect duplicate of a person and a sign of immediate death. When other doppelgangers start to show up Esther goes to her old friend Max for help and the fun begins.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2010

    I have never read this authur. Wanted something differant to read. What a wonderful read.

    Laura Resnick hooked me from the very begining with this book. It was enough differant from what I usually read that i truelly enjoyed it.
    I will now have to go and read the first one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2