Customer Reviews for

Dorothy Must Die (Dorothy Must Die Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 73 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Thank you to the publisher for this ARC! This book is a wickedly

Thank you to the publisher for this ARC!
This book is a wickedly good twist on a classic tale we all love and thought we knew! When I began reading Dorothy Must Die I was hooked from page 1! The story grabbed me and quickly began unfolding. Having seen the original movi...
Thank you to the publisher for this ARC!
This book is a wickedly good twist on a classic tale we all love and thought we knew! When I began reading Dorothy Must Die I was hooked from page 1! The story grabbed me and quickly began unfolding. Having seen the original movie numerous times I was very familiar with the story. It was intriguing to watch this wicked twist on the classic tale unfold. 
The premise here is that a young lady, Amy Gumm, from Kansas is transported to Oz where everything we thought we knew about Oz is backwards. What is good is bad and what is bad is good. According to the history of Oz, Dorothy returned years later and is now wreaking havoc on the land. Amy Gumm is enlisted by the Revolutionary Order of the Wicked to help take down Dorothy and bring peace to their land once again. It is interesting to see the story unfold as Amy Gumm as not your average hero. She is the odd ball out in school, is bullied, and picked on while having a mother who cares more about alcohol than her own daughter anymore. I love seeing her character develop throughout the story. There are numerous parts where you can definitely relate to her and are rooting for her to succeed. 
I love the author's writing style as well. It is simply fantastic! Each scene is described in great as Danielle Paige carefully weaves the intricacy of the scene into the novel without bogging down the reader with unneeded wordiness. The characters are described in much the same way allowing the reader to form a fantasy picture in their mind and play out the story like a movie. I loved how the characters were introduced as well. It was very much like you, the reader, were meeting them yourself. As we were introduced to some of the characters suspense abounded. Dorothy definitely took me by surprise as Paige describes her as a dark character that you have to read about to believe. 
Page after page in this novel took me by surprise as I simultaneously thought about the classic tale. I loved how the story unfolded and the suspense that kept coming with each chapter. The ending arrived and it left me screaming for book 2! The last 20 pages were so fast paced I had no idea what was going on and then..boom! the story made an abrupt turn. Absolutely stellar! Danielle Paige created a wickedly good twist on tale we all know and love. Can't wait to read more by her! Keep them coming! 4/5 stars.  

posted by CNUcrazy09 on April 4, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

This book had  a lot of potential, until the author got greedy.

This book had  a lot of potential, until the author got greedy.  Nothing is ever mentioned about this being part of a series, until you get to the end and it cuts off like a car crash.  There are some interesting parts in the book, but the horribly stunted ending is rus...
This book had  a lot of potential, until the author got greedy.  Nothing is ever mentioned about this being part of a series, until you get to the end and it cuts off like a car crash.  There are some interesting parts in the book, but the horribly stunted ending is rushed and unsatisfying, and turns the entire book into a sub-par read.  Sneaky authors beware:  it isn't nice to take a book and just chop it in half so you can make us buy 2 books instead of 1.  This Is the first book in my life, out of hundreds that I've bought in the past decades,  that I have ever considered returning.  Or burning.  Ms. Paige, next time please consider doing things the right way, not the fast one.

posted by joyT on April 23, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 4, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Thank you to the publisher for this ARC! This book is a wickedly

    Thank you to the publisher for this ARC!
    This book is a wickedly good twist on a classic tale we all love and thought we knew! When I began reading Dorothy Must Die I was hooked from page 1! The story grabbed me and quickly began unfolding. Having seen the original movie numerous times I was very familiar with the story. It was intriguing to watch this wicked twist on the classic tale unfold. 
    The premise here is that a young lady, Amy Gumm, from Kansas is transported to Oz where everything we thought we knew about Oz is backwards. What is good is bad and what is bad is good. According to the history of Oz, Dorothy returned years later and is now wreaking havoc on the land. Amy Gumm is enlisted by the Revolutionary Order of the Wicked to help take down Dorothy and bring peace to their land once again. It is interesting to see the story unfold as Amy Gumm as not your average hero. She is the odd ball out in school, is bullied, and picked on while having a mother who cares more about alcohol than her own daughter anymore. I love seeing her character develop throughout the story. There are numerous parts where you can definitely relate to her and are rooting for her to succeed. 
    I love the author's writing style as well. It is simply fantastic! Each scene is described in great as Danielle Paige carefully weaves the intricacy of the scene into the novel without bogging down the reader with unneeded wordiness. The characters are described in much the same way allowing the reader to form a fantasy picture in their mind and play out the story like a movie. I loved how the characters were introduced as well. It was very much like you, the reader, were meeting them yourself. As we were introduced to some of the characters suspense abounded. Dorothy definitely took me by surprise as Paige describes her as a dark character that you have to read about to believe. 
    Page after page in this novel took me by surprise as I simultaneously thought about the classic tale. I loved how the story unfolded and the suspense that kept coming with each chapter. The ending arrived and it left me screaming for book 2! The last 20 pages were so fast paced I had no idea what was going on and then..boom! the story made an abrupt turn. Absolutely stellar! Danielle Paige created a wickedly good twist on tale we all know and love. Can't wait to read more by her! Keep them coming! 4/5 stars.  

    21 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    I found a lot of negativity surrounding this book but I really e

    I found a lot of negativity surrounding this book but I really enjoyed it.  I like stories that take a familiar backdrop and create a new adventure.  I would recommend this to read.  It was entertaining!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2014

    This book had  a lot of potential, until the author got greedy.

    This book had  a lot of potential, until the author got greedy.  Nothing is ever mentioned about this being part of a series, until you get to the end and it cuts off like a car crash.  There are some interesting parts in the book, but the horribly stunted ending is rushed and unsatisfying, and turns the entire book into a sub-par read.  Sneaky authors beware:  it isn't nice to take a book and just chop it in half so you can make us buy 2 books instead of 1.  This Is the first book in my life, out of hundreds that I've bought in the past decades,  that I have ever considered returning.  Or burning.  Ms. Paige, next time please consider doing things the right way, not the fast one.

    9 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2014

    JUST ANOTHER RAPE OF A CLASSIC TALE

    It's a pity that some writers, unable to create interesting fictional worlds of their own, thereupon turn to desecrating the worlds of others. Oz has fallen victim to this hackery more than other worlds, likely due to its aura of innocence; destroying such innocence is what some authors deem as entertainment, apparently. In truth, it would probably take a great deal of talent and imagination to expand upon L. Frank Baum's universe while retaining its whimsical innocence; it's telling that the author of this book instead chooses to corrupt it. Sad. This is a lousy book that merely imitates other desecrations of Oz, and is a prime example of the tragic things that can happen when a classic work falls out of copyright and enters the public domain. What's next - a retelling of J.K. Rowling's books, starring an evil Harry Pottet?

    8 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    Delectable read

    This book is truly splendid

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2014

    The heroine was supposed to be strong and quick-witted. Most of

    The heroine was supposed to be strong and quick-witted.
    Most of her comments fell flat and weren't all that clever. 
    She made several decisions that didn't make any sense.
    She went against advice and did things that pointlessly endangered all she had worked for.
    Other times, she hesitated when it was crucial that she acted to fulfill her mission.
    The novel didn't move at a quick, exciting pace. 
    It moved at a fast, almost dizzying pace. 
    The novel ended abruptly and was very unsatisfying.
    I am seriously considering returning it.
    I cannot recommend it.

    If you'll notice, at the time of this review, it has 1 & 2 star ratings or 4 & 5 star ratings.
    Readers either hated it or loved it.
    I hated it.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    So, if you know me then you know how much I¿m a big fan a classi

    So, if you know me then you know how much I’m a big fan a classics. In fact, when I was a little girl, I adored The Wizard Of Oz. I remember ABC even doing a special on it and how excited I was to watch it. Now, when this little pretty fell into my hands, I knew I was in for an adventure.

    Plot: This plot is simple. This is based on The Wizard Of Oz. So if you know they classic, then this book will be easy to follow. I really enjoyed how the story had similar situations just like the classic did but with a twist. The plot twist in this book gives the story it uniqueness. Once I got a feel for the main character and the plot, it was so easy to fall into and enjoy.

    Dorothy/Amy: One thing I love about this story is how well-rounded Amy is. Amy is not your typical gal either. She comes from this rough life of property and missing parents. To see her become herself with the story, to overcome many of her fears is amazing. The author does a great job in creating this weak…yet strong voice for Amy. She has a growth in the story that just pushes the reader to see more.

    Ending: With all that is happening in the story, Amy has a lot to accomplish. I like that not every part of the story is given away at once. The reader is given pieces of it to revel in, yet it also makes the reader more intune with the characters. Make sense? The ending comes together beautifully and I can not wait to see what the next book has to offer.

    Like many other re-tales, Dorothy Must Die begins with a bang. Lots of action and drama, Dorothy Must Die is an rousing adventure that is pleasing to the readers. Powered with a freshly written perspective, Dorothy Must Die is awesome!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Read this, then read Hector's Juice!

    Read this, then read Hector's Juice!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    I love it!!!!!!!

    This book is so awesome. I love how the author is not afraid to totally change the dorothy we know. It is such a great book. Everyone should read it!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2014

    Good but has bad words

    Ok. But has lots of bad words

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2014

    AMAZING!!!

    I absolutely loved this book, the main character was interesting and totally different from all others because of her attitude and situation, etc.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2014

    Tornado? Yellow brick road? Flying monkeys?  Count me in!  When

    Tornado? Yellow brick road? Flying monkeys? 
    Count me in! 

    When I first saw this book I was a little hesitant. I'm not a big fan of fairy tale retelling's which is what I thought this was.
    Boy was I wrong. Not only is it anything but a 'retelling' but the way that Danielle Paige weaves this story it feels like it's the way
    it was suppose to happen all along. 

    The Wizard of Oz was always a favorite movie of mine, ever since I was little I've loved Judy Garland, for me my favorite part of the movie
    was when the dull, black and white screen is suddenly filled with vibrant bursts of color. The road, the slippers the different colored
    horses all make up my favorite parts. 

    Now imagine Amy Gumm's life. Her life is less then note worthy. Her mother is a not so functioning alcoholic, her father is off with his
    new family, and Amy just got into a fight with a pregnant girl from her school. But when she is suddenly scooped up and dumped in
    the middle of Oz by a tornado she doesn't get the adventure that Dorothy got nor does she get the happy ending. The screen isn't filled
    with bright colors and the only place the yellow brick road leads is imminent death.

    Along the way Amy runs into a handful of characters, some good, some bad, all completely unique. 
    Amy is quickly recruited to take down the person who has turned Oz into a, for lack of a better description, hell hole. 

    With the help of her pet rat, a wingless monkey and some wickedly unforgettable witches Amy must find herself in order to
    kill Dorothy and save Oz.                          GingerReader22

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2014

    The concept of the book is what drew me in, and I liked the firs

    The concept of the book is what drew me in, and I liked the first 90% of the book; however, anyone who says this is fantastic clearly hasn't read the book from cover to cover. The book builds this hero in Amy and in the end it just STOPS. I was so disappointed in that! Not sure if there is a sequel to it, but it seems like there could have easily been much more to the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2014

    What a book. Loved every page of it--the writing is stellar and

    What a book. Loved every page of it--the writing is stellar and the book is just so much fun! 

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    Amazing!

    Totally worth your money!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2014

    A fantastic read!

    Very fast paced and exciting. A great twist on the stories we know and love!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A great read - you should check it out.

    Wow what a sucker-bunch to the Wonderful World of OZ (and I mean it as a complement). Everything you know about Dorthy and the yellow brick road throw out the window because this book is going to the dark side. You meet Amy Gumm who is the other girl from Kansas. She was brought to Oz by a tornado and wow what an Oz she was brought to. She was recruited by Revolutionary Order of the Wicked for one mission bring Oz back to what it use to be...the days before Dorthy. To do that she has to remove the Tin Man's heart, take the courage from the Lion and remove the Scarecrow's brain...lastly Kill Dorthy.

    This is a great series set to destroy the wickedness that our beloved Dorthy has done to Oz. Well written and edge of your seat scenario. I do wish that the ending wasn't so quickly abrupt because it was just getting to the climax of the story. I would have wanted more of Amy's battle instead of her hesitation on the how to. But I am sure that all my questions will be answered in the next book. Great job and twist of my beloved Oz - thank you Danielle Paige!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Dark

    You’d think Amy from this, Alyssa from Splintered and the other fairy tale retelling heroines should start a club or something.

    When I first heard about this, it sounded good. Since I love a good dark fairy tale retelling (depends on the tale though), then I’d give it a read. Then I saw this at a bookstore and was going to get it. But for some reason didn’t and had forgotten about it.

    Later on, it at the library and I was like, huh, again with the why wait this long to read this. But really though, a dark Oz and a title like that, how could it not catch your eye?

    I told myself okay, one chapter, just to see if I’ll keep going. Here’s the thing, I try to give a book 5 chapters. If not, then I put it aside.

    With each chapter, I got interested with reading about the side characters, the pacing, the writing style and the setting. And a likable and tough, actually uses her head now and then, MC. Thank you for that.

    The only complaint I have really is the romance? I don’t know if it’s exactly that. I mean it didn’t stop me from liking the book. I liked the friendships she gained with Ollie, Nox, and Pete, etc.

    This is like the second or third book I read now that has to do with the heroine training to fight and or mentioned of assassins. Grave Mercy, Death Sworn and now this.

    Anyway, another good start, to another series I think I’ll like to continue reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2014

    DMD

    I cannot put it down and when I have to I pick it right back up again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2014

    A dystopian  version of Oz keeps you on your toes. Amy Gumm, an

    A dystopian  version of Oz keeps you on your toes. Amy Gumm, an unpopular girl with a less than stellar home life, lives in a trailer in Kansas with her mom and pet rat. One day a tornado comes and sweeps the trailer away to Oz. Except Oz is not what it was in the movie. It is decrepit and  gloomy, there is no magic or munchkins. She eventually finds out that Dorothy is the one causing it. She returned to Oz and became the princess, after a while Dorothy ended up being corrupt she stole the magic and killed the munchkins. Amy is recruited by The Revolutionary Order of the Wicked to kill Dorothy. They think that Amy is special and needs to be the one to do it because she is from Kansas as well, but she does not want to be the one to kill Dorothy at all. With training from The Revolutionary Order of the Wicked, she trains to be a killer, but will she be able to do it? I was impressed with the book, however I strongly believe that it could have ended way better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4