BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Dot

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2004

    It's Not Just About Art

    On the surface, this book appears to encourage the budding artist who thinks his/her talent is not adequate. But it is much more- it is a voice for all those square pegs in round holes, who have gifts to give, but believe those gifts to be insufficient or incorrect. I recommend this book for ALL ages - this would make a great high school or college graduation gift. Note the dedication - to a 7th grade math teacher, not an art teacher. We should all listen to that someone in our lives who believes in who we are and what we can become.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    Highly recommended

    I love this book. I am an art teacher and have used it to help children get "unstuck" and to create a cooperative atmosphere.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2005

    Just See Where It Takes You

    This book reveals the character of a WISE teacher!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    You have to participate in Dot Day

    Ordered this book for some "graduates" to PreK last spring and decided I had to have it for my class library too. The book arrived in time to use it for the annual Dot Day celebration Sept 15. The experience was incredible. My three to four year olds "got it" and were totally into trying any aspect of art that day. The book has been a wonderful jumping off point and has almost eliminated the "I can't" so common at this age. If you teach 3 -4's you have to have this book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Inspiring

    Dot offers a refreshing look into a child's mind and helps them to build their own self-esteem. When the art teacher shows the children that anything can be art they start to see things in different perspectives. Classroom teachers can use this book to open children eyes and see that they can do anything and that it will be special.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2006

    Delightful Can-Do Book

    This is a charming story about a girl who doesn't want to try being encouraged to try and succeed. Great at reinforcing the 'try and do your best' attitude!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2005

    Amazing!

    Absolutely beautiful and gentle way to show children (and adults) that not only is ANYTHING possible, but that ANYTHING can be great depending on how you look at it. The artwork is like the story, it is simple, but proves the point clearly. My favorite children's book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2004

    All that and much more!

    In addition to all the praise other reviewers have given, the artwork is enchanting. So simple, reminiscent of Shel Silverstein. This book is loved by my 2 year-old and my 42 year-old (husband!) alike.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2004

    Wonderful book for all ages

    I am studying to get my degree in Elementary and Special Education and in my literacy method class our instructor read us this book. This book can be used as a motivator for any child who uses those famous words 'I can't' because it shows the child how one girl feels she cannot draw and how she becomes an 'artist'. This is one book that I will definately have in my classroom library.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2004

    Inspirational

    My Child Development teacher read this book in class last night and I just had to add it to my library. It is such an inspirational piece of work. I am looking forward to purchasing other books by this author. This book will forever change how I look at a child's artwork.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1