Customer Reviews for

dot.com Dating: finding your right someone online--avoiding the liars, losers, and freaks

Average Rating 4.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    A Great Dating Book

    This book opens up with a good introduction to a really interesting book, it shows you how to find the right guy while avoiding the freaks, players and losers. It goes step by step to find the right guy to not only completes you but sets into place what God has meant for the person to have. We live in a world of freaks, losers and of course people who are into playing games. This book shows you how to get your partner through watching for the warning signs, how to set up a good profile and of course proper dating etiquette. Be clear with what you want and what you expect while matching what that person would want as well. It's a great book and I recommend it for the person not having any luck in finding dates or someone with bad luck finding the wrong people-this books will help!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Unknown

    *he dissapears*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    Doko

    Walks in and chooses a bunk.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    MOVING

    TO POINT ALL RESULTS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Haley

    Looks at the necklabe he left behind and stuffs it in her pocket

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    APHRODITE CABIN

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great introduction to dating online!

    Confession time: I've tried online dating, and it didn't go so well. So when Tyndale offered me the chance to read "dotcom dating," I was eager to see what it was all about. Would I learn something, or would it be a rehashing of all that I'd learned from my previous forays into the world of internet dating? The answer leans heavily toward the latter. Now, I'm not saying the Parrotts don't give good advice--they do--but most of what they cover I already knew. Still, they offer a good reminder: It's not "weird" or "desperate" to utilize online dating sites. In fact, it makes sense, especially if you live somewhere somewhat remote (as I do). Also, they stress the importance of keeping friends and family in the loop as far as your online dating experience goes--that's something I didn't do well the first time around because I was embarrassed to let people know, fearing they'd think I was desperate. I don't think someone who has experience in the world of online dating needs to read this book. However, I would recommend it for the person who wants to try online dating but is hesitant, or for the friends and family members of people who are trying online dating--because in my experience, those are the people who still question the validity of looking for love online. **I received a free copy of this book from Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for my honest review. The opinions expressed are my own."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2011

    Highly recommended

    This is a nonfiction book about the reality of today's dating scene. With the immense popularity of the internet, dating has certainly changed. More and more people are using internet sites to meet and date people. This book addresses all aspects of using the internet to date.

    Times of changed - a lot! A lot of people who did not grow up with the internet may find it awkward to even think about using the internet to date. This book addresses that concern and many others. This book is divided in three sections: The Six Big Myths of Online Dating; Six Ways to Know if Online Dating Is for You; and, Five Questions You Absolutely Must Ask Before Signing Up. Each Chapter is titled to be very specific to the content, making it useful to look up specific questions.

    I have been skeptical of online dating, but this book is a valuable resource. Read it and follow the advice and you will most likely find internet dating extremely helpful in meeting your mate. The authors are thorough and cover what seems to be every possible mistake that someone new to internet dating may make. It is very helpful.

    I like the fact that it is a little book that is short and to the point - a very fast read. I also like how Chapters are titled to be very specific to content, making it easy to find a particular topic quickly. All chapters also have the important points emphasized at the end. This is a Christian book, so it's target audience is Christians. I believe everyone can benefit from this book, though. I highly recommend it.

    Tyndale House Publishers sent me a complimentary copy of this book for me to review. This in no way influenced my review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2011

    Book to Push New Dating Site

    What is your opinion of online dating? You've heard of e-harmony and a number of others; do you think they are for real? Is it possible that there is a stigma about "having to resort" to online dating?

    Drs Les and Leslie Parrott want to dispel any negative connotations that come with dating on the Internet with their book, Dot com Dating.

    This is a very small book. It's pretty much a gift-size book that dives into the myths about online dating, questions you should ask each dating site and ways to know if you're ready to use online dating.

    The myths include:

    Using online dating means you're desperate
    Only liars, losers and freaks use those sites
    Online dating goes against God's purposes

    Some of the questions to ask are:

    Does the site help you go past a picture and paragraph
    Is the site lined up with your beliefs
    Is it dedicated to helping you find true love

    And then the kicker comes at the end.

    These authors have created their own online dating service and suggest that you use their new website to find your future spouse. Isn't great that they would offer this nice advice before asking you to patron their site?

    This book was provided for review, at no cost, by Tyndale Publishing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    Online Dating is Not for Quasimodo Anymore

    "Online dating is for those who can't get a date the old-fashioned way." Phrases likes these, and other myths about online dating, are what Drs. Parrot & Parrot try to dispel in this book. The Parrots show that, when used properly, online dating can be a very useful and effective tool for finding that "special someone." It is not to be looked upon as solely for the social misfits. Gone are the stereotypes of online daters being the Quasimodos of the world. Online dating sites are being used by managers, students, blue collars, white collars, university-educated, and high school dropouts. It is for this reason that this book was written. It gives helpful tips on how to use online dating sites, some pitfalls to avoid, and if online dating is even right for the reader. However, what I enjoyed from the book was its simplicity. Drs. Parrot and Parrot do not give all the answers but merely good, sound advice on how what online dating can do and what it cannot. **I received this courtesy copy from Tyndale in exchange for this review.**

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Insightful!

    You don't have to observe very far to know what this book is about. Dr. Les, and Leslie Parrot sum it up very quickly on the front cover. This book is actually quite reassuring though for people who remain interested in online dating , and the taboos that still halt people from trying it.

    This book is easy to read, and organized in a way that darts right to the point. I'm not quite sure why "avoiding the liars, losers, and freaks", is on the cover when that section is only a part of the book. You'll also learn whether finding someone online is right for you, and why people have the stigmas they do about online dating. Whether you are beginning to contemplate online dating, or one of the ones who feels embarrassed you're trying it, dot com dating will provide insight for you.

    I found the book to be interesting, and truthful to what I've heard from people about online dating. The majority of the book isn't making up what really happens in the online dating world. As I said earlier if you're beginning to sign up, and see what online dating is about then this book is a quick guide to what to expect, and how to approach it tactfully. If you're an online dater who is ashamed, then this book covers why you're feeling that way, and reassures you the social stigmas aren't true. There isn't anything new introduced in this book, but considering how quickly people are to fall prey to what this book discourages it's worth reading for that reminder.

    After reading I was confused by the intent of dot com dating though. I felt the authors made a good point, and would recommend it to someone trying online dating, but I also felt I was being marketed something. It isn't completely bad to take advantage of what you can to market, but it can leave readers not as accepting of the advice.



    I received this complimentary copy from Tyndale House in exchange for a review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting read

    Have you ever tried online dating, but were scared to try it? Do you fear that dating online will take the romance out of the relationship? Many singles have answered yes to these questions others. Drs. Les and Leslie Parrott have written dot.comdating to help you avoid the liars, losers and freaks in cyberspace, and rule out all those myths that causes singles to be scared of online dating. Some of the myths are: dating online means you're desperate, online dating carries and embarrassing stigma, and online dating goes against God's guidance.

    Through out the book you'll learn that singles, divorcées, and widowers from their 20s to their 80's have tried and have had success at online dating. There are dozens of real-life stories, some are heartbreaking and others are embarrassing. You'll also learn that a free dating site may not be the safest bet to find someone.

    Being single, I was eager to review this book. I couldn't believe that the first couple to meet online was in 1982, I was one-years-old! And the couple is still married today. This story and other stories in the book will give you hope in finding true love. Here's one tip, when writing a profile, just be honest about whom you truly are. What makes dot.comdating different than other books about online dating is that this is from a Christian perspective. The only complaint that I have for the book, is at the very end, the authors are pushing their own online dating website onto the reader. I can't tell it they wrote the book to encourage people to find love or promote their site. Despite this setback, I enjoyed reading the true-life stories and recommend this to others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1