Customer Reviews for

The Double Bind

Average Rating 3.5
( 406 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(142)

4 Star

(118)

3 Star

(72)

2 Star

(46)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Stunner

This book provided great entertainment with a twist in the plot that made me want to re-read it after I had finished. Great entertainment! Reminded me of some of the old Hitchcock movies that had dramatic twists and turns. Highly readable, highly recommend it!

posted by gr8bookworm on March 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Surprise Ending Was No Surprise

I could not wait until I was done reading this book, because I really did not enjoy it at all. I have read waaaay too many Jodie Picoult books (no more) to ever be surprised by the standard surprise ending again. The Gatsby story threw me for awhile, but the periodic i...
I could not wait until I was done reading this book, because I really did not enjoy it at all. I have read waaaay too many Jodie Picoult books (no more) to ever be surprised by the standard surprise ending again. The Gatsby story threw me for awhile, but the periodic interjection of notes from the state mental hospital made the ending a dead giveaway...the meticulous avoidance of the patient's gender made the patient's identity completely obvious.

I also felt the ending was a disappointment...we heard all of the details of the incident (too many, if you ask me) via the attacker's apology letter, which was much too contrived to be believable...the sole purpose seemed to be to explain the attack to the reader. Then more doctor's notes, followed by nothing. The characters were missing the depth to really make me care.

posted by iowagirlLB on January 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 408 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 21
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2014

    Moral dilemmas and surprizing twists

    Suspenseful thriller with moral dilemmas and surprising twists. Have read a few of Bohjalian's novels. Liked this one the best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    The Double Bind

    This novel was engaging, and full of information about the subjects. The writer did the research to write knowingly about mental illness, the politics of providing for homeless people, etc.

    When I got to the end, I felt slammed. Not in a good way. It was too quick, the reveal about the heroine suffering from schizophrenic delusions, which the whole book kept the reader in. It's as if the ending had to happen quickly or not at all. It was an unpleasant flashback or poor reflection or imitation of the story line of "A Beautiful Mind" and other such stories.

    Also, the heroine's character was flat, in a way. I suppose not enough could be written into as we were headed to the slam dunk conclusion, and being taken along on her psychosis for all those pages, as it would have been too difficult to carry the book.

    It was interesting enough to stay with, but the ending was a real disappointment. The bent of the whole story was not subtle, which is a necessary element to good storytelling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    Double Bind

    This book is a big disappointment, especially after reading Skeletons At the Feast and Sandcastle Girls. The characters are one dimensional and cliche, I can't make myself care about what happens to them. The story just plods along and there are so many awkard, completely uneccesary sentences that add nothing to the story. I rarely give up on books especially after I've already read more than half but in this case I no longer want to spend my time deciphering Bohaljian's convoluted sentences and continuing to read more about these uninspiring characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Spellbinding

    I recommend this book all the time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    dont

    Dont like it dont buy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I was surprised by all the lackluster reviews because I thought

    I was surprised by all the lackluster reviews because I thought this was one of the top 3 books I've read this year and I think I have just discovered a new favorite author. That tells you to never trust another person's review because you might overlook a very rewarding title if your'e not careful. This is a talented writer who knows how to craft some very complex ideas of homelessness and the accompanying mental illness and drug addictions, a brutal attack and it's lasting affects into a delightful litereary mystery that has a gut-wrenching and totally unexpected ending that left many of the other readers mad, mad, mad (but I thought made it all the more clever). The author adds the themes and characters from F. Scott Fitzgerald's great American classic, "The Great Gatsby" and weaves it into the story seamlessly making this story truly memorable. The close look at mental illness, specifically bipolar and schizophrenia, reminded me of Jeffrey Eugenides' "The Marriage Plot" and the use of a classic work as a sub-plot reminded me of Chad Harbach's "The Art of Fielding". I thought this author might be Arab-American, but he is in fact Armenian and is the grandson of Armenian survivors of the Armenian Genocide that took place in Turkey. I am sure most Americans are not aware of this sad history. He tells this story in "The Sandcastle Girls" which I am looking forward to reading.(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    Just that girl this is good

    So good con not stop reading this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    thrilling

    My heart was in my throat for much of this book, in a good way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    Ananymous

    What a drag....the tie-in to Gatsby was confusing..not to mention the long, drawn out narrative of Laurel seeking connections of her abusers to Bobbie Croxkee. Total waste of time to read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Good read

    Enjoyed this book. It kept me guessing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Good writing. Painful, not thrilling!

    Makes 'The Great Gatsby' feel like true hidtory. And I disliked it for the same reason I abhored TGG. It was a journey into dispair, horror and insanity. A victom given no other alternative but to lose touch with all reality--virtually a living death.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    F that

    I do not like it at all

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Good

    Ths book is a fantastic one i recomend this book to alot os schools

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Twists and Turns

    Great story line that keeps the reader engaged.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2012

    It's a good read but not one you'll stay up all night to finish.

    Well written, and interesting story and a surprise ending that I was not happy about. I would read another book by this author. Our book club had a lively discussion.
    I don't understand the author's reasoning for bringing Jay Gatsby into this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    To B S

    You have the right to not like the book but have some class please!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    can anyone tel me how many pages there are?

    I havent gotten it yet

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2012

    Pretty Good Book!

    I started out reading this book not knowing that I would end up enjoying it more than I initially did.

    There is a dual storyline going on. One based in reality, and one based purely in fiction that cross throughout the book. It isn't hard to keep them separate at all. The disclaimer and explanation at the start of the book sets the storylines up perfectly in that way.

    What was surprising for me was that I didn't figure out the ending sooner. I actually didn't see the ending coming and realize what was going on. I feel like I need to re-read the last few chapters again to see what I missed.

    Overall, I'd recommend the book as a good read. I think more mature teens could handle some of the more disturbing elements of the story, but not younger teens. The photographs are amazing. I wish there had been more included, or a link to the entire collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Heartwarming

    I really liked this book and recommend it as a good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Entertaining

    I enjoyed this book because it kept me on my toes. I just wish I had paid more attention to some parts of it so that at the end I wasn't wanting to go back and re-read portions of the book. Very good however, I'd recommend it to anyone who likes mysteries.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 408 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 21