Customer Reviews for

The Double Bind

Average Rating 3.5
( 413 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(143)

4 Star

(119)

3 Star

(73)

2 Star

(47)

1 Star

(31)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Stunner

This book provided great entertainment with a twist in the plot that made me want to re-read it after I had finished. Great entertainment! Reminded me of some of the old Hitchcock movies that had dramatic twists and turns. Highly readable, highly recommend it!

posted by gr8bookworm on March 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Surprise Ending Was No Surprise

I could not wait until I was done reading this book, because I really did not enjoy it at all. I have read waaaay too many Jodie Picoult books (no more) to ever be surprised by the standard surprise ending again. The Gatsby story threw me for awhile, but the periodic i...
I could not wait until I was done reading this book, because I really did not enjoy it at all. I have read waaaay too many Jodie Picoult books (no more) to ever be surprised by the standard surprise ending again. The Gatsby story threw me for awhile, but the periodic interjection of notes from the state mental hospital made the ending a dead giveaway...the meticulous avoidance of the patient's gender made the patient's identity completely obvious.

I also felt the ending was a disappointment...we heard all of the details of the incident (too many, if you ask me) via the attacker's apology letter, which was much too contrived to be believable...the sole purpose seemed to be to explain the attack to the reader. Then more doctor's notes, followed by nothing. The characters were missing the depth to really make me care.

posted by iowagirlLB on January 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 119 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Hard to put down.

    Takes a real look at PTSD occurring outside of a war zone. A real look at how trauma can affect all people.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2010

    The Double Bind

    This book is about a women named Laurel, who at the beggining of the book was brutally attacked by some men, while she was out on a routine bike ride. After this attack, she wanted noting to do with Biking, so she started swimming. She got heavily involved with a program called BEDS, this program helps the homeless find homes. Through this program, she meets Bobbie Crocker. When he dies, he leaves a box of photos, and Laurel sorts through them and tries to find the meaning of each of them. through this, she becomes so consumed by them, and it starts to lead to some problems.
    i really liked this book, because everyone has problems that they face in their lives. this book has twists and turns, and there is a whacky ending. but in the end i reccomend this book, it will make you want to keep reading.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    My thoughts and views on The Double Bind

    If you are like me, then you were probably a little upset at the conclusion of this novel. The twist at the end was unexpected and shocking. Also, it left me with a lot of questions. Once the I found out that most of the book was made up from Laurel's mind and she actually was raped, I started to ask questions such as: What parts were real and what parts were made up? Was Laurel in the hospital the entire time and was just writing in her journal? How much time actually passed since the attack? Would Laurel have been okay had she not found the picutres or was she already going crazy? Overall the book was good and very thought stimulating.

    2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Great, easy read.

    This was a great book that combined The Great Gatsby with a surprise ending. Highly recommend!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2010

    The Double Bind is a very interesting and captivating book. The Double Bind is so interesting that you do not really want to put in down.

    Laurel, the main character, has encountered these photograghs that were taken by a homeless man, Bobbie Cracker. Laurel is searching to find out who this man is and why he has all these interesting photos. One photo especially sets Laurel off: the one of her biking the day she was raped. Laurel is slowly consumed by the photographs and she is slowly growing away from her friends and family. As the book comes to an end. Laurel realizes that she was completely wrong about Bobbie Crocker. We realize that Laurel is psycotic and made up the whole story. The Double Bind is interesting throughout the whole book, but at the end you may be some what angry and confused.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2010

    The Double Bind Review

    The Double Bind is a pretty good book with an interesting plot. When I first starting reading this book I didn't think that I was going to enjoy it. But, the more you get into the book the more it pulls you in. The book starts out with a girl named Laurel who is the main character. She has an interesting past and it's a big part of the plot. At the end, things become very confusing and you will have lots of questions about the book. I would recommend this book to people who enjoy mysteries and pay attention to small details.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Hmmm

    I just finished reading this book 20 minutes ago, and I'm a bit on the fence about what I thought of it. For whatever reason, I realized about a third of the way into the book what was going on. The ending didn't match my suspicions entirely, but it was close enough and I was not the least bit surprised (which greatly reduced the magic of the book for me). I believe my foreknowledge was due to either a) One of my favorite books has a very similar ending, and I was able to spot the "truth" simply because I happen to have read this other book, or b) The story was transparent and anyone could easily guess what was going on well before reaching the end. I'm not quite sure which of the above applies. Nevertheless, this book is thought-provoking and informative, with likable main characters. I enjoyed it, but not as much as I feel that I should have.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    dont

    Dont like it dont buy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    thrilling

    My heart was in my throat for much of this book, in a good way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Good read

    Enjoyed this book. It kept me guessing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    To B S

    You have the right to not like the book but have some class please!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2012

    Pretty Good Book!

    I started out reading this book not knowing that I would end up enjoying it more than I initially did.

    There is a dual storyline going on. One based in reality, and one based purely in fiction that cross throughout the book. It isn't hard to keep them separate at all. The disclaimer and explanation at the start of the book sets the storylines up perfectly in that way.

    What was surprising for me was that I didn't figure out the ending sooner. I actually didn't see the ending coming and realize what was going on. I feel like I need to re-read the last few chapters again to see what I missed.

    Overall, I'd recommend the book as a good read. I think more mature teens could handle some of the more disturbing elements of the story, but not younger teens. The photographs are amazing. I wish there had been more included, or a link to the entire collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Heartwarming

    I really liked this book and recommend it as a good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    Really getting to like this author.

    This is the second book I've read of this author and I found it a very good read. Interesting characters, a volunteer at a homeless shelter who had been a victim of a violent assalt and a deceased homeless artist. It has some wonderful character development and then it becomes a bit of a mystery to be solved. Very well written, well paced and a great ending. What more could you ask?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    Loved

    Terrific book. Could,nt put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    Very good

    Enjoyed quite a bit. Very interesting ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    Interesting

    A look into mental illness as I've never read before. I didn't much like the descriptive account of Laurel's rape scene but did like the twist at the end. I like when a book can surprise me, which doesn't happen often. I would recommend this to mature audiences only.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2011

    Good read

    Very good. Interesting ending, not at all what i was expecting. Ending makes you think. I would recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    Sufisticated

    It is a good book you will have to be stupendes reader to read that

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    Gr8 read

    Suprize ending!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 119 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6