Customer Reviews for

Double Clutch

Average Rating 4.5
( 77 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Amazing Book! Liz Reinhardt's Double Clutch is a Must-Read!

Charming until the end!!!

I have a confession to make. I am guilty of the old habit of judging a book by its cover. I don't even remember signing up for this blog tour. But I went through it anyway, and boy was I glad I did!!!

This book is so amazing, it's ridicul...
Charming until the end!!!

I have a confession to make. I am guilty of the old habit of judging a book by its cover. I don't even remember signing up for this blog tour. But I went through it anyway, and boy was I glad I did!!!

This book is so amazing, it's ridiculous. I was gushing the entire time! I stayed up until two in the morning reading it, not only because I want to finish it to review it, but because I just want to know what happens already with the characters!

Brenna Blixen is the main character and she lived in Denmark for a while before coming back to New Jersey. Right off the bat, I thought the book was so cool. Denmark?! Uber cool in my opinion. They lived in the countryside where people barely spoke or understood English, so Brenna focused on reading books and going through home schooling.

When she came back to the U.S., she met with old friends and met new people -- hot people like Saxon...

Saxon is one of those bad boys that are unimaginatively charming. He can attract any female specie in Frankford High School... and then dumps them after he finds a new girl that is more interesting. Unfortunately for Saxon, Brenna never gave in to his charm, although, it was clear that she found him attractive.

Brenna did Share Time in the story, which means she goes to the "academic high school" for half the day, and the "tech school" for the other half of the day. That's where she met Jake. Sweet, humble Jake.

Jake is the kind of guy that is so humble, he got used to putting himself down. I have three words for him: HESITANT, HUMBLE, HOT! He was the exact opposite of Saxon. While Saxon was arrogant, Jake was humble and unsure of himself. But that's not to say he didn't have a dark past.

I was so into Jake and then the author brings down the bomb: Jake slept with many girls a year and a half ago when he used to have vices like drinking and smoking and sleeping with anybody who would welcome him. It was disconcerting knowing that this perfect guy wasn't so perfect in the past, but he and Brenna got through the ups and downs of dealing with manipulative Saxon to strengthen their relationship.

In the end, Brenna and Jake are happy together while Saxon, not so much. I just felt like there need to be a sequel where Saxon finds someone to truly love because he's a great person, and all that arrogance is just a front to hide a VERY SENSITIVE secret. What's the secret? You're going to have to read the book! :)

I promise you, Liz Reinhardt did an amazing job with this book. She's officially in my favorite authors list. I love how the characters were all artistic and full of awesome sauce!

posted by ariannecruz07 on April 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Lids

Im 13 should I get it?

posted by Anonymous on November 22, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 18, 2012

    Amazing Book! Liz Reinhardt's Double Clutch is a Must-Read!

    Charming until the end!!!

    I have a confession to make. I am guilty of the old habit of judging a book by its cover. I don't even remember signing up for this blog tour. But I went through it anyway, and boy was I glad I did!!!

    This book is so amazing, it's ridiculous. I was gushing the entire time! I stayed up until two in the morning reading it, not only because I want to finish it to review it, but because I just want to know what happens already with the characters!

    Brenna Blixen is the main character and she lived in Denmark for a while before coming back to New Jersey. Right off the bat, I thought the book was so cool. Denmark?! Uber cool in my opinion. They lived in the countryside where people barely spoke or understood English, so Brenna focused on reading books and going through home schooling.

    When she came back to the U.S., she met with old friends and met new people -- hot people like Saxon...

    Saxon is one of those bad boys that are unimaginatively charming. He can attract any female specie in Frankford High School... and then dumps them after he finds a new girl that is more interesting. Unfortunately for Saxon, Brenna never gave in to his charm, although, it was clear that she found him attractive.

    Brenna did Share Time in the story, which means she goes to the "academic high school" for half the day, and the "tech school" for the other half of the day. That's where she met Jake. Sweet, humble Jake.

    Jake is the kind of guy that is so humble, he got used to putting himself down. I have three words for him: HESITANT, HUMBLE, HOT! He was the exact opposite of Saxon. While Saxon was arrogant, Jake was humble and unsure of himself. But that's not to say he didn't have a dark past.

    I was so into Jake and then the author brings down the bomb: Jake slept with many girls a year and a half ago when he used to have vices like drinking and smoking and sleeping with anybody who would welcome him. It was disconcerting knowing that this perfect guy wasn't so perfect in the past, but he and Brenna got through the ups and downs of dealing with manipulative Saxon to strengthen their relationship.

    In the end, Brenna and Jake are happy together while Saxon, not so much. I just felt like there need to be a sequel where Saxon finds someone to truly love because he's a great person, and all that arrogance is just a front to hide a VERY SENSITIVE secret. What's the secret? You're going to have to read the book! :)

    I promise you, Liz Reinhardt did an amazing job with this book. She's officially in my favorite authors list. I love how the characters were all artistic and full of awesome sauce!

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Rachel C

    I'm sixteen years old, and i loooove this book (and the entire series.) The author really made this book enjoyable to read. I can relate to the main girl character, and i liked the choices that she makes; they didn't make me want to scream through the book at her (though she does something in the second book that i didn't agree with.) There are some sexual situations, just to warn people.

    The story revolves around Brenna. You get a good sense of what this character is like, and i like her personality. She feels attracted to two boys, Saxon and Jake. Saxon is the stereotypical bad boy. But he also has this side of him that's sweet and makes you root that she chooses him. Jake is super sweet. He is always trying to take care of Brenna. He is the opposite of Saxon. In books where two boys are fighting for a girls attraction, i usually pick a side and like one boy over another. But in this story, i couldn't choose who i liked more. Both of their personalities made me love them. You also find out later, that both boys have a past connection with each other. Back to Brenna, she is artistic, sporty, smart, and actually has some common sense. Brenna also has her own hobbies, and she isn't completly dependant upon the boys.The steamy parts (within all three books) add a nice touch to this book. (;

    All in all, BUY this book. It's worth it. I'd recomend ages 14 and up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    lllllllllllllllooooooovvvvvvveeeeee~~this book

    I didnt like the book at first and i was into reading it at all but then i got past like the first 2 chapters and couldnt stop reading. I would stay up till 1am almost every morning because i couldnt stop reading. I finished the book in like 6 days and was nonstop reading. I definitly recommend this book to others who like love stories. I cant wait to read the second book!! BTW im so glad who she ended up with for some reason i thought at the beginning she was gonna show here feelings to the first guy she met. Sorry if i spoiled anything to anyone but i didnt say any names so have fun who ever reads this book next. ITS AMAZING I LOVED IT SOOOO MUCH!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    Super good

    Great book starting to read book 2 now ............sure to not be disapointed

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2012

    soooo good!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    soooo good!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Adore this book! Liz Reinhardt has a refreshing writing style th

    Adore this book! Liz Reinhardt has a refreshing writing style that grasps onto the reader from the start and will not let go. Everything about Double Clutch is creative, believable, and beautiful. It is obvious the writer spent time really thinking about all the aspects of this story. Very artistically written. If you haven't started this series, do it now!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    Love

    I love this story. Brenna and jake are meant for each other...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    Nookman16@yahoo.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Loved it!

    Great read! Loved the story and cant wait to read the next book! I couldnt put this one down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Good story

    Good story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Awesome

    Oh my gosh this is the best cute love/realistic fiction book ever! When i was in the middle of it i even dreamed about it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Awesome

    Love

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Happy

    This was a nice beggining to a fun love story. It was reffreshing for me to read a book with a girl who is head strong and confident. Sometimes whena charachter is so young i have a hard time relating but this author did a great job of making brenna rielatable. There were times i was laughing out loud and it just made me think how much more pleadurable books are than tv. I just bought the other two in the series and i will be reading them soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Great

    Such a good story

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    Really good

    I really liked this one!!! Good, quick & interesting book! (: has anyone read or purchased the second of the series? Im thinking of purchasing butvis unsure!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    Good book.

    I found myself relating to the main character a lot. Good Story. Couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2012

    This Series Is A MUST READ!!!! I finished Double Clutch within a

    This Series Is A MUST READ!!!! I finished Double Clutch within a few hours and didn't even realize it was a series but once i did i finished the other two quickly!!! Hoping for a fourth book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    MUST READ!

    MUST READ!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Love this series. This book is still my favorite of all three. E

    Love this series. This book is still my favorite of all three. Every time I read this book, it makes me think of the first time I fell in love and how crazy and amazing it felt. This book gets better and better with every reread!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    I am a huge sucker for character stories...this is definitely on

    I am a huge sucker for character stories...this is definitely one of the strongest I've ever read! The characters are intense. I love the dialogue, I love the flirtation, I LOVE THE TRIANGLE!! I'm so sick of reading love triangles where I know ahead of time exactly who she's going to choose. NOT. THIS. BOOK!! This is amazing. Well written, great characters, and I'm so glad there are more books in this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3