Customer Reviews for

Double Cross: The True Story of the D-Day Spies

Average Rating 4
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Fascinating account

The book is a great accounting of the hidden work of the D-Day invasion! Also, it gives so much evidence regarding the dozens of reasons even one person can have for performing exceptionally, when called on!

posted by Anonymous on August 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Not Recommend

Too many spies and not enough about each of them. One of the few books I never finished.

posted by 3717227 on September 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Fascinating account

    The book is a great accounting of the hidden work of the D-Day invasion! Also, it gives so much evidence regarding the dozens of reasons even one person can have for performing exceptionally, when called on!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    Stranger than fiction

    Sorting out fhe characters took a little tlme but was so worth it! Once involved, l could not put this down , it read like a thriller I enjoyed learning a good bit of history too

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Not Recommend

    Too many spies and not enough about each of them. One of the few books I never finished.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    Although the book reveals loads of research, I found it to be te

    Although the book reveals loads of research, I found it to be tedious, cumbersome, and boring. It's very difficult to keep track of all the individuals involved, and their various movements between/within Europe and US. The book gives interesting insights into the lives and uses of spies, but the knowledge is hard won due to laborious writing.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    I found it to be rather boring

    The book went into too much detail. There was very little action. Just a lot of information about a lot of spies.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2012

    Interesting reading-captures ones imagination!

    Subject matter very well researched and presented in a format that is easy to follow. Anyone reading this book will certainly appreciate the efforts the real life individuals expended to carry out their missions and bring World War II to a successful conclusion for the United States and our Allies. FlyboyRHB

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Great Book

    Very well written and thoroughly researched. I have read several books from this author including "Agent Zigzag" and "Operation Mincemeat", and found them all to be very interesting and well written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Quick Light Summer Story

    A nice story to read in summer at the beach. Some were dedicated to freedom and democracy, so motivated by money, some were the adventurous type and were just nuts!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    Wow

    Q

    1 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    DUMBLEDORE DIES AT THE END

    DUMBLEDORE DIES AT THE END

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2013

    Great story

    Well written, gripping book. Those 007 fans will love reading about the real deal, and how similar and different it can be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    Interesting study

    Spies are fascinating folks. How the British were able to manipulate these egos to deceive the Jerrys is a great story from WWII. Highly recommended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Dancelover23

    I love love love this booked because the main thing I like is the stuff about World War II and that there were spies in this book. So if you like history or spies then I recommend this book to you. World War II was a interesting and sad time for people at that time. anyway READ THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Highly recommended

    I learned many new things from this book. I recommend this book very highly. I wished my father could have read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    overstates importance of spies to d-day. 

    overstates importance of spies to d-day. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    definitely check this out

    Very interesting and well-written account of a little-known "project" that helped with the success of D-Day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    Stranger than fiction!

    Well written account of some of the most unlikely characters who could ever have been called upon to completely mislead the enemy about the whole plan for the Normandy invasion. It reads like fiction, but the research was done on the facts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2012

    Test

    Test

    0 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3