Customer Reviews for

Double Cross (Alex Cross Series #13)

Average Rating 4
( 354 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(160)

4 Star

(96)

3 Star

(60)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good book

Again i have enjoyed another Alex Cross book Well worth the read Once again James Patterson takes you right to the edge

posted by Anonymous on January 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Awful!

JP, where is the brilliant criminologist/psychologist Alex Cross of ALONG CAME A SPIDER, KISS THE GIRLS, and JACK AND JILL? In this outing, Cross is reduced to a hormone raging teen boy in heat, even as he and Bree study crime photos. Give me a break!

And stop with ...
JP, where is the brilliant criminologist/psychologist Alex Cross of ALONG CAME A SPIDER, KISS THE GIRLS, and JACK AND JILL? In this outing, Cross is reduced to a hormone raging teen boy in heat, even as he and Bree study crime photos. Give me a break!

And stop with the 2 page chapters already. Your stock in trade writing has become trite and formulaic. It seems as though Patterson can't live up to the standard of mystery and intrigue that Alex Cross used to have, what made Patterson fun to read. Now, everything is predictable. A killer or two, the killing keeps going until he/she/they are caught by the master criminologist himself, 1 dimensional characters, and Cross' love interest is short lived either by death or by break up. And BTW, Client/attorney privacy doesn't mean no videotape, guards watching just outside of hearing range.

The plot could have been good, but JP's execution was dismal to the point that this reader put it down ½ of the way and dumped my last Patterson novel into the recycle bin.

posted by Molinarolo on September 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 356 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18
  • Posted September 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Awful!

    JP, where is the brilliant criminologist/psychologist Alex Cross of ALONG CAME A SPIDER, KISS THE GIRLS, and JACK AND JILL? In this outing, Cross is reduced to a hormone raging teen boy in heat, even as he and Bree study crime photos. Give me a break!

    And stop with the 2 page chapters already. Your stock in trade writing has become trite and formulaic. It seems as though Patterson can't live up to the standard of mystery and intrigue that Alex Cross used to have, what made Patterson fun to read. Now, everything is predictable. A killer or two, the killing keeps going until he/she/they are caught by the master criminologist himself, 1 dimensional characters, and Cross' love interest is short lived either by death or by break up. And BTW, Client/attorney privacy doesn't mean no videotape, guards watching just outside of hearing range.

    The plot could have been good, but JP's execution was dismal to the point that this reader put it down ½ of the way and dumped my last Patterson novel into the recycle bin.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Good book

    Again i have enjoyed another Alex Cross book Well worth the read Once again James Patterson takes you right to the edge

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    Great Book

    Great book, couldn't put it down. This is what Alex Cross is all about. Great story line, this book really sucks you in and you can't wait to read what will happen next.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent

    This was hard to put down. A bit on the gruesome side but definitely kept your attention from the first page through.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2008

    Why, why, WHY??

    Why do I keep doing this to myself? Every time I read a Patterson novel (in the last five years, anyway) I tell myself, 'Enough! Don't waste your time anymore.' But this time, I thought, 'It's an Alex Cross novel - surely ...' Wrong again. Juvenile dialogue, annoying characters, huge holes in the plot, and a pitifully weak ending meant to keep us 'hanging' for the next installment. Well, I'm done hanging on for Patterson to regain his early form. There are many, many great authors out there these days but, sadly, Patterson is no longer one of them.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    What did I miss??? I have read the Alex Cross series, in the num

    What did I miss??? I have read the Alex Cross series, in the numerical order, & LOVED each one.Couldn't put each one down--they are fabulous. The all of a sudden, I start this book & Alex Cross has the hots for someone very early in the book. No gradual lead up to the woman. Don't really like the character Bree. She seems very cold & just plain BLAH! Get back to work with Sampson.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    My first James Patterson

    This is my first James Patterson book and it won't be my last. The characters were rich and the story had many twists and turns. I loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fast Paced and Typical Alex Cross Greatness!

    If you like Alex Cross and James Patterson, you will love this one. I read it quickly, loved the characters, but was glad the ending wasn't a neat little bow! Have fun reading!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Double Cross: Predictability was weakness "DCAK " Welcome to the show!!!

    "New admirers arrived every few minutes. The press was all over it- CNN, the other major newspapers, radio, video artists, bloggers" "You see what I see?" " That's detective Bree Stone getting out of the car. And the other one-That's Alex Cross. Cross has come, and it's only our first show. We're a hit!" (D.C. Audience Killer) DCAK

    Double Cross, is the 13th installment in the Alex Cross series, and a beautiful encore of gruesome murders, impressive movie sets, and studios and theatrical performances by the DCAK. The plot of the book is great, it manages to give early surprises not expected in the first two parts of the book.
    The history behind Alex's nemesis Kyle Craig gives the book a strong foundation for the DCAK role in the story. However; Patterson comes short in explaining the motives or background of DCAK. No element of surprise of how the story will end.
    "Predictability was weakness" according to DCAK, and that's what I found in Patterson's Double Cross. The main villain characters, are the most exciting elements in the book, I wasn't impressed by Alex Cross persona in this book, or moved by his love interest Bree Stone. I found no place in the story for explicit details of her intimate physical relationship with Alex, in my opinion it did not add anything to the book.
    The writing style is very James Patterson's. It has a lot of small chapters, but it is what works for him, and sometimes makes it easier to go back and find something you may have missed. The originality, there is nothing to argue about. If you read a lot of fiction thrillers you may have seen something similar; however, Patterson does a nice job plotting the events and chronological order of all murders by Kyle Craig and the DCAK.
    What I really enjoyed in the book is that Patterson made a good use of the sub stories, in this case Alex's private practice working as a psychiatrist, nice twist and switch for the story. The book is also very explicit in describing the gruesome murders which are enjoyable and make the book an easy reading. Nevertheless; I would have expected the last two parts of the book to top the beginning, but it did not happen, the book fell a little short in the conclusion, however; it is still a good read if you are a Patterson's fan.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Typical fare from James Patterson

    There's not much to say about this book. It is a very typical Alex Cross novel from the extremely prolific James Patterson. It follows the usual formula- Cross is trying to get out of the murder business only to get sucked in by a particularly twisted serial killer. In this case, the serial killer is the D.C. Audience Killer, who does just as his name implies: he kills dramatically before an audience. Added to the mix is the escape of Cross's nemesis, Kyle Craig, and a new girlfriend for Cross, fellow homicide detective Bree Stone.<BR/><BR/>Patterson seems to be falling victim to his own machine; the repeated churning out of books correlates to a drop in quality for the story. The mystery in this installment is suspenseful, if not particularly captivating, but the quality of writing is pretty mediocre. Patterson abuses the exclamation point like it's going out of style, and the antagonists are barely fleshed out. Kyle Craig gets his due, I suppose, but DCAK is never really given a motive or any sort of backstory, even after the identity is revealed. <BR/><BR/>If you like the Cross series, this one will suit just fine, but I wouldn't recommend it to anyone who isn't already a fan.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2008

    Not as good as I hoped!

    This book isn't as good as I had hoped, it was somewhat entertaining but found myself drifting while reading it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Just readin the sample so idk:((((

    Goooooooo
    Alex

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2013

    Loved it

    Started reading Patterson's books when I ran out of books to read while on an extended vacation. Bought one and have been hooked since then.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2013

    Alex Cross is on a date with police officer, Bree Stone, when th

    Alex Cross is on a date with police officer, Bree Stone, when they are interrupted by the news of  Tess 
    Olsen's death.  Upon arriving in Washington, Alex decides to help in the investigation, even though he is
    no longer a detective.  They find a greeting card, and find a tape featuring the killer. Alex realizes the 
    murderer wants an audience  and is nicknamed &quot;DCAK&quot; (The Washington DC Audience Killer).  With 
    each murder committed the case gets more complex. Alex starts to work with the DC police department.
      Alex and Bree are in a race to stop &quot;DCAK&quot; from killing more people.
     
     I recommend this book to people who like James Patterson or people who like the  Mystery &amp; Crime
    genre. It's also a great commercial fiction book to read when you are bored. The book is very intriguing 
    and is entertaining from start to end. The storyline is great and the book is hard to put down when you
    start reading. If you never read the other James Patterson books I recommend reading them first so 
    you won't be confused when you start to reach the end of the book and older characters are revealed.
     This book is a must read if you like the genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    I loved this book. I have only read two of the cross books and I

    I loved this book. I have only read two of the cross books and I loved them both. I really can't put the books down. The way that the books are written are amazing. The reader really can 'feel' what the characters feel. Will be reading more of James Patterson's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Yea

    Yeah

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Gwen

    You got locked out from the other res, didnt you?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2013

    Don't buy this version

    This is by far the worst book that i have purchased for my Nook. Pages end mid-sentence and do not continue on the next page. I am very disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    Kayla

    Gtg breakfeast

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    5 star

    James Paterson is the only books I read because they always keep you on edge.great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 356 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18