Customer Reviews for

Double Cross (Alex Cross Series #13)

Average Rating 4
( 354 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(160)

4 Star

(96)

3 Star

(60)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good book

Again i have enjoyed another Alex Cross book Well worth the read Once again James Patterson takes you right to the edge

posted by Anonymous on January 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Awful!

JP, where is the brilliant criminologist/psychologist Alex Cross of ALONG CAME A SPIDER, KISS THE GIRLS, and JACK AND JILL? In this outing, Cross is reduced to a hormone raging teen boy in heat, even as he and Bree study crime photos. Give me a break!

And stop with ...
JP, where is the brilliant criminologist/psychologist Alex Cross of ALONG CAME A SPIDER, KISS THE GIRLS, and JACK AND JILL? In this outing, Cross is reduced to a hormone raging teen boy in heat, even as he and Bree study crime photos. Give me a break!

And stop with the 2 page chapters already. Your stock in trade writing has become trite and formulaic. It seems as though Patterson can't live up to the standard of mystery and intrigue that Alex Cross used to have, what made Patterson fun to read. Now, everything is predictable. A killer or two, the killing keeps going until he/she/they are caught by the master criminologist himself, 1 dimensional characters, and Cross' love interest is short lived either by death or by break up. And BTW, Client/attorney privacy doesn't mean no videotape, guards watching just outside of hearing range.

The plot could have been good, but JP's execution was dismal to the point that this reader put it down ½ of the way and dumped my last Patterson novel into the recycle bin.

posted by Molinarolo on September 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 1, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Typical fare from James Patterson

    There's not much to say about this book. It is a very typical Alex Cross novel from the extremely prolific James Patterson. It follows the usual formula- Cross is trying to get out of the murder business only to get sucked in by a particularly twisted serial killer. In this case, the serial killer is the D.C. Audience Killer, who does just as his name implies: he kills dramatically before an audience. Added to the mix is the escape of Cross's nemesis, Kyle Craig, and a new girlfriend for Cross, fellow homicide detective Bree Stone.<BR/><BR/>Patterson seems to be falling victim to his own machine; the repeated churning out of books correlates to a drop in quality for the story. The mystery in this installment is suspenseful, if not particularly captivating, but the quality of writing is pretty mediocre. Patterson abuses the exclamation point like it's going out of style, and the antagonists are barely fleshed out. Kyle Craig gets his due, I suppose, but DCAK is never really given a motive or any sort of backstory, even after the identity is revealed. <BR/><BR/>If you like the Cross series, this one will suit just fine, but I wouldn't recommend it to anyone who isn't already a fan.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2008

    Not as good as I hoped!

    This book isn't as good as I had hoped, it was somewhat entertaining but found myself drifting while reading it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2012

    Not the best Cross book..

    I've read every Patterson book. Not sure if that is a positive or a negative! I think this is not one of his better books. It was a bit mundane for me, very repetitive...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    I only wish I could read the text without missing pages

    I love Patterson, but it is so frustrating to pay this much money for a book that skips whole scenes. This is my biggestgripe about ready on my nook. Not real happy with battery life either. B &N needs to get it together and work out the kinks. Oh, did I forget to mention the whole thing freezing up two or three times a week!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    N/A

    I haven't read yet still reading Four Blind Mice

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Quick read, exciting, shallow

    Bless his heart for being so honest. James Patterson is a writer determined to make a lot of money. And, make a lot of money he does. This is an easy, quick read. The plot does get your attention. The life story of Alex Cross continues, if you like to follow a character's development throughout several books. The writing level is an upper-elementary school level. The plot is fast, but shallow. As you can tell, I really have mixed feelings about this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Intense, quick moving page turner

    Alex, now a psychiatrist in his private practice, is pulled back to help the FBI and girlfriend Detective Stone, who is in charge of heading up the task force to hunt down the latest serial killer DCAK. DCAK who thrives off of killing for attention has put D.C in hysteria with his public murders. No place is safe and match that with society's love of everything media, the killer is getting exactly what he wants - fame. Great, fast, intense, quick moving plot that had the next kill bigger and better than the first. Will keep ranting and raving about the Alex Cross series!
    xoxo_leigh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    James Patterson does it again

    Double Cross was definitely a good book. Has suspense and keeps you trying to figure out the killer. Leaves you wondering at the end most likely to get you to buy Cross Country which I probably will here in a little while. Reading too many James Pattersons in a row, to me, makes them seem all to run together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

    Not as impressive as the first Alex Cross books like KISS THE GIRLS and ALONG CAME A SPIDER, but definitely better than CROSS, the last book.<BR/><BR/>Most of the characters are back to normal, acting more like themselves, and this book has a better mystery. In fact, it's a two-fold arc, with the devious and psychopathic Kyle Craig causing havoc from prison, and a new serial killer keeping Detective Brianna Stone, Cross's new love interest, busy with murders committed in the limelight.<BR/><BR/>It's a quick, okay read, but definitely not my favorite.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Another miss

    I felt for some time now that this was a series that long ago reached its apex. It is still a classic series if just for the first couple of books. But it is also a money maker and Patterson who treats his work as a money making venture would be insane to drop it only because he long ago lost insperation for this story. <BR/>What happens here is pretty much a fourth re-tread of long over used plot devices. One more time their is the obligatory romance occurring on the periphery. Once again, DC is hit by sensationalist serial killers and once again only Cross can save the day. <BR/>This story goes way over the top and is not worth reading. I take it that you have not made your mind up over getting this book due to the fact that you are reading this review. If this is the case, I highly suggest that you skip buying this title and instead focus on the first four or so installments in this series. Out of the dozens and dozens of books that Patterson has either written or co-written, the first couple Cross books are really the only ones worth sitting down with. Sorry, another miss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2008

    good

    I liked the book a lot but the ending is not that great. there where so many good ways he cod have finished the book, why did he close this way?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2008

    Sorry the First one of His Mystery's with Alex I can't rate a 5

    I may not be the normal mystery reader I am not sure but to me the Alex Cross family is as much a part of the store as the mystery. To me it took to long to bring in Nana Mama, and the three children. There was no great interaction between Alex and John Sampson as friends which is another part I love. The mystery itself was great as usual, but just not a personal enough Alex Cross Family, or look into his family and friends for me. Nana Mama is usually so funny the kids kind of sassy or the bigger ones but in a funny way not a bad way. Ald little Ali is just a loving little boy who comforts his Daddy when it is needed. I missed seeing more of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2008

    Disappointed

    Sorry, but I did not find the book very interesting, not as good as Mr. Patterson's previous books. Hard to finish to the end. Dr. Cross is definitely not as sharp in this book, he misses many clues. I do not want to see old criminals come back in his books and I do not want to keep seeing his family being threatened.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2007

    More Kyle Craig to Come

    Not James' best work...a big loose end! Just a setup for more of the Mastermind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    As expected

    I'm a diehard Patterson fan and I must tell you I am disappointed with Double Cross. It had an interesting start but half way through I could predict the end. In my opinion Patterson needs to focus less on Alex's love life and get back in to the police drama. It's worth reading it in paperback or checking it out from the library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2007

    Entertaining, but lacked something..

    I always enjoy James Patterson writing, especially the Alex Cross novels, but this one just lacked something for me. I have to say my opinion of 'Double Cross' was a bit dissapointing. The novel started out great, i thought, but became too predictable. This Alex Cross novel lacked the suspense that the others have. And did anyone else not understand why Cross wasnt really in the least bit concerned over his family's wellbeing when the Mastermind is roaming free?? But anyway, in my opinion this was clearly not his best work. Even though it was just 'ok', it is still worth buying and spending the time reading...his work is just always entertaining, no matter if it seems like he rushed through this one..enjoy JP fans!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3