Customer Reviews for

Double Crossed

Average Rating 4.5
( 191 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(120)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

41 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

Great YA Reading!

Young, wealthy and beautiful, Macey McHenry, a senator's daughter, cosmetic heiress and Spy-in Training (?) meets extremely wealthy and handsome W. W. Hale V, who just happens to be a master thief at a gala society event that goes wrong! When they find themselves in the...
Young, wealthy and beautiful, Macey McHenry, a senator's daughter, cosmetic heiress and Spy-in Training (?) meets extremely wealthy and handsome W. W. Hale V, who just happens to be a master thief at a gala society event that goes wrong! When they find themselves in the middle of a hostage situation, they need to work together to save the situation. Can they do it alone?

The coming together of two of Ally Carter's series is brilliantly done with a huge promise for a successful union!

These are privileged, yet daring, smart and play off each other perfectly! A fun, thriller/adventure for young adults!

This book was provided by NetGalley and the Disney Book Group in exchange for an honest review!

posted by DiiMI on January 29, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Anonymous

A good story..

posted by 8104294 on April 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    Interesting

    Though the books were combined extremely well, I would have like to read more of the thieves and spies working together. Especially using the actual spy team like appearances from Cammie, Bex, and Liz. It would have been great to see more elaborate scam like the ones tht Kat and her team pull off

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Check it out!!!

    I am a big fan of both of Ally Carter's book series. To see them brought together was interesting, and I would definitely recommend this book to someone who has read at least one of book of both series...

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2013

    Quite Entertaining

    Very clever bridge between the Gallagher girls series and the Heist Society series, both of which are excellent for teen girls.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Good Work

    Very entertaining. But the thieves scheme was also use in the movie Die Hard. Sorry Ally.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    Oppionater (lol)

    Honestly i thought this novella was pretty good. Not .any authors have thought of pleasing there fans by providing them with a short story or taste of what is to come. If you are hesitant to by this book you should be. I advise you to read either the Gallagher series first or the Heist society. I read Gallagher first. Im still waiting to get the money for the Heist. BTW shout out to the girl who put her email out like that. Ill friend you but you need to be careful abigail. What you did was extremely dangerous.
    Anyways, i hope that Mrs.Ally Carter continues with books that share a relevancy to the Gallagher series. I also want to see Kat join the Academy as well. I believe that it would create a great plot. Well i hope she considers it.
    Sincerely,
    The Advice of a Fouteen year-old girl

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2013

    I have not read any book in either the Gallagher Girls or Heist

    I have not read any book in either the Gallagher Girls or Heist Society prior to reading this novella, so I’m going to review this as a stand alone.
    Even though it’s part or two series it works perfectly as a stand alone, could be because I’ve read the synopsis for both Heist Society and Gallagher Girls #1 and had some background info. Or maybe not.

    The very short introduction of the setting and our two main characters is just enough to get the gist of who they are and what they do. Then they’re thrown straight in to action.
    This is a good and easy read that’s perfect for when you feel the urge to read and get a little adrenalin runnin’ but don’t have very much time. It’s well written and highly enjoyable. However, you might get more out of it if you have read anything in the Heist Society and/or Gallagher Girls series beforehand.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    I love Ally Carter!

    Fantastic! Most of the book is actually exerpts of Heist Society and Gallagher Girls books 1. I wish that it was longer because it was awsome. I really hope she writes a crossover sequel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Cat

    I wish it was wayyyyyyyyyyyyyyy longer

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Two very uncommon teens discover each other, and their respecti


    Two very uncommon teens discover each other, and their respective talents, at a high society charity auction just before a band of masked intruders breaks in and a heist begins. It begins but why doesn’t it end as quickly as most such things do, allowing the robbers to abscond with the goods before the cops get there? Macey and Hale are on their own to try to save the day—but, then again, they’re not really on their own when Kat and Abby make their presence known in Hale’s earbuds.

    This is a novella that combines the characters of Ms. Carter‘s two series and then offers excerpts from those series. I’ve known about these books for quite a while but have never read any of them—now I’m a convert and am heading on over to fill up my Nook. Hmm…not sure which series to start with but probably Gallagher Girls since that was first. Can’t wait to get started!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Doubly excellent

    A great story! Carter is a master, giving readers further insight to both Hale and Macy while weaving an excellent tale that intertwines two worlds. Readers will not be disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Rating: 4 The Low Down: Macey McHenry is bored at the societ

    Rating: 4




    The Low Down: Macey McHenry is bored at the society auction, so she lapses into spy mode. She checks her surroundings, counts the number of exits, listens in on some conversations. Then she notices him. A boy who looks as bored as she is. And then he lifts a cell phone from the mayor’s pocket and then strolls away. Macey must know who this brazen, talented boy is.




    As they dance around the obvious, each keeping their own secrets, they both notice a couple of things out of the ordinary. But as they are trying to process what they’ve seen, the room is full of president-mask-wearing, assault-rifle-brandishing men who are there to take the jewelry, purses and wallets of New York City’s wealthiest.




    Over the next few hours, Macey and her new acquaintance, Hale, work together to figure out who these men are and what they are after. Teaming up on the outside with Hale’s girlfriend, Kat, and Macey’s teacher from school, they each use their incredible skills to determine how to end the siege and find the guilty party.




    Best Thang ‘Bout It: I love Ally Carter, so I was excited to find out about this novella that puts together two of the kick-assiest high school girls on the planet. It did not disappoint! The spy game, intrigue, quick-thinking, crawling through ducts...it’s all here.




    The Bottom Line: If you’re a fan of Ms. Carter, slip this book onto your Kindle, tiptoe behind the curtains and lose yourself. You’ll be done before you’re missed.




    Double Crossed by Ally Carter was published January 22, 2013 by Disney Hyperion. A free copy of this book was given to Ink and Page in return for an honest review. Big thanks to NetGalley/Disney Hyperion/Ally Carter; check the Amazon link to see if it is still being offered to the gen pub for FREE!




    Genre: Young Adult Fiction Contemporary Thriller Spy
    Ages: 12 and up
    You Might Want to Know: Nothing of note

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    Anonymous

    I was just thinking how its kinda funny that Ally Carter wrote one series about a society that stops crime...and another series about one that creates it. In a match-up between the two (Ghallger Girls and Heist Society) I'd put my money on Heist Society, just 'cause I like the series better, its not just a bunch of girls whining about boys with all the action in the background. Of course, Kat and Hale from Heist Society really do need to get together, but I like that its taking some time. Anyway this sounds like an interesting read. I'm excited to find out what will happen when these two very different worlds collide. (Though I hope Miss Carter will keep the series' seperate. I don't think I'd like Heist Society mixed up with the Ghallger Girls. They are two different worlds after all!)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2013

    Awesome story but I can¿t stand the character Kat.   I was so ha

    Awesome story but I can’t stand the character Kat.   I was so happy to be back with the Gallagher Girls again.  I feel like I know them and I don’t think Cammie would ever be friends with Kat, Kat is NOT cooler than Abby and if Hale is going to lower his standards to be with Kat, there needs to be a new guy for Macey.  Please bring back the Gallagher Girls minus Kat.

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    Double Crossed Review

    This is a vey good, 40 page book brining Ally Carter's two series together. Macey and Hale meet at a fancy party and a bunch of robbers come to the party to steal something. They hold the party people hostages so the Police can't do much and its up to Macey and Hale to find what the robbers want and stop them. Very short and that is why I gave it a lower rating, however it is still good and a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2014

    ?

    Are there any real reviews here so i know what this book is about?
    I rated it high but i didnt read it sorry

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    Good book

    Luv ally carters books. Pretty good, wish it was longer. Cute and funny read.
    Find the w.
    MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMWMMMMMMMMMMMMNMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMKMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMWMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMNMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM?MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMWMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMWMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMGMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMNMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM?

    #YOLO. Have a nice day.
    I like wasting peoples time, dont u?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    abigailparker0123123@gmail.com

    Please add me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Poo

    Poo

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I liked this look into Macey and Hale who appear in other books

    I liked this look into Macey and Hale who appear in other books by Ms. Carter. When Hale and Macey are with their respective families at a party gone kidnapping. Macey and Hale use their expertise to try to get out of a hostage situation and try to find out where the expensive canary diamond necklace is. Macey gets her justice in the end, these bad guys picked the wrong girl to attack.

    I can't wait to start both series they look sooo good!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    I liked it

    Great for a short story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2