Customer Reviews for

Double Enchantment

Average Rating 4
( 121 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

possibly better than the first!

I simply loved Enchanting the Lady. Kathryne Kennedy's first book really delivered on all levels. When that happens you often find the second book in a series a let down. An author pours their heart into that first book, so sometimes book number two is weaker or a ca...
I simply loved Enchanting the Lady. Kathryne Kennedy's first book really delivered on all levels. When that happens you often find the second book in a series a let down. An author pours their heart into that first book, so sometimes book number two is weaker or a carbon copy. Thus, I was holding my breath as I read Double Enchantment, the second in the Relics of Merlin series by Kennedy. I am thrilled to say there was no let down, no disappointment. Lady Jasmina has a very perplexing problem. All of London are a twitter about the female who is sporting around town, making a cake of herself, and that gossip encompasses Lady Jasmina because the woman looks exactly like her. Worse, there is a sexy baronet who is acting like he knows Jasmina, and when I say 'know' I mean it! Some believe that it's not a look alike creating the trouble, but Jamina herself, thus in order to save her reputation, Jamina sets about to run to ground this woman. In the foggy streets of Londontown, magic is afoot. A spell gone wrong, a mysterious organization called The Brotherhood, and a hero to die for, Kennedy gives you all the right ingredients. The magic is Kennedy's writing. She's set up a strong series with an involving mythos that...well, enchants the reader from start to finish. Kennedy is quickly proving she is an author on the rise. I highly recommend both books in the Relics of Merlin and eagerly look forward to the next in the series.

posted by Anonymous on August 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

So so

Kinda boring. I walked away several times. Very similar to her other books. Even though this just came our I swear I've read it already.

posted by Ms_theresa on March 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    Exciting, Sensual Paranormal Romance

    The second in Kennedy's Relics of Merlin series, "Double Enchantment" features wonderful characters, danger, deception, and narrow escapes. Sterling is noble and honorable, while Jasmina is pragmatic and a bit of a snob; I loved watching them clash in the beginning, then slowly warm to one another. My only complaint is that the descriptions of the final confrontation with the evil Brotherhood in London's Underground are abrupt and a bit under-developed.

    Recommended to fans of Kennedy's other books, as well as Zoe Archer and even Victoria Holt. -- lyradora

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    Backyard with swimming pool n hot tub

    Woooooh!~Ree

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Posted on Romancing the Books blog / Reviewed by Robin / Review

    Posted on Romancing the Books blog / Reviewed by Robin / Review Copy Provided by Netgalley / Choosing books sometimes seems like an art form. But at times it is as simple as choosing a favorite author or perhaps in my case a name or what the cover looks like that draws me to the book. Very rarely do I read what the book tends to be about. I wanted to read this because of the title and brief mention of Merlin. So what I went into this thinking there would be more Merlin for me; but, I soon found a book that combined two favorites of mine. I found a story about historical/regency London with that of magic/shape shifting paranormal. Not sure what to expect I found it quite well done in mixing the two. As with regency London there has to be some division in aristocrats after all we can’t all be on the same social level even if we run in the same circles. Ms. Kennedy found a way of mixing the two very different worlds adding that little bit of separation. And with such London society will never be the same.

    It is hard to put briefly into words what this book is about. There was so much going on to keep ones interest. The upper classes are the ones that carry the magic. The more powerful your magic is the higher class you are in. The shape shifters are looked down upon because their magic tends to be a little erratic/wild so they are given lesser titles such as baronets. But once in a while the two mix and things become so much more than magic.

    Lady Jasmina has been using her magic to cover for her mother who is a kleptomaniac. A little secret you don’t want know in your social circle so she has to use her magic to sneak back into the homes and replace the stolen jewels her mother has ‘borrowed’. While in the midst of preparing herself to return one such item she cast an illusion spell so that she will not be missed in her home. Once in the home to return the brooch something goes amiss and her spell changes…Her illusion becomes more real. A twin almost the opposite of herself or is she? As the illusion known as Jaz starts wreaking havoc (you can’t blame a girl for wanting to have a little fun) we come across Sir Sterling a baronet who happens to be able to change into a very sexy stallion. Did I just call a stallion sexy? Well, in this case he is extremely handsome in a shabbily clothed way and the stallion part of him is just as well…sexy. Sir Sterling is in search of his sister who was kidnapped. First he meets Jaz with much fire between the two. When Jasmine enters into his life he at first thinks she is Jaz… I think you are getting the picture. Still there is chemistry that can’t be denied. As things heat up between the two they form a bond to find the brooch/relic so that Jasmina/Jaz can once again become a whole; along with the search for Sterling’s sister. Throw in a couple of your ordinary garden Gnomes named Nuisance and Trouble and Kooky Aunt Henrietta and you are in for a delightful story with a twist on London society.

    Ms. Kennedy has a wonderfully fun magical tale of the classic beauty and the beast on her hands that takes us into a new world of enchantment. London as we have never seen it. Whether you are going to the balls or visiting the underground you can’t help but fall in love with this new world that she has created. She visually takes you on the adventure where even in the stench of the underground amidst the misfits and the darkness she still showed the magic and the beauty that there is to be found. I know I was truly enchanted. Maybe you will be too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3