Customer Reviews for

The Double Helix: A Personal Account of the Discovery of the Structure of DNA

Average Rating 4
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2006

    These physicists made history.

    These physicists made history but they were not the only people whom were working on finding out what the structure of the DNA molecule looked like. In fact they used data that was discovered by other physicists in order to structure data that they collected. Rosalind Franklin whom was an 'assistant' had once written in her journal which was published in the book 'Rosalind Franklin: The dark lady of DNA' stated that when on her own time she had collected data by using tools, belonging to Kings College, with permission, was forced to hand over the data by and to Wilson. I would not recommend this book to anyone to read for fun unless you like the explanation of the structure. I also would not recommend it because it was just James Watson¿s perspective on the events.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    I really enjoyed this book for a few reasons. First, the book wa

    I really enjoyed this book for a few reasons. First, the book was interesting in the way that the reader was able to see how Watson felt throughout the experience.I liked the background information given about what Watson got his degree in and also his PhD. From this I also enjoyed being able to understand what drew Watson to wanting to discover the structure of DNA. I also enjoyed being able to see how so many failures led to such a success. Along with small discoveries leading to the big picture. The only complaint about the book would be the language. Even thought this is a scientific book, some of the words used were harder to understand and can make it more of a challenging read. But, over all, I really enjoyed the book and being able to understand the discovery of the structure of DNA. -Grace K

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    Personally, this book is too scientific for me. Some words were

    Personally, this book is too scientific for me. Some words were hard to understand which made lots of the sentences hard to read completely. The underline meaning of the book was great and the plot line was fine, it was just too hard to read for me. I would suggest this book to anyone who enjoys reading at science and has the knowledge to understand it. -Morgan JS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    The Double Helix, A Personal Account of the Discovery of the Str

    The Double Helix, A Personal Account of the Discovery of the Structure of DNA, is a great book, which I would highly recommend. Written by James D. Watson, it is a novel about the adventures and struggles James Watson and Francis Crick went through to finally discover the double helix structure. The book is very well written and you can never put the book down. The subject is so informative and interesting that you can’t help but keep flipping through the pages. This was such an amazing discovery, which makes the book that much better to read. Watson is great at thoroughly explaining the challenges they went through. They fail many times, like all scientists sometimes do, but it all paid off in the end. He tells the story very well, and explains the different encounters he had with many different scientists. He talks about his times working with Crick in the Cavendish laboratory, and what they went through to finally discover DNA. Watson writes a lot about the scientific part of his discovery, but also writes about the adventures and vacations he went on, which make the story that much more interesting. The novel also has pictures in it, which I love. They help me follow the plot of the story, and help me form an image in my head of what he is talking about. Some of the images are also diagrams that are labeled to help you understand the scientific part of the book. I would recommend this novel to anyone, even if you are not interested in science or DNA very much. The book is well written and gives a great story of how one of the best discoveries of all time was made.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2010

    Great Book

    The Double Helix, a Personal Account of DNA written by James Watson, is an extremely well written book. It was well organized and informative. The James Watson's book is exciting and thrilling, you feel as though you are with Watson and his partner, Francis Crick, during their failures, challenges and successes. Watson uses not only events to explain his travels, both in the lab and in the world, but through emotion. He also shoed other scientists emotion, which helped me understand the thoughts and reactions of the scientists that were associated with Watson and Crick. Watson also used illustrations throughout the novel. The captions under the pictures helped me comprehend key concepts throughout the book that were difficult to understand. The Double Helix was also presented very well. It was able to capture one's attention even if they aren't overly excited about DNA. I believe that every student should read this novel, either while studying Biology or for any student studying DNA. Although the Double Helix started off slow and somewhat confusing, it began to flow and become more comprehensible as one begins to read further. The Double Helix is true to its name; it is a true personal discovery to anyone who reads it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2007

    Confusing

    The Double Helix is James D. Watson's personal account of the discovery of the double helix structure of DNA. It follows Watson and his partner Francis Crick in the years leading up to their discovery. Though there is quite a bit of science it went mostly over my head. It seemed as though he was writing the book for his science colleagues. If you were to skip the science part the story isn't that bad. The only issues I have are that that it seemed to include a lot of useless information about his vaction and how he spent his nights and not as much on the important things. All the extra stuff just made it more confusing. Though I personally didn't find it that enjoyable someone going into this field of study would probably enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2007

    good book

    great review on the discovery of the helix and the whole dna sequence it is very in detaile on how he came to be interested in dna and how many people where actually working on this to be gin with this is a book i would read a gain

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2006

    The Double Helix Review

    James D. Watson¿s personal account of the discovery of DNA is summed up in his book, The Double Helix. This novel was a good recreational read. The scientific discoveries did not make the book boring, but rather allowed the story to flow and continue. Understanding one discovery led to the reasoning behind the next part of discovering the structure of DNA. The scientific accuracy allows this book to not only be a good recreational book, but also makes a great study tool. In the beginning of the novel, many names and people and scientific concepts are thrown at you. This is a lot of information to absorb, understand, and comprehend. I myself had a little bit of difficulty absorbing, understanding, and comprehending the information that Watson presents to you. I was not able to get a good grip on the information around chapter five or so. This novel presents a few pictures that help the reader understand the characters and the scientific concepts. This book contains two hundred and twenty six pages that are separated into twenty-nine chapters plus an epilogue. The first four chapters describe the situations that each character is in. The next twenty-two chapters tell the reader about the many discoveries that led the scientists to come to the conclusion that DNA is a double helix. The last three chapters depict the joyful feeling that Watson and Crick share when they are awarded the Nobel Prize for cracking the code of DNA. The Double Helix allows you to feel as if you are actually making the discoveries that led to understanding the structure of DNA. James D. Watson uses a sinfully great approach to the astounding discovery of the structure of DNA that puts you right in the middle of the book. Watson and Francis Crick¿s work on DNA won them a Noble Prize. This novel inspires those lazy college students that believe that they will never accomplish anything to get up and make a new discovery because that is exactly what Watson and Crick did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2006

    the discovery of dna's structure

    The Double Helix an autobiography by James Watson tells us how he and Francis Crick discovered the structure of deoxyribonucleic acid, DNA. At first Crick was not very interested in DNA because he was trying to unlock the answer to where are the genes and how do they act? The two men struggled to discover the bacteriophage¿s structure but they just danced around it and another scientist made the discovery before they did. They traveled across the country to meetings and to hear reviews and the observe many of the new discoveries. Although they had trouble finding out that had their hearts in its clutches this made they even more determined to be the first people to discover the DNA structure. They used x ray photographs to look at the strands of DNA, this process took a long time to develop and would take a long time to get a series of good data. They teamed up with a women, Rosalind Franklin who was a huge help to their cause but did not liked being disturbed with the little things that Crick brought up every now and again. The story was good packed with facts took me a little longer than I thought to read but it was new to me and I enjoyed reading it. If your new to DNA and RNA you should read it. Just shows you how much technology has improved from then and what they had to do to find the structure. The review part of the book I thought was unnecessary, they just restated what everyone thought about the discovery, and don¿t take this wrong finding out the structure of DNA was very important but they didn¿t need to ramble on about it for 100 pages. I would rate this book 6 out of 10, rich with knowledge, lacked some explanation but was overall very good, definitely read it if your going into this field.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2000

    The Double Helix

    Before one sits down to read this novel, you must first understand that it is the personal account of James Watson, one of two Nobel Prize laureates who won the race in the discovery of DNA. As a result of his singular perspective, certain aspects will be biased to a given degree, an example being his views on Rosalind Franklin (an individual whom many believe Watson stole research material from). In this novel Watson actively reflects his trials and tribulations in his struggle to research the biochemical deoxyribonucleic acid (DNA). As he unravels his tales and discoveries leading up to his ultimate success, Watson, humorously adds his own sense of style and wit in the telling of his personal encounters as well as Crick¿s (his partner). He is also able to balance the pros and the cons of his tedious scientific exploration. At times thoroughly illustrating his frustration in his attempts to understand DNA. Reading this novel allows a reader to easily identify Watson¿s passion and drive in his analyzes of DNA in correlation to other ¿building blocks¿ of life (e.g. RNA). These characteristics provide an explanation why he is so willing to further investigate DNA even after its discovery as a unique structure, unlike other scientists within the same field of research. Although this is not a difficult novel to peruse through, ¿What is all the hype about?¿ is a question that may resurface several times within the reader¿s mind. Thus, one must remember the time frame in which this discovery was made. Unlike our current scientific advances in the field of genetics, Watson and Crick were pioneers (along with a handful of others) in this field and prompted a new branch of biology as well as biochemistry to evolve as a result of their findings. Without this discovery many questions regarding medical and health issues would still be left unanswered. More importantly our current understanding of genetics would not be where it is today. Let alone the discoveries made within the Human Genome Project.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1