Customer Reviews for

Double Homicide

Average Rating 2.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

DOUBLE YOUR LISTENING PLEASURE

Husband and wife Jonathan and Faye Kellerman both have produced a number of highly readable mysteries winning hosts of fans for both. They've tackled many a plot and many a character. The one thing they haven't done is write together - here it is. One Kellerman is ou...
Husband and wife Jonathan and Faye Kellerman both have produced a number of highly readable mysteries winning hosts of fans for both. They've tackled many a plot and many a character. The one thing they haven't done is write together - here it is. One Kellerman is outstanding, two doubles your pleasure. Another pair that doubles your pleasure is voice actors John Rubinstein and Lou Diamond Phillips. Each reads with dispatch yet clarity bringing both tales to a satisfying conclusion. For these ears Rubinstein is the more ruminative of the pair - each is exciting. Which Kellerman wrote which story? There isn't a clue. But lots of clues are scattered about in these two scenarios that take place in distinctly different locations. The setting for one is Boston. There's a basket ball game where an egregious foul takes place. That's bad enough but murder is something else. A young basket ball star dies; Detective Dorothy Breton knows his mother, so she's emotionally involved. Her partner, Michael McCain, also wants to bring the case to quick closure - after all, this is no way to spend a holiday season. Seque to Santa Fe home to art, artists, and, in this case, one dead art dealer. To solve the murder of a dealer to whom who many might wish a fatal accident another charismatic pair of cops is introduced. Steve Katz is a veteran of the NYPD where he saw perhaps a murder a day. Two Moon has less experience, but not to worry, he's an ex-Marine who easily relates to the native population. Good plots, good characters, and good listening - enjoy! - Gail Cooke

posted by Anonymous on October 21, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Okay, but not great

The book ¿Double Homicide¿ by Jonathon and Faye Kellerman is a fictional book about murder. The book has a great usage of suspensfulness. It keeps you on the edge of your seat the entire time and is just packed with all kinds of events that you would never believe. T...
The book ¿Double Homicide¿ by Jonathon and Faye Kellerman is a fictional book about murder. The book has a great usage of suspensfulness. It keeps you on the edge of your seat the entire time and is just packed with all kinds of events that you would never believe. The story takes place in the 1900¿s in New York City it also takes place at the Spencer¿s home, and in Santa Fe. While Spencer¿s mom Dorothy was cleaning his room she went over to his backpack, noticing the smell of it. She opened it, and right there was a gun. She was so upset because she didn¿t know what a 14 year old needed a gun for. Also because she¿s a police officer so it gets her stressed out, and later she has to go to a club where she finds out her son might have been hurt in a drive by. Spencer¿s mom does the only thing she can to deal with her problem. First she questions him, next she tries to get evidence to see if he committed the crime, and third she locks him up to get more evidence. The author¿s style is him wanting you to know everyone¿s thoughts also the author likes to use some descriptive words, but every couple pages. This was a great book, accept for the Santa Fe part and it should be read by the more adult crowd or more mature people.

posted by Anonymous on November 7, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2007

    Okay, but not great

    The book ¿Double Homicide¿ by Jonathon and Faye Kellerman is a fictional book about murder. The book has a great usage of suspensfulness. It keeps you on the edge of your seat the entire time and is just packed with all kinds of events that you would never believe. The story takes place in the 1900¿s in New York City it also takes place at the Spencer¿s home, and in Santa Fe. While Spencer¿s mom Dorothy was cleaning his room she went over to his backpack, noticing the smell of it. She opened it, and right there was a gun. She was so upset because she didn¿t know what a 14 year old needed a gun for. Also because she¿s a police officer so it gets her stressed out, and later she has to go to a club where she finds out her son might have been hurt in a drive by. Spencer¿s mom does the only thing she can to deal with her problem. First she questions him, next she tries to get evidence to see if he committed the crime, and third she locks him up to get more evidence. The author¿s style is him wanting you to know everyone¿s thoughts also the author likes to use some descriptive words, but every couple pages. This was a great book, accept for the Santa Fe part and it should be read by the more adult crowd or more mature people.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2004

    DOUBLE YOUR LISTENING PLEASURE

    Husband and wife Jonathan and Faye Kellerman both have produced a number of highly readable mysteries winning hosts of fans for both. They've tackled many a plot and many a character. The one thing they haven't done is write together - here it is. One Kellerman is outstanding, two doubles your pleasure. Another pair that doubles your pleasure is voice actors John Rubinstein and Lou Diamond Phillips. Each reads with dispatch yet clarity bringing both tales to a satisfying conclusion. For these ears Rubinstein is the more ruminative of the pair - each is exciting. Which Kellerman wrote which story? There isn't a clue. But lots of clues are scattered about in these two scenarios that take place in distinctly different locations. The setting for one is Boston. There's a basket ball game where an egregious foul takes place. That's bad enough but murder is something else. A young basket ball star dies; Detective Dorothy Breton knows his mother, so she's emotionally involved. Her partner, Michael McCain, also wants to bring the case to quick closure - after all, this is no way to spend a holiday season. Seque to Santa Fe home to art, artists, and, in this case, one dead art dealer. To solve the murder of a dealer to whom who many might wish a fatal accident another charismatic pair of cops is introduced. Steve Katz is a veteran of the NYPD where he saw perhaps a murder a day. Two Moon has less experience, but not to worry, he's an ex-Marine who easily relates to the native population. Good plots, good characters, and good listening - enjoy! - Gail Cooke

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    How PLEASE READ ME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Long
    Is
    This
    Book
    ???????????

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    The first is a short mystery without some of the intricacies and interwoven situations that Faye Kellerman and sometimes Jonathan Kellerman employ in their writings. It was not their best work.

    I would not recommend this book to someone who really wants to get into complex mystery solving skills. It is okay to just relax with if you are tired and don't want to do much thinking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    Disappointed

    I enjoy both of the authors, but I was very disappointed with this book. Two short novellas and the stories fell way short

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2007

    Fantastic Book!!!

    I enjoyed this book. It got me more interested in other Jonathan Kellerman books. I like Boston better than Santa Fe because it was more about the crime where as Santa Fe concentrated more on the detectives' personal lives than the crime.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2006

    Don't waste your time

    Being a huge J.Kellerman fan, I was very excited to begin this book. It was a crushing disappointment to read this rushed double story, especially coming from such talent. While I'd recommend any of his other titles without hesitation, this would NOT make the list. It lacked soul, and I couldn't find the easy, conversational style I'm used to finding with him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2005

    Why Bother

    My wife read the Boston story, and called it a why bother. I read the Santa Fe story, and asked why I bothered. So the why bothers have it If you haven't read it, don't bother.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2005

    Great Book

    I love all of their books, just one thing to say about this one. A gunnery sergeant is a Marine not Army. But otherwise this is another great book by great writers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2005

    What a neat little book

    Not the usual Kellerman fare, but an enjoyable beach read. Both Jonathan and Faye know how to write.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2005

    Big let down

    I've been a huge fan of Faye Kellerman for a very long time, I've read all of her books and have loved them all, with the exception of 'moon music'(warewolves? what were you thinking?). This book however, was not only a dissapointment when compared to the rest of her books, it was a waste of time to read. In both stories, there was no suspense, no interesting storyline, and just left you thinking 'that was it? thats the whole story?' Let's hope Faye's next book will live up to her old standards.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2005

    Loved the cops in this story

    I loved the characters in this story. The writer captured the true essence of what real cops are like.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2004

    Not worth the time

    As a fan of both authors, I was sorely disappointed. Neither story was up to standard for either writer. I considered the stories mediocre at best - I'm glad I borrowed it from the library instead of buying it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2004

    Two of the Best Merge, but Miss the Mark

    I write this review with great remorse. I have been awaiting the release of a book offering the brillance of two of my favorite authors and couples coming together and conceiving their 'fifth' child. This one was to be the greatest, in that they had many years of practicing their art of parenting (writing). But sometimes when two great intellectuals come together, the combination is not one of brillance, but that of special needs. Both of the books left me with wanting more. They seem to be a tease of what is to be in the future. I am currently reading Twisted, and in that book there is a direct interjection of characters and involvement of their personality growth. The thought of the two of you writing together was grand, but I feel that all I have are two adequate short stories. Neither one really held my interest. If this was the only Kellerman reading that I had done, I would crossed them off my list. But I have read and own all of their fine works, and I feel that everyone is entitled to one bench sitting game. For the Kellerman's it is this book. I just was waiting for the filet, and only left after eating the salad, of somewhat wilted lettuce. Please go back to 'Twisted' and 'Street Dreams'. Perhaps the two brillant minds are as such because they are separate. Sorry, I write this with such regret because I admire the two of you so. The next novel that you share in, needs to be the DeMille of novels (long and full of details), like the two of you offer individually. What happended, in that, both the books were both so short and had so much that could have been still explored by your grand creativty. Thank you for the try. Any one else, I would have rating it much higher rating, but I know that both of you are capable of so much more. Get back into the singles game. Leave the doubles for authors like the PAttersons and the Kings, who seem to need it now and again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2004

    Save your time...don't buy it

    I really enjoyed the set on Boston. Santa Fe I found confusing and dull. The book was a dispointment as I thought the Kellermans would team their main characters up. Oh well...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2004

    Half Good

    This title is two separate stories in one book. One of the stories, 'Santa Fe', is a terrific story. The kind of entertainment that I've come to expect from Jonothan Kellerman. The Second story, 'Boston' is a shambles. The story line is disjointed and confusing; not feasible. This is fiction, of course, but when real places are used in a story they should be described accurately. This author has either never been to Boston, or has no memory for names and places.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2