Customer Reviews for

Double Identity

Average Rating 4.5
( 367 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(279)

4 Star

(52)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Sucked in!

Best book I'v EVER EVER EVER read I swear I loved this book so much and i got sucked in so much that i could have been 1/2 naked in public walking on broken glass AND burning fire & Cole and not care as long as I had that book(that didn't really happen) but my sister s...
Best book I'v EVER EVER EVER read I swear I loved this book so much and i got sucked in so much that i could have been 1/2 naked in public walking on broken glass AND burning fire & Cole and not care as long as I had that book(that didn't really happen) but my sister stole it and I wouldn't come out 'till she gave it back and i still am reading it for the 25th time! i'd recommend it with out a sec. of hesitation!!!!

posted by 4051690 on July 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

different but good

keeps you guessing....... a goid read, highly recommended.

posted by 793769 on April 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 367 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2010

    Sucked in!

    Best book I'v EVER EVER EVER read I swear I loved this book so much and i got sucked in so much that i could have been 1/2 naked in public walking on broken glass AND burning fire & Cole and not care as long as I had that book(that didn't really happen) but my sister stole it and I wouldn't come out 'till she gave it back and i still am reading it for the 25th time! i'd recommend it with out a sec. of hesitation!!!!

    16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Read It, I Say, Read It!

    Okay, FABULOUS book. It's sort of dark but not in a violent way, so it's appropriate for younger readers if they're advanced. You can never predict what happens next, and there's always an aura of mystery surrounding it. I'm in sixth grade, I read it in fourth I think, and I believe if I was reading it now for the first time, it would be just as captivating. She's an awesome writer too, so I recommend her other stuff as well! If you like mysteries and science fiction, you will probably enjoy this, but you might also enjoy it even if you don't! She doesn't always write in this genre, one of her books is quite different. See "I Also Recommend" for her other titles I've read!

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    double identity

    Double identity, a book by Margaret Peterson Haddix, is creatively written with a different sense of style! Foreshadowing is rarely used, the characters are defiantly believable, and each are interesting in their own way. Bethany ( the main character ) is thirteen and has always seemed to notice that she was raised differently than most children. When she was younger, she was home schooled, always watched by her parents cautiously, and could never go out to play with other children. Even now at thirteen, Bethany can't stay home by herself, go to sleepovers, or even shop alone. All the symptoms of adults trying to hide something from their children. Another odd thing, is her mother always cries. "why?" is always the thought floating around in Bethany
    s mind. She knows nothings clear, and when she gets stranded with a stranger that claims to be her aunt, she decides she can no longer wonder about things and keep it all inside. She has to ask questions and find some answers one way or another. Haddix creates an admirable character of Bethany that makes you want to know more and more about her. This whole book will fill your mind with wonder and confusion, that leads to unexpected answers in the end. There's always a new mystery occurring, a new discovery, or a new conflict. There are many pieces to the puzzle of this story that keep you glued and hungry for more pages! You'll enjoy every chapter, every page, and every word, as your eyes beg for more! New characters come into the story as you read, and you'll want to know more and more about each one. Bethany takes a difficult, hard, and amazing journey that leaves the ending of the story at a twist. A lot of this book is unexpected, amazing, and creative. You wont want to take your eyes off the bitter words of the pages!

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    different but good

    keeps you guessing....... a goid read, highly recommended.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    AWESOME!!!!!!!

    I am more of a romance reader than a science fiction reader, but this book was AWESOME!!!!! i totally recommend it!!!!!!! you can't guess what it's about until the book tells u!!!!!!!!!!!!! AMAZING read!!!!!!!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2010

    Roller Coaster!

    it truly is a roller coaster, the author made it so when Bethany (the main character and the book is of her point of view) is confused you are also, not like other books where you already know whats happening and dont bother to read further or read the end. your gripped to the book untill the last page i promise you!, in the middle of the book bethany finds the answer to her question, making you think thats it for the book, no more issue. but your dead wrong, theres a twist i know i you wont expect!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    Best book ever!

    This book just completely sucked me in so much, it wasn't even funny. I sped through this book in about an hour. You will not want to put it down. Buy this book. It is worth every penny.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2011

    answer

    it has 224 pages

    4 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2007

    Double Identity

    This book Double Identity is by the author Margaret Peterson Haddix. This book mostly took place in a small town in Sanderfield, Illinois. A girl named Bethany was an only child but all a sudden one day her mother started crying all the time. It never seemed to bother Bethany until she started crying like every second. The one day her parents crammed her in the car and drove her to a place she¿s never known before but she ended up having a lot of connects with that side of the family that her parents dumped her off at. She her parents left her with a stranger she didn¿t know and left her behind and left no way to contact them. They disconnected their cell phones so Bethany couldn¿t call. In the story she never knew what to expect next. I really enjoyed this book. It has an outstanding plot to it and you could never predict what would happen next. It was so good that I could barley put down the book when I needed to because it¿s so remarkable. I would have to recommend this book more to girls because almost all the characters in the story are girls. I would also recommend this book if you have read another book by this author, or if you enjoy sitting at the edge of your seat of what would happen next. I would give this book a 5 out of 5 stars.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Spoiler alert!

    To the person who wrote double idenity review. Im trying to know if it is a good book. I dont want to read the whole book from your stupid review.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Anonymos

    Overall I would give this book 4 stars. Once again Haddix has you on the edge of your seat. I read this in about 2 days and couldn't put it down.I recommend this book for kids 10 and up.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    This is a great book.

    Doulbe Indentity is my second favorite book. I just loved it. Its on eof those cant put it down book. You will find yourself getting lost in the story. When i was reading it nobody was able to get me away from it. Make the right choce and read this book. I loved it and you will too.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    Great Book!

    This is a super book! It is very suspensful! I read it in ONE NIGHT because I didn't want to stop. I would recommend this book to people who like to be sucked into a book. I love this author as well. Some books of hers that I like are: The Missing Series, The Shadow Children Series, Running out of Time, and Just Ella. I am reading more of her books! All people should read these books because they are not directed at kids or adults, but everyone! Please tap the button that says this helped!

    Thanks for reading!
    Sincerely,
    Mad-Dog1713

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    Double Identity Review

    Double Identity is about a girl who's parents cloned her. She lives her whole life not knowing she's one,until her thirteenth birthday when the original Elizabeth passed in 1991. Her parents start acting strange when the arrival of her thirteenth birthday comes. Her mother starts crying all the time, and one day they just drop her off at her "aunts" house, that she's never met. They don't explain anything to her, all she knows is what she overhead before she was left there. Her dad was speaking to her "aunt" saying: she doent know about elizabeth.

    The book goes through her life at her "aunts" house. But while she's there, she finds out who she really is. And her parents past could mess all of their future.

    This book is a very nice read. It keeps you interested, and in awe through out the whole book. I rated this book when i read it january with five stars, and as one of the best books written. But after i read Child 44 it changed my mind. Great read.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    So good

    Even after I finished reading, I stayed up late thinking about this book!!!LOVE IT!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    Great

    I got this book from a library but couldnt get through it ended up getting it on here and think it is worth about $4.50$ tax and all. There are about 12 typeoes in the entire story. I reccomend it!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Good!

    Pretty good a little slow though!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Luv 2 read april6,2012

    Amazing book it left u hanging! U cant put it down i give it 1,000000000000000000000 stars!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Love it!!!!!!

    It is an action pact book. There was never a duel moment. It i amazing . Ms. Haddix is an amazing author ! A must read

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2011

    Double Identity

    This book was a thriller, I'll tell you that! It was also very sad.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 367 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19