Customer Reviews for

Double Take: A Memoir

Average Rating 4
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 16, 2009

    Wow I am Breathless

    Hmm, Could I have done what Kevin Did I ask myself? Doubtful! I had the pleasure of meeting Mr. Connolly & was I blown away? No Just really really proud to have met such a warm individual who had to have a story worth reading & here it is. He writes like he talked that evening honestly & with a freshness that was absoultely amazing. I enjoyed every moment & will read again on my plane trip to Ireland.What he has accomplisehd would for a person with all there facets be amazing but Kevin takes it so easily in stride. If you can please go to his signings as he will make you feel good about life. Amazing book Mr. Connolly

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    A fith graders review

    A VERY good book that I enjoyed a lot,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2010

    I love it Hassna from Morocco

    This book is very interesting. It talked about Kevin's life and memoir. Kevin is the author of this book and he is a disabled person. His disability never stopped his adventures though. This book was very inspiring to me observing how a disabled person without legs faced so many challenges. Even people with all of their limbs cannot do as much with their life. Kevin's life was very difficult especially as he was not fully accepted by society which criticized him, stared at him, and bothered repeatedly with the same question, "What happened to your legs?"

    It is amazing how Kevin's disability pushed him forward to make so many changes. He was a champion skier and he visited many countries and took many photos of hundreds of people from different countries. I think the secret was that he stood up for himself and didn't become depressed and stay at home. His family supported him financially and emotionally and that made him feel like a normal person. This was a huge plus which urged him to overcome so many challenges.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2010

    Interesting

    Tested 4real
    Interesting
    Kevin Michael Connolly's book, "Double Take", tell his memories about himself and how he did incredible things without having legs. Kevin was born in Helena, Montana in 1985 without legs. He demonstrated many talents when he was a child and despite all the laughs and bullying he got from people he did very well.
    Kevin was very bold and hardworking in whatever he did. His parents loved him and supported him in anything he did. He attended Montana State University in 2004 and majored in both photography and film production. After his first year of study, he transferred to the University of Canterbury as part of a study abroad program. Kevin was a man who did not like sitting in a wheelchair despite his lack of legs. He loved riding a skateboard with a backpack and this allowed to travel around the world to more than seventeen countries. While traveling he captured over 33,000 photographs of people staring at him. Lastly, Kevin demonstrated to the world that not having legs will not keep a person from doing what they know how to do best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2010

    A Inspiration

    This memoir of Kevin Connolly is an inspiration for me and for others. When I started to read this book I asked myself, "Why are you always complaining about simple stuff? Why can't you sometimes say I can do this?", I think that you need sometimes to hear a true story about others to realize that you have a wonderful and healthy life. Kevin is an inspiration for me because he showed me that no matter what obstacle you have in your life, it is not a reason to end your life. Kevin as a young guy, had ups and down in his life. He has a great sense of humor, a wonderful personality and you can really get to know him. His dedication and self motivation is what makes me admire him. From each of his travels you learn how to appreciate yourself. Sometimes his frustration was key to learning that if you want something, you have to fight for it. This shows me no to use excuses and put barriers in my life by saying I can't. Everybody has the ability to make their dreams to come truth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2010

    Nothing can stop from living your life to the fullest.

    Kevin Michael Connolly was born without legs in Helena, Montana in 1985. He was the center of attraction for people that made them do a double take. He had had to undergo many adaptations in his life and endure some back jokes from people that sometimes used them in a good way just to break the ice.
    Being a disabled person was not a reason to stop him from being a normal person. He traveled around the world making friends from different countries and capturing everyone who stared at him along with some beautiful background in his photographs. He was a champion skier and his book is an inspiration for everybody.

    Arturo from Ecuador

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2010

    I love this book. was very helpful to me.

    DOUBLE TAKE REVIEW I like this book because it is amazing and interesting. You should read it! This book is about Kevin Michael Connally who was born in Helena Montana in 1985 without legs. He was a healthy baby and when he grew up he went to the University of Montana. His majors were photography and film. Kevin was a very smart person. He used his unusual physique to create a gripping work of art. He liked sports and was champing mono-ski racer. When Kevin was twenty-five years old he had already seen the world in away that most people never will .He travel around the world on a skateboard. He took more than thirty thousand photos of people staring at him. These photographs evolved into a photo collection. People made up stories about what may have happened to him. And asked Kevin questions about what happened to his legs. It is natural that we as humans create stories and we tend to focus too much on a person's physicals outside than inside. Aqeela Almansuri

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2010

    Double Take is a good book read it you will like it.

    Double Take Review by M.M.T from Afghanistan The book of "Double Take" a memoir by Kevin Michael Connolly was very interesting, sad and funny. The book is full of emotions, laugh and stories. Connolly is a twenty five years old who been stared at his entire life. Connolly says that he is being stared at not because he is too handsome, talented or a gifted, but because he was born without legs. Connolly writes about his life and the things that he experienced as he grew up without legs. He tells his stories of his high school and of how he traveled around the world. Connolly loves his family and describes them as loving, loyal and caring. Connolly's father and grandfather worked really hard to help him grow up as a normal boy, knowing how to take care of himself. Connolly's life has been a subject of curiosity and stares, but he managed to challenge and even traveled around the world all by himself. Going to more than twenty countries. he also tried different sports he went for resling then ski. Cannolly is a champion skier and photographer; He took more than thirty thousand photographs during his world trip.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2010

    Inspiration to read

    Bhola Sapkota
    12/9/2010 Double Take


    This is an inspiration to read

    The book, "Double Take", is inspiring. This is the true life story of Kelvin Michael Connolly. He was born in the small city of Montana and was like other children: getting dirty, running in the woods and etc. His parents were very dedicated to taking care of him from the day he was born though he did not have legs. They never neglected him. Kevin has seen the world in a way most of us never have. If you read this book, you will learn lots of things which people used to say where impossible for handicaps but Kevin succeeded it. He was a wrestler, a skater a photographer, etc. He also won the gold medal in the X games. He moved around the world countering many different challenges. He took a skateboard and a backpack on a tour around the world to more than seventeen countries including China, the Ukraine, Bosnia, and Japan. He captured over 33,000 photographs of people staring at him as well the books details; he was upset with lot of strangers always asking him one question, why don't you have legs?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2010

    DOUBLE TAKE A MEMOIR BY KEVIN MICHAEL CONNOLLY

    THIS BOOK IS INSPIRING

    I really liked this book! Kevin Michael Connolly was born in small town Helena, Montana in 1985. Born without legs he learned to do many amazing things. In the book he discussed the things a handicap person can do that and even some non-handicapped young guys cannot. He participated in different sports including; skiing which was held on the Montana Mountains. He was a champion in the X Games and this great achievement was very exciting for him, his family and his friends. His parents too were very supportive of him. They wanted to see their son to be as happy as any other kid, even though they sometimes lacked the ability to pay for his competition they did the best they could for him.
    Moving around the world on a skateboard as a young guy he fulfilled his dreams. Kevin faced many challenges and many questions like, `` Why don't you have legs?`` This particular question sounded stupid to him because he knew that even though a handicapped person is supposedly is incapable of doing things, he could do anything. Many people who saw this legless guy moving on a skateboard throughout the world thought he was homeless, or a beggar, or someone who was hurt in the war. Despite the various problems he went through on his trips, he never backed away from any challenge.
    Kevin was stared at a lot which made him feel bad. It made him feel was different from other people when he knew he was not. Sometimes when people saw him moving around on his skateboard they pitied him. He never wanted to have to always remain behind others. He did all he could to enjoy his life and was really adventurous moving through seventeen countries. There he captured over 33,000 photos of people staring at him and used them for his majors in photography and film production.
    Kevin was a really great teacher in doing what he did. He wanted to make people realize that there is no great different between the handicapped and the non-handicapped. They can also do great things like any normal person even though they are missing some part of their body which help them function or balance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2010

    This is an inspirational book, a good one to read!

    The book, 'Double-Take,' was written by Kevin Michael Connolly. The book contains the true story of his life. Kevin was born without legs in the state of Montana in the United States. Basically, the book is about his life without legs and how he adapted to his surroundings. Kevin didn't like his wheelchair and prosthetics at a very young age. Kevin's father contributed a lot for him. His mother also spend her time managing his clothes and other things. The book detailed how he was upset with his life because people were staring at him and asking him the same question over and over, "Why don't you have any legs?" Kevin was very inspired by his parents. Skating and photography were his main hobbies. He was most comfortable with skiing. He won the 2006 Winter X Games and he was awarded a lot of money and a silver medal as well. He visited more than seventeen countries including Japan, China, Ukraine and others. He captured over 33,000 photographs of people staring at him. The Rolling Exhibition is his collection of photographs taken during his travel around the world.
    He is energetic and optimistic. His book is inspirational. The book suggested doing something great in life and enjoying life. His message is to never lose hope and be optimistic. Generally, Life is a struggle.
    Prem Timsina

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2010

    Don't miss this oppertunity to read this book.

    This book is very interesting to read and is about Kevin Michael Connolly. This book was written by Kevin Michael Connolly, who is a twenty five year old man. He was born in Helena, Montana. He is a Photographer, a champion skier and a skateboarder. He is talented, handsome and an athletic but he was born without leg. Kevin took a skateboard and backpack on a tour around the world to more than seventeen countries including China, Japan, Bosnia, and Ukraine. He wrote a charming memoir. Connolly's memoir makes for an empowering read. He was born into a family that he describes as loving, loyal and matter of fact. Connolly writes that his father and grandfather were very helpful. Connolly appears to be an intelligent, fairly calm adult with a healthy sense of humility and humor. He's a good storyteller. He describes his first high school wrestling match, the path from learner to champion skier and like to travel around the world on a skateboard. Connolly also shares his memories of an important, significant moment: when he decided to use photography to gaze back at the people who stared at him. Interestingly enough, Kevin took more than 30,000 photographs of people staring at him. Kevin Connolly has used some physical circumstance to create a spellbinding work of art. I really appreciate his work. I want to say," don't miss this opportunity to read his book".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2010

    This book is interesting

    This book is about the story of Kevin Michael Connolly, who was born without legs. He was born August 18, 1985 in Helena, Montana. He grew up like any other Montana kid surrounded by loving parents. Kevin is a very handsome, talented, and intelligent young person who was born with out legs. He is able do anything that a non disabled person can not do it. He was a high school wrestler,an unbeatable skater in college, and a one time silver medalist skiier in the X-games. Kevin has traveled around the world to numerous countries including China, New Zealand, Ukraine, Austria, Bosnia, and Japan. He captured thousands of photographs of people staring at him during his world travel.
    I loved this book because it was written with understandable words and short chapters. I loved the way kevin's family treated him. They cared a lot for their son and did not simple walk around feeling sorry for him. They shared their thoght with him. They encourage him and taught him to be tough and strong. God bless his parents and especially his dad, who gave his best to help kevin grasp his hopes, feelings, and interests.
    Abayneh Walie, From Ethiopia

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    Overall Great Read!

    Double Take is an amazing memoir about Kevin's life experience without legs. His writing is captivating as you learn about his struggles, realizations, and joys throughout his young life. This book will even bring some perspective among your own life and how you view others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    WONDERFUL!

    I bought this book after hearing the XGames commentators refer to Kevin as "the author", and am so glad I did. It was a great read, very eye openning and inspiring, and not once did Kevin go off on a self-pity path. He and his family seem to be an amazing group of people!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I was appalled

    I did not like this book at all. I actually know people with missing limbs and they would never do such a thing as he did in his hometown parade and throughout the book I get the impression that the young man has quite a chip on his shoulder. Yes, I am sorry that you were born without legs, I am very empathic, but there are others who are worse off and cannot even get around like you. We all get stared at. . .just at a different angle. People are not being rude when they look at you, they are just curious. It's your reception of their curiousity that is the problem. Get on with your life, but remove the chip off your shoulder.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2009

    Amazing and Humorous Adventure Through Life!

    I read the book straight through, only stopping to sleep and snack. Kevin Connolly's book "Double Take" gave me the feeling of sitting by a campfire with intimate friends just back from distant parts unknown, listening to thier adventure tales that you know are true but hard to believe none the less. I seemed to go back and forth between laugh out loud moments to "damn.I can't believe he had the guts to do that.go there..expose himself in that way. Kevin has a gift of storytelling that makes you feel as if you were there with him..being stared at..wrestling with the angst, humor, curiosity, adventure, love lost. This book also made me ponder people and events that I have only explored at a surface level before. It was really thought provoking to rethink what it means to be "disabled". How, why, and who decides. His willingness to share and articulate experiences that so many people struggle with on some level who don't fit the norm may be cathartic not only for him but for many who don't have his ability to give voice to the good, the bad and the ugly of being physically different than the masses. Kevin Connolly may not be able to dance with feet but he can sure dance with words and proves that in his book "Double Take". This is a great read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2