Customer Reviews for

Double Take: A Memoir

Average Rating 4
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 16, 2009

    Wow I am Breathless

    Hmm, Could I have done what Kevin Did I ask myself? Doubtful! I had the pleasure of meeting Mr. Connolly & was I blown away? No Just really really proud to have met such a warm individual who had to have a story worth reading & here it is. He writes like he talked that evening honestly & with a freshness that was absoultely amazing. I enjoyed every moment & will read again on my plane trip to Ireland.What he has accomplisehd would for a person with all there facets be amazing but Kevin takes it so easily in stride. If you can please go to his signings as he will make you feel good about life. Amazing book Mr. Connolly

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    A fith graders review

    A VERY good book that I enjoyed a lot,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2010

    A Inspiration

    This memoir of Kevin Connolly is an inspiration for me and for others. When I started to read this book I asked myself, "Why are you always complaining about simple stuff? Why can't you sometimes say I can do this?", I think that you need sometimes to hear a true story about others to realize that you have a wonderful and healthy life. Kevin is an inspiration for me because he showed me that no matter what obstacle you have in your life, it is not a reason to end your life. Kevin as a young guy, had ups and down in his life. He has a great sense of humor, a wonderful personality and you can really get to know him. His dedication and self motivation is what makes me admire him. From each of his travels you learn how to appreciate yourself. Sometimes his frustration was key to learning that if you want something, you have to fight for it. This shows me no to use excuses and put barriers in my life by saying I can't. Everybody has the ability to make their dreams to come truth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2010

    DOUBLE TAKE A MEMOIR BY KEVIN MICHAEL CONNOLLY

    THIS BOOK IS INSPIRING

    I really liked this book! Kevin Michael Connolly was born in small town Helena, Montana in 1985. Born without legs he learned to do many amazing things. In the book he discussed the things a handicap person can do that and even some non-handicapped young guys cannot. He participated in different sports including; skiing which was held on the Montana Mountains. He was a champion in the X Games and this great achievement was very exciting for him, his family and his friends. His parents too were very supportive of him. They wanted to see their son to be as happy as any other kid, even though they sometimes lacked the ability to pay for his competition they did the best they could for him.
    Moving around the world on a skateboard as a young guy he fulfilled his dreams. Kevin faced many challenges and many questions like, `` Why don't you have legs?`` This particular question sounded stupid to him because he knew that even though a handicapped person is supposedly is incapable of doing things, he could do anything. Many people who saw this legless guy moving on a skateboard throughout the world thought he was homeless, or a beggar, or someone who was hurt in the war. Despite the various problems he went through on his trips, he never backed away from any challenge.
    Kevin was stared at a lot which made him feel bad. It made him feel was different from other people when he knew he was not. Sometimes when people saw him moving around on his skateboard they pitied him. He never wanted to have to always remain behind others. He did all he could to enjoy his life and was really adventurous moving through seventeen countries. There he captured over 33,000 photos of people staring at him and used them for his majors in photography and film production.
    Kevin was a really great teacher in doing what he did. He wanted to make people realize that there is no great different between the handicapped and the non-handicapped. They can also do great things like any normal person even though they are missing some part of their body which help them function or balance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2010

    Don't miss this oppertunity to read this book.

    This book is very interesting to read and is about Kevin Michael Connolly. This book was written by Kevin Michael Connolly, who is a twenty five year old man. He was born in Helena, Montana. He is a Photographer, a champion skier and a skateboarder. He is talented, handsome and an athletic but he was born without leg. Kevin took a skateboard and backpack on a tour around the world to more than seventeen countries including China, Japan, Bosnia, and Ukraine. He wrote a charming memoir. Connolly's memoir makes for an empowering read. He was born into a family that he describes as loving, loyal and matter of fact. Connolly writes that his father and grandfather were very helpful. Connolly appears to be an intelligent, fairly calm adult with a healthy sense of humility and humor. He's a good storyteller. He describes his first high school wrestling match, the path from learner to champion skier and like to travel around the world on a skateboard. Connolly also shares his memories of an important, significant moment: when he decided to use photography to gaze back at the people who stared at him. Interestingly enough, Kevin took more than 30,000 photographs of people staring at him. Kevin Connolly has used some physical circumstance to create a spellbinding work of art. I really appreciate his work. I want to say," don't miss this opportunity to read his book".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2010

    This book is interesting

    This book is about the story of Kevin Michael Connolly, who was born without legs. He was born August 18, 1985 in Helena, Montana. He grew up like any other Montana kid surrounded by loving parents. Kevin is a very handsome, talented, and intelligent young person who was born with out legs. He is able do anything that a non disabled person can not do it. He was a high school wrestler,an unbeatable skater in college, and a one time silver medalist skiier in the X-games. Kevin has traveled around the world to numerous countries including China, New Zealand, Ukraine, Austria, Bosnia, and Japan. He captured thousands of photographs of people staring at him during his world travel.
    I loved this book because it was written with understandable words and short chapters. I loved the way kevin's family treated him. They cared a lot for their son and did not simple walk around feeling sorry for him. They shared their thoght with him. They encourage him and taught him to be tough and strong. God bless his parents and especially his dad, who gave his best to help kevin grasp his hopes, feelings, and interests.
    Abayneh Walie, From Ethiopia

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    WONDERFUL!

    I bought this book after hearing the XGames commentators refer to Kevin as "the author", and am so glad I did. It was a great read, very eye openning and inspiring, and not once did Kevin go off on a self-pity path. He and his family seem to be an amazing group of people!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2009

    Amazing and Humorous Adventure Through Life!

    I read the book straight through, only stopping to sleep and snack. Kevin Connolly's book "Double Take" gave me the feeling of sitting by a campfire with intimate friends just back from distant parts unknown, listening to thier adventure tales that you know are true but hard to believe none the less. I seemed to go back and forth between laugh out loud moments to "damn.I can't believe he had the guts to do that.go there..expose himself in that way. Kevin has a gift of storytelling that makes you feel as if you were there with him..being stared at..wrestling with the angst, humor, curiosity, adventure, love lost. This book also made me ponder people and events that I have only explored at a surface level before. It was really thought provoking to rethink what it means to be "disabled". How, why, and who decides. His willingness to share and articulate experiences that so many people struggle with on some level who don't fit the norm may be cathartic not only for him but for many who don't have his ability to give voice to the good, the bad and the ugly of being physically different than the masses. Kevin Connolly may not be able to dance with feet but he can sure dance with words and proves that in his book "Double Take". This is a great read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1