Customer Reviews for

Double Tap (Paul Madriani Series #8)

Average Rating 4
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good Trial Scenes

    Abridged/CD: I had a bit of a problem with this audio because Joe Mantegna read it and he does the voice of the gangster on The Simpsons. It took a while to get into it because of that. I did enjoy the trial scenes. There is a midget prosecutor, who holds no punches, and goes up against our defense lawyer hero, Paul Madriani. It starts as a woman gets shot in the head twice in a military style "double tap" and her ex-military bodyguard is on trial for her murder. There were points that I felt should have been more detailed, but this was abridged. I felt the ending could have been better and it was a bit of a cop out. The big twist was kind of a yawn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Gripping.....

    This was my first Steve Martini book but it was riveting... I found myself not wanting to shut the CD off once it was going... Very unpredictable and enjoyable... I will look for more books in this series..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2008

    SIMPLY SUPERB!

    How did I miss this thriller when it came out in 2005? Thank goodness I found it now and couldn't put it down once I started reading. As a federal courtroom deputy clerk for 10 years and a legal secretary for 20 years, this is simply one of the best courtroom drama thrillers I have read. A truly great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2006

    Double Tap, an interesting read.

    Paul Madriani is a lawyer facing one of the toughest cases he has had for a while. A case that has already been walked away from by a high profile lawyer for undisclosed reasons. His client, Emiliano Ruiz, is accused of killing the head of a large software company, Madelyn Chapman, in an unusual style used by Special Forces called double tap. Given his military background, the placement of two shots in rapid succession into the target¿s head is something that Ruiz knows how to do. Add to that the fact that he served as Ms. Chapman¿s bodyguard, had an affair with her, and his gun was used in the killing, and the net of circumstantial evidence around Ruiz is pretty tight. Paul and his partner set out to gather evidence that can either clear Ruiz or at least cast enough doubt on his guilt to save his life. The way the two of them go about their task reminded me a bit of Joe Friday and his partner Bill from the old Dragnet series. Their investigation keeps hitting roadblocks whenever they look into a seven year gap in Ruiz¿s records or try to find out about a shadowy general who was working with Madelyn on a secret software contract. The trial begins with Paul in possession of little evidence to help his client. Someone, it seems, wants to keep a lid on things and the lengths they are willing to go to keep their secrets may be the only hope Paul has of saving Ruiz. I found the story engaging and the plot very plausible, but the book didn¿t always flow smoothly. At times it seemed like Steve Martini left off without finishing some thoughts and I couldn¿t tell whether it was his writing style or laziness. I also had to go back over the dialog in several places to understand just who was speaking. The inclusion of some historical perspective in the glimpses into the life of Paul¿s uncle Evo added depth to the book. Still, if he weren¿t an established author, I wonder if Mr. Martini could catch the eye of an editor with this offering. If a book doesn¿t keep my interest I will drop it in the middle and I don¿t review books that I don¿t finish. The fact that I post a review means that the book is pretty good. I¿m not a fan of lawyer stories (I don¿t think I¿ve ever stayed awake through an episode of Perry Mason) but I finished and enjoyed Double Tap. If you like courtroom drama and a good mystery, I recommend reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2005

    STUNNING COURTROOM PROCEDURE

    A $200 tip to a valet parker from a beautiful young woman driving a red Ferrari? That's sure to catch your attention. Then the young woman buys an expensive piece of art glass, so dear that the shop owner 'wonders whether his calculator possessed enough digits to cipher the sale and its consequent tax.' Intriguing, what? But wait, don't become too interested in this gal because by page 21 she's quite dead with two holes in her head, a double tap, the mark of an accomplished assassin. The eighth tale in Martini's popular series starring attorney Paul Madriani finds our protagonist a bit more introspective, more determined and faced with the daunting task of defending career soldier Emiliano Ruiz who is accused of killing the woman, Madelyn Chapman, CEO of a major software firm, Isotenics, Inc. The evidence against Ruiz seems indisputable - he was on a security force protecting her, a video tape plainly shows that they had an affair, and he has the skills to deliver a double tap, two bullet wounds maybe an inch apart. With the help of his garrulous pal, Harry, Madriani begins the investigation only to discover that Isotenics and the government were partners in an antiterrorist program that involved computer software able to spy on virtually everyone. To further complicate matters, Ruiz has a seven year gap in his resume, and he's not talking about it. It's a bit of a stretch to believe that much of Madriani's passion in defending Ruiz is because this soldier reminds him of his beloved Uncle Evo, a shell shocked veteran. And, the conclusion when the real killer is revealed does seem a bit contrived for this reader. However, fans of courtroom procedure will have a field day as Martini recounts the trial. Templeton a dwarf attorney with more tricks up his short sleeve than Houdini is a masterful characterization. Hopefully, we'll meet him on the big screen some day along with General Satz 'who had a long list of get-even announcements waiting to be printed.' An attorney as well as a writer, Martini, offers many insights into the ways and means employed by legal eagles when they go toe to toe in a courtroom. Enjoy! - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    terrific thriller

    Successful wealthy CEO of Isotenics, Inc. Madelyn Chapman enjoys her bi-coastal lifestyle that includes abodes in Manhattan and Virginia. However, one day when she returns to the house she considers her home in La Jolla, California, someone assassinates her with a double tap, two precise bullets to her head. The police follow clues that lead to career veteran Emiliano Ruiz. He hires attorney Paul Madriani to represent him. Paul faces an uphill battle as not only evidence places the accused near the crime scene; Emiliano had the skill to perform the precision operation. Adding to his dilemma is that Emiliano provides no background information about himself especially a seven year data hole in the middle of his long military career. The prosecutors cooperate as much as his client refuses to impart information on the victim¿s link to the military. Still Paul continues to dig to insure he bestows the best defense he can for his silent client. --- DOUBLE TAP is a terrific thriller that has the hero frustrated at ever turn as his client refuses to cooperate and the prosecution is even less forthcoming. Paul keeps digging for information, but for every step forward he takes two steps backward. Still he wants to put up a strong defense even if he wonders if Emiliano committed the homicide. Steve Martini is at his supreme best with this tale that showcases a struggling legal defense unable to obtain any cooperation.--- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2005

    Double trouble, Doubly Delicious Read

    Paul Madriana is a man to be reckoned with, a man any Southern woman takes home to curl up with or travels down any avenue he cares to lead. I can't wait for the next trip he takes me through in the fantasy world this fantastic author creates.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1