Customer Reviews for

Doubletake (Cal and Niko Series #7)

Average Rating 4.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 12, 2012

    Supernatural Fans - Read this series!!!

    Hey, Supernatural fans? You've delved into the world of Cal and Niko yet? If not, do it! Start at the beginning though with Nighlife as it'll make everything make sense and then you get to enjoy this latest installment of the Cal books, Doubletake. With all our favorite players, Cal, Niko, Robin, Promise and the introduction of a great new villian in Grimm and add the spice of Niko's lost lost father coming into the picture...it all makes for another fun, action-packed and solid read from one of the best urban-fantasy authors out there.

    I, like others, were a bit disappointed a couple books back when the Auphe were destroyed forever, but with the intro of Grimm into the series, and having that play into Cal's constant and accepted battle with his inner monster, I love the re-introduction of the old evil returning. It pushes Cal in and out of that Auphe part of him that grows and is now accepted, but that he still tries so hard to keep down. Cal and Caliban are now one in the same, but still distinctive and seperate.

    At the core of Doubletake though, as with all the Cal books so far, is the brother's bond. It's just as strong and evident here as it ever was. Ms. Thurman treats us with a couple wonderful and always welcomed flashbacks to a younger Cal that succeed in deepening even further, the bond of Cal and Niko. Taking their co-dependence up another notch. It's that bond that cements me as a fan of this series. It's the core and the heart of what makes these brothers tick.

    Thank you, Ms. Thurman for another great notch in a great book series.

    Oh and kudo's to to Mr. McGrath for one of the best piece of cover artwork out there.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    Doubletake Rob Thurman

    Riviting from start to finish I couldn't put Doublletake down. Once finished it stayed on my mind for days after, it was that good.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    Love Rob's Work.

    Can't wait for more in this series and the the others. Love Cal & Niko. Rob makes the characters come to life. And Robin Goodfellow. Loved that she connected the pass with the present.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    Another good one

    Love the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Great!

    Keeps getting better and better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A bit disappointed Brought to you by OBS reviewer Verushka I&r

    A bit disappointed

    Brought to you by OBS reviewer Verushka

    I’ve always been a huge fan of Rob Thurman’s Cal Leandros series. I discovered it just as I discovered Supernatural on television and while I’ve since stopped watching Supernatural, I’ve remained a fan of this series. Cal and Niko remain in this novel fiercely devoted to each other, no matter what. That strength and Thurman’s adept touch at bringing their life together has made this series riveting reading, but I found this one to be somewhat uneven.

    The book opens with Robin hiring Cal and Niko to police a Puck family reunion. Hot on the heels of this job, Cal and Niko have family reunions of a sort of their own. Niko’s father Kalakos reappears asking for their help in tracking down a monster called Janus who is homing in on those with Vayash blood and killing them, which means the brothers are targets. This metal monster was made by Haphaestus and, yes, he’s alive and Robin goes above and beyond in dealing with him. Cal’s “family reunion” is with another half-Auphe called Grimm who needs him to rebuild the Auphe race.

    Don’t get me wrong – Thurman’s writing is in top form here. I got more of a sense of how Cal views his brother and how much he knows Niko has given up for him. Thurman also shows us in a tender, sad way why nothing and no-one will come between Cal and Niko through a small flashback that had me tearing up.

    What didn’t work in this novel was the balance and focus on Grimm and Kalakos in the novel. While Kalakos plays an important part of the conclusion to the novel, he is barely a presence through the novel, he hovers in the background mostly, while Grimm has more of a presence instead. Had Kalakos had more of a presence, had we had more of an insight into him and Niko and that relationship fleshed out more – even if all Niko felt for him was hate – this novel would have been better for it.

    Another consequence of this uneven balance in the focus afforded to characters is that Robin, despite having a strong presence in the beginning of the book, suddenly disappears and calls in with some information. On the one hand, this gave Thurman some chance to focus on Grimm and Kalakos and the brothers, but because the writing accompanying these characters was so uneven and Robin’s exit for this book just as uneven, in the end, none of it worked. Robin’s absence and the way Thurman explained was a glaring problem in the book for me, especially as Cal kept noting how Robin would never disappear on them. And as a reader of this series for seven books now, I couldn’t agree more.

    In the end, a disappointing addition to the Leandros series.

    This review and more at openbooksociety dot com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    Transition Book?

    I enjoyed this book, but it feels like a transition book to me--setting up the situation for the next Leandros' book. The Panic was hysterical, the sub-plot with Niko's dad was great, and Grim makes a wonderful villain. I'm torn between wanting Cal to waste him in the first chapter of the next book and wanting him to hand around for awhile to give Cal (and Grim) some play-time together. I'd also like Thurman to skip the next books in the Trickster and Chimera series and write the new Leandros book NOW!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2012

    Lisa

    Love all Rob Thurman's series books. Doubletake did not disapoint. Great read. Can't wait until her next book. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Love love love this series!

    Doubletake is the seventh book in the Cal Leandros series by Rob Thurman.

    The boys are back!!! Cal and Niko are in parallel circumstances where outsiders try to wedge into their brotherly bond in one way or another. Niko's father pays him a visit for the first time in Niko's life, asking for help. Cal has an unwanted and unexpected visitor trying to pry his way into Cal's life and wont take no for an answer. And then there's the enigmatic puck, Goodfellow who's having a family reunion where anything can happen. Added to that, there's a big bad out there that's gunning for the brothers in the worse way.

    I loved this book!!! Rob Thurman always packs her books with nonstop action from start to finish and this one is no different. These books have always been about family, about the brotherly bond between Cal and Niko and what they are willing to do and go through for each other. This book brings that theme to the forefront and really delves into the depths of their bond. There is some real character development on Cal's part as he has to come to term with what he's become. His love and respect for Niko has always pulled him out of the fire and now he wants to man up and find a way to be his own hero and be the man Niko has always told him he was. Niko is faced with an absentee father from the Vayash clan, the family that deserted him and Cal when they needed them most. He has to take a hard look at that part of his past and come to terms with it. Both brothers have been through so much since this series started, and it shows, but one thing that hasn't changed is what they are to each other. This book was just a terrific reminder of how important family is..and how much of a pain they can be =)!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Rob Thurman did it again!

    I love the Cal & Niko series. I have a sarcastic sense of humor so I thouroughly enjoy Rob Thurman and the wittiness that she adds to the characters. I also like how this book opens up the storyline to give you an idea of where it is going...and I am excited to see it when it gets there. Always a pleasure reading about Cal & Niko! Definitely recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Another Home Run For Thurman

    whats not to love? i cant wait for the next book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2012

    .....

    Haven't read it yet, for it has not came out yet

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2