Customer Reviews for

Douglas Adams's Starship Titanic

Average Rating 4
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Leovinius's brainchild

This book is a great book for people who like action stories, but still like to laugh. It is about the greatest luxury cruise starship in the known galaxy, or so it was rumored. It was designed to be built by the Yassacans, a humble race of highly acclaimed craftsman,...
This book is a great book for people who like action stories, but still like to laugh. It is about the greatest luxury cruise starship in the known galaxy, or so it was rumored. It was designed to be built by the Yassacans, a humble race of highly acclaimed craftsman, but materials were too costly, and the planet Yassaca went bankrupt trying to complete it. So, the construction was moved to Bleratonia, where corners were cut. Scralontis, Leovinius's accountant, cut down on expenses by leaving things out and buying cheaper materials. Upon the launch, the ship undergoes SMEF and dissappears. Or so everybody thinks. the Starship Titanic ends up crash-landing on Earth, right in the middle of Dan and Lucys rectory. There, Dan, lucy, and Nettie board. It turns out that the whole ship is nothing but a giant spaceship shell. Also, the ship has a bomb planted on it. The only way to shut the bomb is to get Titania, the ships centeral intellegence core running again,and Titania is missing a brain piece. If they can't defuse the bomb, not only will they be taken to their fiery death, but Yassaca will not be able to collect money for the starship....

posted by Anonymous on March 30, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Absolute tripe.

I love Douglas Adams. I love Monty Python. This book is absolute trash. I can't put it any more clearly than that. It should simply never have been written.

posted by 8407692 on May 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Absolute tripe.

    I love Douglas Adams. I love Monty Python.

    This book is absolute trash. I can't put it any more clearly than that. It should simply never have been written.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2004

    One notch below Adams and you have....

    Terry Jones....I think no one but hime could have possibly mastered (or atleast came close to) the Adamsesque form of writing....A wonderful book for not being written by adams himself

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2001

    toilet paper

    Like most Douglas Adams fans, I have been wrestling with myself whether or not to try this book. I tried it. It was awful. I won't give away the ending because I didn't even make it. Terry Jones' attempts at esoteric british humor, fantastically portrayed by everything Adams' put a finger to, are so forced, ridiculous and contrived that I cringed as I turned pages, hoping Adams would somehow make an appearance and reveal the first part as a hoax. He didn't. It stinks.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2001

    Totally Excellent!

    I love this book! Written by a Monty Python with Douglas Adams providing the idea is a recipe for greatness! It's funny, wierd, wacky and silly, all at once.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2000

    Leovinius's brainchild

    This book is a great book for people who like action stories, but still like to laugh. It is about the greatest luxury cruise starship in the known galaxy, or so it was rumored. It was designed to be built by the Yassacans, a humble race of highly acclaimed craftsman, but materials were too costly, and the planet Yassaca went bankrupt trying to complete it. So, the construction was moved to Bleratonia, where corners were cut. Scralontis, Leovinius's accountant, cut down on expenses by leaving things out and buying cheaper materials. Upon the launch, the ship undergoes SMEF and dissappears. Or so everybody thinks. the Starship Titanic ends up crash-landing on Earth, right in the middle of Dan and Lucys rectory. There, Dan, lucy, and Nettie board. It turns out that the whole ship is nothing but a giant spaceship shell. Also, the ship has a bomb planted on it. The only way to shut the bomb is to get Titania, the ships centeral intellegence core running again,and Titania is missing a brain piece. If they can't defuse the bomb, not only will they be taken to their fiery death, but Yassaca will not be able to collect money for the starship....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2000

    Crazy Starship Titanic

    The Starship Titanic was a comical story by Terry Jones following the tradition of Douglas Adam¿s Hitchhiker¿s Guide books. It is a mock science fiction novel that takes every little aspect a real science fiction and tears it to shreds with odd plot twists and nonsense explanations of technical ideas. Robots have insecure personalities and can never seem to make sense, and the off-world aliens are so strange that one can¿t stop laughing. The story starts on a distant planet where the so called 'Galaxy¿s Greatest Genius' Levonius has just designed the biggest, most expensive, most fantastic starship ever built; the Titanic. Levonius had supervised the entire project from his home using advanced virtual-reality. On the night before the big launch Levonius decided to finally visit the ship without his virtual reality goggles. The starship looked beautiful on the outside, but he found that the inside wasn¿t even finished yet! Floors had gaping holes in them, heavy machinery was still all over the place, and worst of all, the electronics were in a chaotic conduction. Talking elevators only wanted to go up, dust sweeping robots were spilling dust instead of cleaning it up, and doorbots were trying to usher Levonius into open cement mixers. As it turned out, the builders had shown Levonius a false virtual world and had cut costs on the ship. They were going to scuttle it for the insurance money. Levonius was mad. On the day of the launch, the ship suffers Super Massive Existence Failure. The author¿s description falters here and the reader never really understands what SMEF is. Maybe that is the authors intent. Somehow though, the ship winds up on earth, and the adventure begins. Terry Jones does a very good job in his story telling. The plot he develops is basically just a bunch of out of order mumbo jumbo, but this is on purpose, and the finial effect is hilarious. Jones greatest strength is in his characterization. Not one character is without depth in the book. One even hears the sorrows of a talking bomb that can never seem to keep his countdown straight. (He never wanted to blow up anyway.) Jones shows the differences between the interplanetary cultures well, with each side thinking the others are completely out of their mind. The Starship Titanic was an entertaining work. It provided the reader with even mix of adventure and comedy. While Terry Jones plot lines and characters are a bit out of the ordinary, the reader still closes the book with an immense feeling of satisfaction. I recommend the book to anyone looking for a good laugh.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    Fond memories

    As a kid I always saw my dad reading douglas addams books. We then got a game called starship titanic I loved that game. I was told there was a book that inspired it and I just had to get it. I enjoyed the story and I recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    So far I love it!

    I will read (and then become obsessed with) anything funny and English-sounding, so this book sounds totally awesome.
    I have only read the (rather short) preview to this novel and I must say that so far it is hilarious (albeit confusing)! Terry Jones is brilliant, and so is Douglas Adams. And Outer Space, that, too.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Lol refeerence

    In the life the universe and everthing ther is a referenxe to this

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2010

    A frivolous little book

    Knowing this book was the novelization of a video-game, I didn't exactly start off with high expectations. I'm a fan of Terry Jones and I was in the mood for something light and fun. Starship Titanic totally satisfied that want. There were some genuine laugh out loud moments, and the story moves along quite well. I found myself reading 'just one more chapter' often. Its definitely not a masterwork though- with weak, often unrealistic, main characters and a silly little plot. If you're not willing to forgive silliness though, well, this isn't the book for you. Why are you even in this section?

    Not something I'd highly recommend, but an enjoyable read all the same.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2000

    Go Beyond Earth with Terry Jones in Starship Titanic

    Starship Titanic would seem as an ordinary science fiction book, but one look at the cover proves this wrong. Terry Jones wrote the book and it shows. Terry Jones is a member of the Monty Python crew. Monty Python made the hilarious movie 'Monty Python and the Life of Brian.' It is no doubt then that Starship Titanic is funny. It is full of laughs on every page. Starship Titanic explains the story of the huge and luxurious starship, designed by the great architect Leovinus. However, the founders of the project on the planet Blerontin, plan to destroy the starship and collect the insurance money. Unfortunately, Leovinus has a strong attachment to the ship and will let no harm go to it. Then something goes wrong. Just as it prepares to embark on an interstellar ship, it goes into SMEF, Spontaneous Massive Existence Failure. Although it was created so that nothing would go wrong, it disappears. Naturally, everything has its place in the galaxy and it finds itself on earth. The robots onboard ship choose 3 earthlings to help them return to Blerontin. Unlike most people, the three humans, Dan, Lucy, and Nettie, try to help when suddenly the robots begin to act strangely. Nothing else could go wrong when the earthlings find that a bomb literally begins to countdown on ship. This comedy has a plot that has well tied events with intricate explanations. Its characterization is mediocre. Sometimes, it takes too long to finish the characterization and I found that some characters tend to do things that the reader would not expect. Otherwise, it makes you want to keep reading after each chapter. I found it difficult not to wake up in the middle of the night and read it. I liked this book because it had comical jokes, interesting characters, and a surprisingly 'could-be-real' touch to it. I disliked it because it contained parts that could have been elaborated. Quite possibly, this might be one of the funniest comic science fiction stories that exist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2