Customer Reviews for

The Dovekeepers

Average Rating 4
( 305 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(157)

4 Star

(87)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

34 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

Wonderfully Written, Worth Re-reading

When I read a book like The Dovekeepers, I find myself at a loss when trying to review it. I don't feel that my words can do justice to the story and wonderful writing that Alice Hoffman brings to this novel. I scrambled to read this novel at the last minute, and even h...
When I read a book like The Dovekeepers, I find myself at a loss when trying to review it. I don't feel that my words can do justice to the story and wonderful writing that Alice Hoffman brings to this novel. I scrambled to read this novel at the last minute, and even having read it for free, I know it will be a book that I will go out and purchase to read once more, and make everyone I know read it also. The story tells the separate but intertwined stories of four women during the Roman occupation of Jerusalem. That these women survive, and break rules (religious laws), and love in their unexpected ways during this time period is amazing, and not always so different from some of the struggles that women in parts of the world live now. Not having known the story of Masada, I am curious to learn more, and then re-read The Dovekeepers, I feel if I have a better grasp of the history behind the fiction, that I may enjoy the novel more, if that is even possible. I think that this is by far the best book I have read in the past year, and will be telling as many people as I can to pick this one up.

ARC Reviewed by Gabi for Book Sake.

posted by BookSake on October 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Heavy, historical fiction

There is certainly a good story here, but be ready to accept the fact that it is almost always depressing in tone. The novel succeeds in creating a believable fictional story from a factual event from ancient Hebrew history and making the harsh realities (particularly t...
There is certainly a good story here, but be ready to accept the fact that it is almost always depressing in tone. The novel succeeds in creating a believable fictional story from a factual event from ancient Hebrew history and making the harsh realities (particularly the misogyny) of living in those times come alive for the reader. The mix of superstition, religious practices, and culture/customs of the time are woven into the plot and help one to understand the behaviors of the various characters. While I found this interesting, I made sure to pick out a much lighter read as a follow up.

posted by JustMyTwoCents on October 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 157 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    Wonderfully Written, Worth Re-reading

    When I read a book like The Dovekeepers, I find myself at a loss when trying to review it. I don't feel that my words can do justice to the story and wonderful writing that Alice Hoffman brings to this novel. I scrambled to read this novel at the last minute, and even having read it for free, I know it will be a book that I will go out and purchase to read once more, and make everyone I know read it also. The story tells the separate but intertwined stories of four women during the Roman occupation of Jerusalem. That these women survive, and break rules (religious laws), and love in their unexpected ways during this time period is amazing, and not always so different from some of the struggles that women in parts of the world live now. Not having known the story of Masada, I am curious to learn more, and then re-read The Dovekeepers, I feel if I have a better grasp of the history behind the fiction, that I may enjoy the novel more, if that is even possible. I think that this is by far the best book I have read in the past year, and will be telling as many people as I can to pick this one up.

    ARC Reviewed by Gabi for Book Sake.

    34 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    “The Dovekeepers” is nothing short of spellbinding,

    “The Dovekeepers” is nothing short of spellbinding, empowering and uplifting. This is one you will want to keep on your shelf to re-read. What a talent this author has in her choice of words to bring these amazing strong female characters alive and the attention to detail that makes the storyline so real and meaningful. This is a historical novel but a modern day theme that will reach into your spirit. A BIG FIVE STARS!!

    16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    Simply beautiful.....

    This book is totally out of any genre's that I normally read but after reading the review's I had to try it out. I am not sorry I did and as soon as I got done reading it I read it again! These 4 women are unspeakably beautiful in their own ways, the times they go through are horrifying in a way us modern American women can and never will imagine. The characters are so rich, beautiful and brought to such life it was sad to see the story end. All I can tell you is it is beautifully written, very thought provoking, sad, happy, funny, serious, so many emotions all wrapped up into one. I sure did not regret the purchase and feel like I can read it anytime again for a visit with old friends.....

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    A Step Back in History! Amazing!

    I am about 1/3 through this wonderfully historical fiction novel and "feeling" the desert heat, the hot wind and especially the thoughts and moods of the characters. Yael is an exceptional young woman who has had to deal with the attitudes of men and women of that time period. She is questioning her worth as she has been scorned by her father. Luckily, her brother is her best friend and greatest supporter. I do not want to give away any more of this haunting story but I do want to say that this story has prompted me to research Masada and the history of that time period. Read it...it will be in your thoughts throughout the day.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    Magnificent

    Incredible, lovely historical fiction about the women of Masada.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2011

    highly recommended

    This was some of the best historical fiction I have read. Yeal and her people, confront the Romans on top of the world, Massada. I loved the characters and how the story developed until you had a sense of what these brave souls had to endure. I re-read the final chapters one more time before I could let this book go. I was captured from the first page until the last, and I will pass it on to others.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Excellent! I love her books.

    A departure from this authors normal story lines. I truly believe this must be a past life for her. It was horrifying and sad. Made me feel depressed. But I saw into a life, and a history that I didn't know before. I would absolutly recommend it. It isn't going to make you feel good. But it will change you.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    So profound!

    Beautifully written! Intriguing! I too found at one point i thought of not finishing this book but so very glad i continued. This is an amazing work of historical fiction. I am planning to research the history behind this novel, the story was that compelling. I will remember this one & recommend it to other readers. Not to those that only like "light" reads but to those that are interested in books with more substance and that are memorable.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    Great story wonderfully written

    The story takes the reader from Jerusalem to Masada. It follows the lives of the people who went through the siege. It is well written and beautifully constructed by Alice Hoffman. This is a story we don't often read or hear about.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    Four women, each with a story of their own... the four different

    Four women, each with a story of their own... the four different perscpectives become blended into a hauntingly beautiful novel. It was easy to get lost in this one. Why do we do what we do? What can make us change what we believe? I found myself doing a "gut-check" thinking what would I have done at several points in the story. This book has a truly unique story line and is so well written it easy to forget yourself for hours. So many twists and turns...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing tale This story was enthralling! The story of Masada(las

    Amazing tale
    This story was enthralling! The story of Masada(last Jewish stronghold against the Romans). Factually based story of 900 +or- Jewish people of different sects who come together through the destruction of their separate villages by the Romans to maintain the faith and way(s) of life. Masada was the mountaintop palatial home in ancient times of King Herod. The Jewish people were drawn to this place and its safety until the Romans stormed it. Story told by four strong female characters, the differences that bring and bind them together revealed through each of their personal lives-both in the time frame of the story and their earlier lives. The writing is superb! detailed so that you feel you could be there yourself. Love, loss, tragedy, fortitude , strength and history all in one. Well worth reading.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Riviting

    Embodies all elements of an exceptional novel, plus a good dose of history. A must read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Amazing

    I loved this book. The author immerses you into the lives of 4 women of Masada and does it so skillfully you don,t even realize it until u have missed meals! Brava! Well done!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    Loved

    The story is magnificent. The descriptive writing breathtaking.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Ms. Hoffman is amazing. A beautiful story, beautifully told.

    Ms. Hoffman is amazing. A beautiful story, beautifully told.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2013

    If you enjoy historic fiction, then you will like this book. Int

    If you enjoy historic fiction, then you will like this book. Interesting different female relationships are formed in the book. And clever stories how each female characters life interweaves with each other.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2014

    Beautiful

    Moovimg

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    You know it's a great book when you don't want it to end!   I ha

    You know it's a great book when you don't want it to end!  
    I hadn't heard anything about this book and picked it up on a whim and I am so glad I did.  It has become one of my favorites and
    I know I will read it again one day ...It was that good (and I'm not Jewish - in reference to an earlier reviewers remarks). You only
    need be human to discover the poignancy of these people and their story.  Well worth reading!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Masada

    Gripping story of Masada.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    I love Alice Hoffman!

    This one is amazing!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 157 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8