Customer Reviews for

The Dovekeepers

Average Rating 4
( 309 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(159)

4 Star

(87)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

34 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

Wonderfully Written, Worth Re-reading

When I read a book like The Dovekeepers, I find myself at a loss when trying to review it. I don't feel that my words can do justice to the story and wonderful writing that Alice Hoffman brings to this novel. I scrambled to read this novel at the last minute, and even h...
When I read a book like The Dovekeepers, I find myself at a loss when trying to review it. I don't feel that my words can do justice to the story and wonderful writing that Alice Hoffman brings to this novel. I scrambled to read this novel at the last minute, and even having read it for free, I know it will be a book that I will go out and purchase to read once more, and make everyone I know read it also. The story tells the separate but intertwined stories of four women during the Roman occupation of Jerusalem. That these women survive, and break rules (religious laws), and love in their unexpected ways during this time period is amazing, and not always so different from some of the struggles that women in parts of the world live now. Not having known the story of Masada, I am curious to learn more, and then re-read The Dovekeepers, I feel if I have a better grasp of the history behind the fiction, that I may enjoy the novel more, if that is even possible. I think that this is by far the best book I have read in the past year, and will be telling as many people as I can to pick this one up.

ARC Reviewed by Gabi for Book Sake.

posted by BookSake on October 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Heavy, historical fiction

There is certainly a good story here, but be ready to accept the fact that it is almost always depressing in tone. The novel succeeds in creating a believable fictional story from a factual event from ancient Hebrew history and making the harsh realities (particularly t...
There is certainly a good story here, but be ready to accept the fact that it is almost always depressing in tone. The novel succeeds in creating a believable fictional story from a factual event from ancient Hebrew history and making the harsh realities (particularly the misogyny) of living in those times come alive for the reader. The mix of superstition, religious practices, and culture/customs of the time are woven into the plot and help one to understand the behaviors of the various characters. While I found this interesting, I made sure to pick out a much lighter read as a follow up.

posted by JustMyTwoCents on October 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 159 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2014

    One of my all time favorite books, and I have read at least 50 t

    One of my all time favorite books, and I have read at least 50 this year. The history and the intricate story of each character comes to life. I read the book 2 or 3 times because I enjoyed the detail Alice Hoffman put into the setting, characters, and history. If you really like historical fiction, you will love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2014

    Loved this story!

    Loved this story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A spellbinding novel that you should check out.

    The Dovekeepers is purely amazing, spellbinding novel! It took me a while to write this review because I am still in awe of it all - from the writing to the depth of characters and history. A book that many should read if you haven't done so. I haven't been this captivated in a historical fiction since "The Red Tent" and if you like that book, you would enjoy this novel.

    Dovekeepers is a historical fiction based on the hills on Masada where nine hundred Jews held out for nine months against the Roman armies. According to historians, two women and five children survived. Based on the event, Alice Hoffman creates a novel that showcases four women who have came from different paths in lives and how not only do they have the courage but the will to survive.

    The book is broken into four parts all coming from first person experience of these women. In the first part you meet Yael, who has had a hard life because her father never accepted her into his life because while she was born, her mother passed away. Revka, is a bakers wife who watches her daughter be murdered by Roman soldiers and brings her grandsons with her to the mountain top. Aziza, was raised as a boy and has learned to become a warrior. She is torn between two worlds of a life as a boy and one as a girl. Shirah, is a medicine woman in ancient magic and has powers that everyone is afraid of but will come to her in their time of need.

    Who will survive this event, who does not? How do these women's lives intertwine with each other? How do they learn to survive and have courage of a thousand men? A wonderful novel that should be treasured from page one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2014

    Enthralling!

    One of my favorite books ever. I went back and reread sections that were especially moving. The characters became real. Beautifully descriptive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Great book! Couldn't put it down.

    Story of Masada. Loved it was told from the viewpoint of four women. A beautiful mix of fact and fiction creating a story depicting the hardships of being a Jewish woman in that era. Great discussions were held by our book club following this selection!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    Gl

    9')rg

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    A spellbinding book,among the best historical fiction I have eve

    A spellbinding book,among the best historical fiction I have ever read. Ms. Hoffmann is most creative. I love her language, the caracters she has created, and her bravery in attempting such an epic. This sort of tale is so very different from her other fiction it has been my privilege to read. I gave my copy away, but plan to get another and reread it. I was so sad when it ended. I wanted it to go further.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    MY NEW FAVORITE BOOK!!!

    VERY, VERY, VERY good book. Well written. Easy to read. Hard to put down. Hated to see it end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Great read!!

    Riveting, insightful, and I could not put it down! The reader is thrust into each story wholeheartedly. I highly recommend! If you liked The Red Tent you will love this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    I have the audio version of this book and have "re-read&quo

    I have the audio version of this book and have "re-read" it twice. It is a compelling well executed story made all the sweeter by the gifted voices of the narrators.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Great read!

    With our without a Biblical background for context, this novel is compelling and beautiful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    WOW. I feel as though I just spent his last weekup on Massada wi

    WOW. I feel as though I just spent his last weekup on Massada with these incredible, brave women... This is the first book I have read by this author- her writing swept me in immediately and I couldn't put the book down. i mean she has inspired me to take time to listen to the wind and rain now, just to see if there is anything to hear. It is with a heavy feeling that i just finished reading this beautiful take & will continue my day-to-day life with these stories in my memory.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Loved it!

    Four women's heart-wrenching journey during and after the fall of Jerusalem. Excellent book; I highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Fh

    Jdhdh

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Excellent--highly recommended

    I was entranced by each of the four main characters from beginning to end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Excellent

    I enjoy reading historically and biblically based fiction, and The Dovekeepers is excellent!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent - don't pass this by

    I could not put this book down. It went everywhere with me so that I could read any chance that I got. Compelling, mesmerizing, so well written and realistic that you are there - living, breathing and seeing the world at that time. Even though I knew how it ended from history and religion classes, I read every word right to the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Grest histirical fiction

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    A must read!

    The book grabs you from the beginning. I have not finished it, but it is very well written, and so interesting that I can't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    Exceptional Book!!

    This book swiftly moved into one of my favorites of all time--it was smart, well-researched, personal, and fascinating. I couldn't put it down, yet it's one of those rare books that I want to start reading all over again as soon as it's done. I loved, loved, loved this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 159 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 8