BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Dover Beach (The Last P.I. Series, Book 1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 106 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

39 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

The most satisfying read...

...in a long time. This was my first book by Mr. Bowker, but it won't be my last. Unpretentious, well written fun. Effortlessly realized characters who inhabit an engaging, imaginative story. You don't have to be a fan of the noir detective genre to enjoy this book, but...
...in a long time. This was my first book by Mr. Bowker, but it won't be my last. Unpretentious, well written fun. Effortlessly realized characters who inhabit an engaging, imaginative story. You don't have to be a fan of the noir detective genre to enjoy this book, but for those who are, it will be a real treat.

posted by Illuminator on February 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Weird

This was a weird book. It started out almost as if missing half of it or it was part 2 in a series. You just felt lost like they were talking about things that happened and you werent a part of it. There was no explanation for anything, while the premise might have been...
This was a weird book. It started out almost as if missing half of it or it was part 2 in a series. You just felt lost like they were talking about things that happened and you werent a part of it. There was no explanation for anything, while the premise might have been good, a little more explanation would have made this book much better. As is, it sucked. Woild not recommend at all. Terrible.

posted by 8888649 on January 25, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    The most satisfying read...

    ...in a long time. This was my first book by Mr. Bowker, but it won't be my last. Unpretentious, well written fun. Effortlessly realized characters who inhabit an engaging, imaginative story. You don't have to be a fan of the noir detective genre to enjoy this book, but for those who are, it will be a real treat.

    39 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    This free Friday book was 240 pages long

    This post WW III nuclear war on the United States was a free Friday book with 240 pages. The editing was actually pretty good. The book was published in 2012. As soon as the story starts it jumps into post war conditions without any back ground details at all. There needed to be a prolog or something. It was hard to figure out what had occured and the the author never did say where, why or who bombed the U.S. This book is strange and confusing. It was violent and there is sex, child and animal abuse. There is a rather weird religious man. The story jumps around a lot, it does not have a good flow. I did not like the way the author seemed to always be putting down the United States. The characters were odd, unrealistic and flat. I did not like any of them. What few sub plots created, were never carried through with. It was hard for me to finish this book. I wanted to know how the conclusion was done, I should have expected the below par ending because it fit so well with the rest of the book.

    AD

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    Weird

    This was a weird book. It started out almost as if missing half of it or it was part 2 in a series. You just felt lost like they were talking about things that happened and you werent a part of it. There was no explanation for anything, while the premise might have been good, a little more explanation would have made this book much better. As is, it sucked. Woild not recommend at all. Terrible.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    Excellent book

    The plot develops slowly, but the characters are well defined from the beginning. As others have written, I would have prefered some historical background. I'm puzzled by the review citing sex and child abuse. There were no explicit details of sexual activity, and no episodes of child abuse. I do object to the obscene language and the profane use of "Jesus Christ", a name held sacred by many However there was no profane use of Buddha, Mohammad, s

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Excellent story!

    I throughly enjoyed reading this book. The writing style was easy to relate to and the characters had a realness to them that was very refreshing. I love books written about how a society survives after war and the author did a great job explaining the mood of the aftermath. I also appreciate that he didn't have people being held as prisoners by some thrown together street gangs, that seems to be a plot that comes up way too frenquently. It makes more sense that most people would go out on their own or team up with one or two other people. I will be buying more of his books.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    Not so good jmm44

    I didn't even finish it---did not keep my interest

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Awsome

    I love it

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2014

    I pass by so many selections offered on Free Fridays, but I'm so

    I pass by so many selections offered on Free Fridays, but I'm so glad I chose "Dover Beach".  About 50 pages into the book I dashed to the computer to see what else Richard Bowker had written.  Why didn't I know who this guy was?  I ordered "The Distance Beacons" and went back to reading "Dover Beach".  Mr. Bowker is a clever, clever man.  No, he won't feed you everything.  He allows your own brain to fill in the blanks. I didn't even care how it ended, I just wanted to see what Walter Sands would do next.  The third book in the series is forthcoming.  

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2014

    Moves right along!

    Nicely done,holds interest and maintains suspense.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    OK

    I believe I picked this up as a free Friday selection. A future "sy-fy" detective story. Fairly enjoyable although some parts I just didn't get, like Walter's insomnia. Some parts just a little too unreal. Perhaps if I'd read the 1st of the series in advance.....???? I believe the original copyright was in the late 1980's and 260 approx. pages.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2014

    What?

    Had old school promise, but didn't hold up.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    VERY enjoyable.

    A quick, captivating read. I enjoyed the premise and the way it was presented. Just the right touches of tragedy and comedy. I would have liked a little more fleshing out of the characters and history detail but all in all a very good book. I was sad when it ended as I was enjoying it so much. I'll definitely look for more by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    Good book

    Interesting

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    Good read

    Interesting plot and supruse ending that ties it all up neatly

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Is it appropriet for young adult

    Anser to -the girl who waited-

    1 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2014

    Meh

    While the writing was good, the content was not very engaging. I found the characters to be like bad actors. They were not relatable. They took away from a possibly interesting story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2014

    An enjoyable story that just make you think a bit when you are

    done. Richard Bowker takes a lot of interesting items and makes a fun read worthwhile. A nuclear explosion twenty-two years ago, cloning and the last private investigator. Mix in the British governments importation of American scientists and Doctor Charles Winfield who is thoroughly convinced that he is a clone. Mix well and allow to in the author's steamy brain. Results, a well recommended book.

    J M Lydon

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2014

    Not sure

    Only gave it a 3 star because l'm not too sure how I feel about this one. There is nothing really good or bad it just left me feeling nothing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2014

    Well written with good characters.  A believable post-war world

    Well written with good characters.  A believable post-war world that is not completely destroyed but is definitely struggling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2014

    A great read!  Interesting characters in a well-written story th

    A great read!  Interesting characters in a well-written story that held my interest to the end. I enjoyed it and intend to look for more books by  Richard Bowker.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6