Customer Reviews for

Dover Beach (The Last P.I. Series, Book 1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 106 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

39 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

The most satisfying read...

...in a long time. This was my first book by Mr. Bowker, but it won't be my last. Unpretentious, well written fun. Effortlessly realized characters who inhabit an engaging, imaginative story. You don't have to be a fan of the noir detective genre to enjoy this book, but...
...in a long time. This was my first book by Mr. Bowker, but it won't be my last. Unpretentious, well written fun. Effortlessly realized characters who inhabit an engaging, imaginative story. You don't have to be a fan of the noir detective genre to enjoy this book, but for those who are, it will be a real treat.

posted by Illuminator on February 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Weird

This was a weird book. It started out almost as if missing half of it or it was part 2 in a series. You just felt lost like they were talking about things that happened and you werent a part of it. There was no explanation for anything, while the premise might have been...
This was a weird book. It started out almost as if missing half of it or it was part 2 in a series. You just felt lost like they were talking about things that happened and you werent a part of it. There was no explanation for anything, while the premise might have been good, a little more explanation would have made this book much better. As is, it sucked. Woild not recommend at all. Terrible.

posted by 8888649 on January 25, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    The most satisfying read...

    ...in a long time. This was my first book by Mr. Bowker, but it won't be my last. Unpretentious, well written fun. Effortlessly realized characters who inhabit an engaging, imaginative story. You don't have to be a fan of the noir detective genre to enjoy this book, but for those who are, it will be a real treat.

    39 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Excellent story!

    I throughly enjoyed reading this book. The writing style was easy to relate to and the characters had a realness to them that was very refreshing. I love books written about how a society survives after war and the author did a great job explaining the mood of the aftermath. I also appreciate that he didn't have people being held as prisoners by some thrown together street gangs, that seems to be a plot that comes up way too frenquently. It makes more sense that most people would go out on their own or team up with one or two other people. I will be buying more of his books.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Awsome

    I love it

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2014

    I pass by so many selections offered on Free Fridays, but I'm so

    I pass by so many selections offered on Free Fridays, but I'm so glad I chose "Dover Beach".  About 50 pages into the book I dashed to the computer to see what else Richard Bowker had written.  Why didn't I know who this guy was?  I ordered "The Distance Beacons" and went back to reading "Dover Beach".  Mr. Bowker is a clever, clever man.  No, he won't feed you everything.  He allows your own brain to fill in the blanks. I didn't even care how it ended, I just wanted to see what Walter Sands would do next.  The third book in the series is forthcoming.  

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Is it appropriet for young adult

    Anser to -the girl who waited-

    1 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    Dark bio

    Name. Dark . Age. 15 moons . Gender. Male . Coat. Pitch black with one white ear . Eyes. Sea blue . Theme song. Dare to belive by Boyce Avenue . Crush/mae. None yet

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    Blacksand bio

    Gender tom age24 moons apperence black with one white foot crush viollet mate violet history ask

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    Excellent book

    Wonderful characters, intriguing plot!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Very original

    A near future posr apocaliptcal mystery. I realy enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Suprisingly satisfying.

    A suprisingly good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Great new Series!

    I got this first book on Free Book Friday. Read it right away; it was a story that kept me wondering...Loved it so much I purchased the follow up book in the series. I am looking forward to more from this new author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    highly recommended

    Easy ride into post apocalyptic Boston and a bonus trip to London; plenty of nostalgic winks to celebrated past private dicks. A fun read. Very nice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2014

    Very good PI/Mystery action

    I enjoyed this read so much that I got and read the sequel as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Twolegs to darkclaw and weasel.

    He kicks darckclaw into a tree and takes weasel to my house result twelve.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    W

    Weasel got up and padded there, panting slowly.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2014

    Great blend of sci-fi and noir fiction. Off to buy the sequel no

    Great blend of sci-fi and noir fiction. Off to buy the sequel now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Awesome

    Have read this book (an series) many many times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    Good read

    Reminds me of a post-apocalyptic Spenser

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2