Customer Reviews for

Dovey Coe

Average Rating 4.5
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Dovey Coe Review

Dovey coe was one of the best books i have ever read.When you read the book it just takes you to the place.It takes you straight into her mind.i highly recommend you read this book

posted by Anonymous on January 26, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

My book is Dovey Coe by Frances O¿Roark Dowell about a girl name

My book is Dovey Coe by Frances O’Roark Dowell about a girl named Dovey Coe and her sister Caroline. Caroline is supposed to get married to this guy that she meets named Parnell. One night something bad happened to him. Caroline was supposed to go see him one day and wh...
My book is Dovey Coe by Frances O’Roark Dowell about a girl named Dovey Coe and her sister Caroline. Caroline is supposed to get married to this guy that she meets named Parnell. One night something bad happened to him. Caroline was supposed to go see him one day and when she went to go see him she saw him lying there on the ground dead. Someone has killed him by cutting his throat with a knife. People thought it was Dovey that killed him from being jealous so she went to court to see if she was guilty or not.
This book is told by a girl named Dovey Coe. Dovey and the Coe family have been living in Indian Creek North Carolina since the beginning of time. In this book Dovey’s sister Caroline meets this guy and his name is Parnell. Caroline and Parnell become really good friends and like to hang out with each other a lot. After a while in the book Caroline and Parnell get so close to each other that Parnell purposed to Caroline. Everyone was so happy for them.
One day Caroline went to go see Parnell one day, when she got there she saw Parnell lying on the floor dead. Caroline was so upset and wondered why anyone would do such a thing to him. His death was caused by someone cut his throat with a knife. Some people thought that Dovey did it because she was jealous of Caroline getting married. They took Dovey to court for what they thought that she had done. When they took Dovey to court they realized that a sweet girl like her couldn’t do such a thing. They figured that someone else had killed Parnell then. That’s the main things that happened in this book.

posted by Dizzy-Wizzy on September 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2006

    Dovey Coe Review

    Dovey coe was one of the best books i have ever read.When you read the book it just takes you to the place.It takes you straight into her mind.i highly recommend you read this book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Amazing

    Mrs.larson is my reading teacher and she just started reding it. Its just revoltingly sickining how Caroline uses her beauty to get what she wants. But so far so good.(wonder if its a related title to 'how to kill a mockingbird?)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2011

    1 of the best books I ever read!

    This is book is AMAZING! It is narrated by Dovey herself and I wouldnt want any other way! I am not good at explaining things so just take my advice and read it. You will NEVER regret it, or think you wasted your time for a minute.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2004

    Dovey of the Brave

    This book is the absolute best book i've ever read. I loved it so much I had to keep reading and reading it. It's definately a book you never want to put down. The first time I read I thought I was going to cry. But I finally grew to know the true meaning

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2004

    WooHoo

    I thought this book was awesome and rocked!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2003

    This Book is awsome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    When I read this book for a book report, I thought it was the best book I had ever picked up. It was so interesting, that I finished it in 2 days.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2003

    read this book

    this book is a really good book it helps find out that no matter what family always comes throug for you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2003

    AN AWESOME BOOK!

    This was a great book that everyone should read!I loved it. Peace Out!!!:)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Hate it

    Im in 10th grade and we have to read this book its horrible i hate it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2011

    very good book

    I like the book. This is a good book for girls because Dovey Coe is a take charge kind of girl.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2007

    Dovey Coe

    ¿I hated Parnell Caraway, but not enough to kill him.¿ The title of my book was Dovey Coe, by Frances O¿ Roark Dowell. Dovey Coe did not like the way Parnell Caraway was courting her sister, Caroline. Parnell was a rich, snobby man, and the thing he wanted, but did not have was Caroline. He always visited the Coe¿s house, and on Caroline¿s ¿go away to college party¿, he proposed to her, but she firmly refused. Then, Parnell was very mad at Dovey because he thought it was her fault that Caroline did not like him. Later, Dovey was found in the same room at the same time Parnell was murdered, and she went to court. Dovey finally learned that it was important to treat your family members the way you wanted to be treated. Dovey Coe was very brave. When Parnell threw a brick at her deaf brother¿s dog, she stuck her knife out and made a wild stab at him. Then, when Parnell started to hit her, she slashed at him again. Also, unlike her older sister, Dovey was not bothered by the thought of roaming through the woods by herself. She was a girl that was not afraid of anything. In addition to being bold, Dovey Coe was not afraid to speak her mind. In the beginning of the story, she said, ¿My name is Dovey Coe and I reckon it don¿t matter if you like me or not.¿ When she really disagreed with her sister, Dovey cried, ¿Caroline, have you gone and lost your senses?¿ What¿s more, on her court hearing, she said to her lawyer, ¿What is wrong with you son, you acted like this was your first trial, you were so flustered!¿, after he did a poor job at the first hearing. Sometimes, her family members were not very happy with Dovey because they wanted her to act like a lady, but she still spoke her heart. Furthermore, Dovey Coe was proud of everything she had. When she complained about having to walk to school for 10 miles, she stopped and remembered how lucky the Coes were to own their own land. Dovey was very swollen with pride of her dad, ¿John Coe is my daddy. He¿s what they call a jack-of-all-trades, meaning he can fix anything.¿ Also, Dovey was very proud of her family history. She said that there had been Coes living in Indian Creek since the beginning of time. Dovey Coe was brave, not afraid to speak her mind, and proud of the things she had. It made me think that Dovey was a strong, determined person that never gave up. I liked the character because she was always trying to be kind to people. In the end, she proved herself smart by winning the trials. In conclusion, Dovey understands her mom, dad, older sister, and especially her deaf brother much more than she used to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2007

    Really good book

    I really enjoyed the book Dovey Coe..Parnell is in love with Cariline (Dovey's sister) and when she tells him 'no' he tries to get back..so when he gets hit with a soda canister he blames Dovey because she was in there at the time,the story takes a really unexpected turn and it ends up being Amos!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2006

    Amos Did It !!!

    Dovey Coe Is the biggest tomboy in the world I think. But when you find her in a situation were she is caught guilty but she really isn't. Parnell was a down right awful teen who was in love with Caroline {Dovey's older sister}. And when he proposes Caroline says no and he tries to get back at the family. That is why Amos just had to hit him in the head with the soda canister. And Paris {Parnell's younger sister}tells awful lies. Then Dovey is caught inosent and nobody knows that Amos did it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2005

    Awesome!!!!!

    This Book is so awesome!! This is a definite must read! It is exciting and living in North Carolina myself it makes me feel like i am here. YOU HAVE TO READ THIS BOOK!! I love books and this is the best mystery type book i have read! People have to be almost crazy if they don't like the book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2004

    Dovey Coe: a great book

    Dovey Coe is my favorite book. I couldn't put it down when I was reading it. I read it two years ago for a book report in 4th grade and I loved it. Every page makes you keep on reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2004

    A Great Read For Anybody!

    I checked this book out of my school library thinking it was just going to be okay but it was so GREAT! My friend found another copy and we had a race to see who would finish it first. I won because I read like 3 chapters a day. So, if you want a good read, you should get this book. It's a must-read for anyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2003

    Dovey Coe,is a great book!

    Dovey Coe is about a tomboy who lives in the North Carolina Moutains.She has a mom,dad ,and a sister named Caroline,and a brother named Amos. Parnell Caraway starts to hang around her sister.Dovey hates that.Caroline desides that she wants to go to teachers collage.At her going away party Parnell ask Caroline to marry him.Caroline regects his offer and goes on to collage.When Dovey is caught in the smae room as Parnell dead she is acused of his murder.Read this great book to find out the great details.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2003

    This book was awsome

    Dovey coe was a great book! I loved it. I think this book is great for all ages. I am in 8th grade and i really loved it. My Reading class had a book discution on it and everybody who read it fell in love with the characters. I recomend everybody reads this book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2002

    Great Book!

    This was a great book. When I would pick up the book I would read forever! This is an emotional, sad, exciting book. If you like mysteries or exiting books, this is for you. Take my advice and read Dovey Coe!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2003

    The Best Book You Could Ever Read

    I think any age would love this book. It is outstanding and I think it's price is jst right

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2