Customer Reviews for

Down Came the Rain: My Journey Through Postpartum Depression

Average Rating 4
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 11, 2010

    Postpartum Depression as Brook Shields felt.

    I was very intrigued by this book. Brook Shields told every account to her full capacity. I was a new mother struggling with postpartum depression and it is a real disease and a growing problem in the world. I truly hope that people will get the help they need and other family members will join with them to help. I also learned that people need others to help themselves in life. Please don't go at it alone, always ask for help. There is no shame in it at all. After you have learned how to cope with depression; be proud of yourself and your knowledge you have acquired. You never know when you can help someone else in need.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2009

    Excellent Book For Any New Mom

    I bought this book for my sister in law when she started showing signs of PPD. She absolutely loved it. She said it helps her knowing that she is not alone, that other mothers go through the ups and downs of 'what in the world am I doing' when they get home from the hospital, and that it helped her put a lot into perspective. Thankfully, she only had a mild case of the baby blues, but she credits this book with opening her eyes to what it is REALLY like to be a first time mom, and what you can possibly deal with.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2005

    Amazing!

    I got this at the bookstore on a Friday afternoon and finished it the next day. My husband is now reading it, because Brooke does a fantastic job of putting into words much of what I felt after the birth of my son, but was unable to explain clearly. She pulls no punches, and is brutally honest about her thoughts of disconnect from her baby, her anger at family and friends for not getting it, and even her thoughts of suicide. But what she does best is show the help that is available, so that no mother should ever have to feel alone and hopeless. This is a book for every parent-to-be, so they are prepared for the possiblity; for every family member or friend who will be in frequent contact with a new mother, so they might recognize the problem before it gets out of control; and for anyone who has ever wondered 'Can it really be all that bad?' Yes, it can, yes, it is, and yes, there is help and hope.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    A must read for sufferers of PPD

    An excellent description of signs and symptoms of Post Partum Depression. A bit over-the-top at times, as Brook describes how life is like for a celebrity, but well-written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    I found this book to be very enlightening. It would be a great help to a new mother's family when she is acting in an uncharacteristic manner. Also, there are other resources for help listed in the book.
    Most of all, it shows new mothers feeling this depression that they are not crazy, selfish or alone.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    Great book

    She could have been writing my story of postpartum depression. This book is a very tender and truthful memoir of a struggle many women go through. I would recomend it for any age or gender. Amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Love

    This gave me a look at what i was going through but couldn't see for my self. She was very brave to open up like this and help struggeling post partum women get a voice to get help.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I am glad I read this book since I didn't know much about postpa

    I am glad I read this book since I didn't know much about postpartum depression and couldn't imagine having the feelings that PPD brings. Not that I wasn't sympathetic to it, I had just never dealt with it myself or with a friend. After reading about Brooke's experiences, I feel that I now have a better understanding.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    Must read

    Please read if you are or are planning on getting pregnant. This book could help, i found it very honest and it was probably very hard for her to write. The taboo regarding ppd still exists.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    Great Book!!

    As a mother who went through PPD this was a great book to turn to. I felt the same way as Brooke Sheilds and it was great to know that I was not alone!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Surprisingly good read!

    I received this book from my sister when she found it at a discount and we read it together. It was so good! I had no idea the severity of Brooke Shields' experience postpartum, but I most definitely looked at postpartum depression in a whole new light after reading this book. I don't necessarily know if I would recommend reading it while pregnant, but I don't even have any children and I found it to hold my attention the whole time.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2009

    Good book

    Recommended for anyone curious about a personal story of a battle with postpartum depression.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2009

    Humbling

    I too had post-partum depression after I had my 2nd daughter. It is a relief to know that there are other women out there that went through the same thing I did. It was interesting to find out that someone so famous had/has a normal life behind all the glamour. I want to give Brooke a big thanks for sharing her heroic story with everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2008

    GREAT!!

    I am not a mother yet I found this book to be very interesting. Brooke writes it beautifully and I truly enjoyed reading it. I felt like I actually knew her! I would recommend this to both mothers and women who don't have children but are fans of Brooke. A great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2008

    It gave me time to realize I am another woman who needs to talk about the ever increasing intrest in depression

    Reading the book has given me a boost of condfidence. Knowing that the Author has blessed this world with her honesty, has given me hope in reading. I love to read Biographies of women who will tell the rest of us how they really feel. Having a Boost in confidence has given me the added realization that I am a great mother!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2006

    very helpful and wonderful book

    This book was so helpful to me. I am glad she decided to write this book. It has made me realize I shouldn't be ashamed of having PPD. It was the first book that read on this condition and I would reccomend it to anyone who thinks they suffer from PPD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2006

    Not a self-help book

    I have PPD and was hoping this book would help me but it's really not focused on the disorder. It's an autobiography, in fact it's even in that section of the book store. I don't recommend this for anyone who is in the depths of depression. Sure, you see how she felt and the similarities there but then it gets a little too gushy sweet. She seems like a very nice person but if the parts in this book on PPD were put together it might equal one chapter. Maybe two. Not much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2006

    YOU MUST READ THIS BOOK

    Everyone must read this book! I believe that her book portrays many feelings and thoughts that women experience when they have postpartum depression. It also enables women to have an understanding that they are not alone and that it is ok to seek help.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2006

    PPD is more common than we think

    As a mom with PPD, I can honestly say that I related to the words of this book. However, I am sure that most mothers have experienced at least some depression or ill feelings after childbirth, and unfortunately, not all of us can afford the Hollywood entourage of nannies, psychologists, and personal trainers to help us recover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2005

    Incredible book!

    I received this book from my husband's mother. I, too, had severe PPD, similar to Ms. Shield's PPD. This book described, very intricately, every emotion and feeling that is felt when you have PPD. I would recommend this to ANYONE who currently is suffering from PPD or had it in the past.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3