Customer Reviews for

Down Came the Rain: My Journey Through Postpartum Depression

Average Rating 4
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 11, 2010

    Postpartum Depression as Brook Shields felt.

    I was very intrigued by this book. Brook Shields told every account to her full capacity. I was a new mother struggling with postpartum depression and it is a real disease and a growing problem in the world. I truly hope that people will get the help they need and other family members will join with them to help. I also learned that people need others to help themselves in life. Please don't go at it alone, always ask for help. There is no shame in it at all. After you have learned how to cope with depression; be proud of yourself and your knowledge you have acquired. You never know when you can help someone else in need.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2009

    Excellent Book For Any New Mom

    I bought this book for my sister in law when she started showing signs of PPD. She absolutely loved it. She said it helps her knowing that she is not alone, that other mothers go through the ups and downs of 'what in the world am I doing' when they get home from the hospital, and that it helped her put a lot into perspective. Thankfully, she only had a mild case of the baby blues, but she credits this book with opening her eyes to what it is REALLY like to be a first time mom, and what you can possibly deal with.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2005

    Amazing!

    I got this at the bookstore on a Friday afternoon and finished it the next day. My husband is now reading it, because Brooke does a fantastic job of putting into words much of what I felt after the birth of my son, but was unable to explain clearly. She pulls no punches, and is brutally honest about her thoughts of disconnect from her baby, her anger at family and friends for not getting it, and even her thoughts of suicide. But what she does best is show the help that is available, so that no mother should ever have to feel alone and hopeless. This is a book for every parent-to-be, so they are prepared for the possiblity; for every family member or friend who will be in frequent contact with a new mother, so they might recognize the problem before it gets out of control; and for anyone who has ever wondered 'Can it really be all that bad?' Yes, it can, yes, it is, and yes, there is help and hope.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    I found this book to be very enlightening. It would be a great help to a new mother's family when she is acting in an uncharacteristic manner. Also, there are other resources for help listed in the book.
    Most of all, it shows new mothers feeling this depression that they are not crazy, selfish or alone.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    Great book

    She could have been writing my story of postpartum depression. This book is a very tender and truthful memoir of a struggle many women go through. I would recomend it for any age or gender. Amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Love

    This gave me a look at what i was going through but couldn't see for my self. She was very brave to open up like this and help struggeling post partum women get a voice to get help.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    Must read

    Please read if you are or are planning on getting pregnant. This book could help, i found it very honest and it was probably very hard for her to write. The taboo regarding ppd still exists.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    Great Book!!

    As a mother who went through PPD this was a great book to turn to. I felt the same way as Brooke Sheilds and it was great to know that I was not alone!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Surprisingly good read!

    I received this book from my sister when she found it at a discount and we read it together. It was so good! I had no idea the severity of Brooke Shields' experience postpartum, but I most definitely looked at postpartum depression in a whole new light after reading this book. I don't necessarily know if I would recommend reading it while pregnant, but I don't even have any children and I found it to hold my attention the whole time.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2009

    Humbling

    I too had post-partum depression after I had my 2nd daughter. It is a relief to know that there are other women out there that went through the same thing I did. It was interesting to find out that someone so famous had/has a normal life behind all the glamour. I want to give Brooke a big thanks for sharing her heroic story with everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2006

    very helpful and wonderful book

    This book was so helpful to me. I am glad she decided to write this book. It has made me realize I shouldn't be ashamed of having PPD. It was the first book that read on this condition and I would reccomend it to anyone who thinks they suffer from PPD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2005

    Incredible book!

    I received this book from my husband's mother. I, too, had severe PPD, similar to Ms. Shield's PPD. This book described, very intricately, every emotion and feeling that is felt when you have PPD. I would recommend this to ANYONE who currently is suffering from PPD or had it in the past.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2005

    Courageuos Book!

    I give high praise to Brooke Shields for her honest and courageuos declaration of her batttle with PPD. Having gone through this myself, I can only admire her candor and her fight to be well. This is a very debilitating illness and not many of us want to share such intimate details. With grace and dignity, she has opened her heart to all and I truly commend her for that! God Bless YOu Brooke!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2005

    A Must Read

    For anyone who has ever had a child, or planning to, this book is a must read. To recognize and deal with PPD, or to help someone you feel may be sufferring from PPD. I cried, smiled and laughed out loud reading this book the day I bought it!!! Being so brutally honest when you are in the spotlight is a courageous and admirable thing to do. Kudos to Brooke!! I like her even more now than I did before. She shared her story with heart-felt honesty and you really see how down-to-earth she is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2005

    A Wonderful Book.

    In, 'Down Came the Rain: My Journey Through Postpardum Depression', Brooke Shields, tells about her battle with postpardum depression and how she coped. I also suffered with this after my second child. I admire Brooke for taking the courage to share her story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2005

    What an incredible book! A must have.

    Having suffered from PPD following the birth of both of my children, it was quite therapeutic to read of Brooke's experience. I was able to relate vividly to her thoughts and feelings. At times, it sounded like she was writing about MY experiences. Kudos to Brooke for bringing the illness of PPD out into the open and sharing with the world the reality of the suffering and the hope that there is treatment. I hope that friends and family members of those suffering from PPD as well as those in the medical field working with new mothers will read this book as it will help them in assisting a woman suffering from PPD. Brooke brilliantly expresses that which is difficult to describe. This book is a true blessing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2